Miz Lizzie Adventures: high country autumn

Living in the tropics, I miss seeing the progression of the four seasons.

We have the Wet and the Dry, hot and not so hot, but we don’t get the stately passage of Nature from sleep to waking and back again. No tender spring shoots and first pale blooms, no verdant richness of summer foliage and flowers, no golden harvest and triumphant autumn vividness, no pale winter landscapes crisscrossed by bare black branches and frost-decorated windowpanes. Instead, there is always green, the mature green of high summer.

Today, I got to enjoy autumn colour in the high country of northern New South Wales. The skies are pale, grey or blue, but big and empty. The mountains stand out dark and crisp-edged in a way you just don’t see in summer’s hazy heat, and the trees, oh, the trees! Around every corner of the road you come across leaves on the turn, in colours from deepest garnet red through crimson, scarlet, vermilion, orange, gold and lemon. It was wonderful! We were travelling up the mountain to visit some of my family and friends I left behind when I moved north.

It has been a wonderful day, but perhaps not truly interesting to anyone other than ourselves, so I thought I’d simply share a little of this beautiful colour 🙂

 

40 thoughts on “Miz Lizzie Adventures: high country autumn

  1. Is it autumn in South Wales? It’s spring here in North Carolina (https://courtneylivin.com/2017/05/04/girls-weekend-at-swoalmost-died/) your pictures look beautiful!!

  2. Well I for one love being taken along for the ride when quilters go on their travels. Parts of the world I’m not necessarily ever going to see so please post away. I doubt if I’m alone in enjoying being a virtual passenger in Miz Lizzie!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Which is why I’m trying my best to make the pictures do most of the talking here! I have some very scenic trips planned in the next few days, so watch this space.

  3. jmcheney says:

    Thank you for the two beautiful scenes. Could be Carolina’s Blue Ridge hills & valleys, but they dazzling now in spring’s pinks, whites, light greens & deep wines. So wondrous our planet’s varied & topsy-turvy seasons.

    • katechiconi says:

      It never ceases to amaze me that while we have flaming autumn, you’re busting out in spring blossoms and fresh greens. We live in a wonderful world….

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    Autumn colours are gorgeous! Enjoy.

  5. Autumn is my favorite time of the year. I would miss it and the resting period of winter. Glad you are getting a change of view. It’s always helpful. Enjoy your travels.

    • katechiconi says:

      I love autumn too… I’m enough of a north Queenslander now not to enjoy really cold weather (my blood’s too thin these days), but autumn is special, cool at night but warm sunshine in the day.

  6. claire93 says:

    I don’t get out much ^^ so I enjoy travelling by proxy.

  7. dayphoto says:

    Always interesting! Always…for through you I get to see your world!

  8. Kathy D says:

    I agree with dayphoto, living vicariously through you. Our world is indeed amazing, we are coming into spring (tho it could get out of the 40’s – 8.8c) seems impossible that you are looking at fall leaves and I look out and see daffodils.

  9. For some of us, trees resplendent in autumn leaves elevates the soul. I’m glad you got an antidote to all that blessed green.

    • katechiconi says:

      That one avenue of trees is something I look forward to seeing every time we visit. It’s only a little uninteresting in summer. Autumn is as you see; in winter, the coloured trees lose their leaves, the others are evergreen so you get the contrast of leaf and bare branch; and in spring, the pale, delicate new leaf colour against the darker evergreen is wonderful.

  10. kathyreeves says:

    Love traveling with you Kate! Fall colors in May is amazing to me. Our world is so large and yet so small!

  11. What a lovely day trip. I enjoy the seasonal offerings even if I’m not enthusiastic about the cold which here even on the worst of days isn’t that cold compared to other cold places. The subject and photos are beautiful. I hope the Mid North Coast offers you its most hospitable weather ♡

  12. ladyredspecs says:

    I miss the distinct seasons. Glorious photos…

  13. anne54 says:

    I can hear your joy at the autumn colours from here! And what fabulous colours they are. I hope Miss Lizzie is keeping you warm at night.

  14. I understand your appreciation and yearning for the seasons. I grew up on a subtropical island, so there was always really that one or two seasons. But fall, winter and spring were new to me. I loved seeing your fall pictures, it is such a lovely time of year and with those mountains in the back, it was just stunning.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a wonderful season here, and around every corner there was a another vivid shout of colour. I couldn’t photograph everything, so I concentrated on capturing the best!

  15. rutigt says:

    I never thought of autumn that way 🙂 For me it´s a part of the year with all the colors in red and yellow! It is beautiful, but for me it is also the beginning of a dark period of the year.

Leave a Reply

