Miz Lizzie Adventures: a serious lunch

By which I certainly don’t mean a gloomy atmosphere…

I mean the lunch was a standout, one of those blissful and delicious events that you remember for a very, very long time. We had business in Coffs Harbour this morning, and had meant to take a business associate out for lunch to say thank you for a job well done. She has flu, poor thing, so we changed our plans and the venue, and returned to our most favourite restaurant of all, where we got engaged and where we have celebrated many landmarks. It’s located at the marina, on the seawall overlooking the coast and the Solitary Islands.

Not a bad view to enjoy with your lunch…

So, knowing the size of the portions, we decided it would be a mains and desserts lunch.  The Husband had crab linguine, with home made pasta and a wonderfully tasty and chilli-infused sauce. I had roasted duck breast with beetroot, pickled fennel, walnut and goat’s cheese salad. Both were sensational, but merely a warm-up for the desserts!

The Husband’s was a Deconstructed Snickers, with caramel peanut parfait, dark chocolate soil, dark chocolate fudge, candied peanuts, a caramelised white chocolate delice and a crisp chocolate caramel wafer.

Mine was the Chocolate Assiette, with dark chocolate paste, rich chocolate rum fudge, divinely smooth milk chocolate ganache, white chocolate hazelnut cluster, an almond crisp truffle and a chocolate ‘spoon’.

Almost unconscious from the sugar rush, we decided a bit of fresh air was called for, and headed up the hill to Seeley’s Lookout, high on the range overlooking the city. It has a wonderful ‘sky bridge’, a viewing platform you can walk out on, cantilevered out of the hillside to give you a 300° view around you. On a clear day, you can see a couple of hundred kilometres to the south. We stayed a while to appreciate our blessings, absorb the beauty and do a spot of wishful thinking. And then it was time to turn for home.

I spent a peaceful hour on the beach in the late afternoon with my camera, capturing textures. I’ll share those with you another day.

27 thoughts on “Miz Lizzie Adventures: a serious lunch

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Ok so I am packing my suitcase right now and heading your way for that pudding! OH MY, it looks amazing. Look forward to seeing your texture pictures.

  2. claire93 says:

    oh my! such yummy desserts!

  3. What a wonderful way to spend the day with someone you love. It was meant to be and those desserts look criminal!

    • katechiconi says:

      The desserts were sinfully delicious and we had no hesitation in snarfing the lot… This is one of my favourite places on earth, and we always enjoy ourselves here. It’s a tough job, but someone has to do it 🙂

  4. “Deconstructed” is the word I use to present a dish that hasn’t gone right. One time I dumped gloppy stuffed peppers out into bowls, blackened fresh strips of pepper to put on the side, and arranged tiny triangles of cheese in a bed of cilantro on the plate. Then I told our guests why they were eating unstuffed peppers.

    • katechiconi says:

      It sounds pretty! I had serious dessert envy of his plate but there were two important ingredients in it that I’m not allowed to have, so it was a case of ‘make do’ with my Assiette!

  5. dayphoto says:

    A perfect setting to get engaged…and to return to celebrate! Perfect.
    Congrats

  6. Jule says:

    I think I’ve got dessert envy. 😀 😉 Looking forward to the beach textures.

  7. Lovely. Lucky both of you. 🙂

  8. kathyreeves says:

    A WOW day all around! The lunch, dessert, the walk, the view and the beach…oh my!!

  9. Wow! Looking at that, I couldn’t even afford the ‘spoon’! Soooo glad you got to enjoy this marvel!

  10. rutigt says:

    OMG!!!! Now I´m hungry 🙂

  11. Lynda says:

    Pure chocolate voyeurism… I could feel my blood sugar rising.

    (With the term voyeurism not used in the traditional or Merriam Webster definition. 😉 )

Leave a Reply

