Miz Lizzie: Cushion creatures

Miz Lizzie has a couple of new adornments.

In addition to sorting out temporary hacks for fitted bunk sheets (aka strategically placed quilting safety pins to hold them tight), and in lieu of making the 4 sets of curtains I’d promised myself, and which the cyclone clear-up cancelled due to lack of time, I’ve managed to get a couple of cushion covers done. We have one each, same fabric, different binding. They’re the perfect plumpness for leaning on while we’re reading or doing something online.

Don’t you just adore that fabric? Mostly Australian birds and butterflies, and it’s a really nice weight of cotton/linen blend décor fabric. I just couldn’t resist it when I saw it, and a metre was plenty for these two. The colour scheme is not exactly right to match the curtain fabric, but close enough that it doesn’t clash visually. And I needed a tiny bit of pink in the future ocean of blues and neutrals…

The process of making them was not without its moments… Originally, both cushions had a zipper in the back. However, as I was inserting the cushion pad into the pink-bound cushion, the zipper pull self-destructed. I couldn’t face the prospect of removing the binding, taking the cover apart and extracting the zip so I could replace it.

So I thought of buttons, and that’s what I’ve got, holding the opening closed with elastic loops. I’d probably have replaced the zip if it was for someone else, but this was my cushion, and although it’s not perfect, I find it quite OK; the buttons blend well with the colour scheme and they do a good job of holding the cover closed without gaping.

Just a few days now before we go away. And still so much to do!

52 thoughts on “Miz Lizzie: Cushion creatures

  1. claire93 says:

    ever so pretty!!! and I tend to use buttons for my cushion covers rather than zips anyway, because zips do have a habit of getting stuck eventually.

    • katechiconi says:

      Historically, I’ve preferred the flatness of a zip, but these buttons and elastic loops are very nearly as good. And I didn’t even need to make buttonholes! It’s gorgeous fabric, isn’t it? Actually much nicer than in the photo; I can’t capture the colour of the background if the birds and butterflies are correct – it looks too washed out and it’s a nice warm taupe in real life.

  2. Love the button detail, adds more interest than a zip. And the fabric is very pretty.

  3. dayphoto says:

    Those are so cute and fun! I’m looking forward to your trip!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve just charged the camera battery, because I think there’ll be some serious photo ops along the way. We’re catching up with a lot of friends and a few family en route. I’m also hoping to introduce the Husband to some of my favourite spots at our destination, places he hasn’t seen yet because our previous visits have been so rushed. I’m glad you like the cushions, it was the bright blue Fairy Wrens on the design that made the fabric irresistible!

  4. Very pretty! I like the pink binding the best. 🙂

  5. mlmcspadden says:

    I’ve been using velcro to keep the back of pillows closed, but I love this idea of the elastic loops and buttons for the back. They look great and I’m filing that idea away for my use in the future!

    • katechiconi says:

      I was a little uncertain it would be successful, but I’m very happy with the result. You do need 4 buttons rather than 3, though, otherwise I’m pretty sure it would gape a bit.

  6. Chris S in Canada says:

    Thank you for showing your project, I’m excited about the makeover you’ve started – can’t wait to see all the beautiful things! I love the pillow fabric, so pretty, so cheerful.

    My first thought was to make a little tassel or something similar for the zipper pull tab, so I’m guessing you weren’t able to do that. If you decide the buttons just aren’t making you happy, you can always change back to a zipper later. But they do add a pretty little detail.

    I’m looking forward to seeing any travel photos you share and more projects as they come along.

    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly the pull kicked itself off the zipper coils as well as losing its pull, and I was unable to get it back on. A complete bust… I actually do like the buttons – now! I was only despondent because it wasn’t what I’d planned, but they did turn out pretty well 🙂
      Never fear, there will be photos and posting about the trip, and definitely photos and posting when I get the interior furnishings done… eventually! I think the curtains will be next, I really don’t like the stiff, bulgy dark blue ones that are there right now.

  7. Chris S in Canada says:

    I’m so in love with the idea of a Miz Lizzie for the big guy and I that I went back and read a couple of the early posts about her. I saw that you were thinking of making an outdoor mat of “plarn”. Not sure why this didn’t click in my brain before, but here are a couple of thoughts about that.

    In Canada, we can buy milk in bags of 4 litres – inside the larger bag are 3 smaller sealed bags of milk. (Might sound like over-packaging, but it’s actually more efficient than cartons, etc.) Those outside bags are terrific for making plarn – the same way you did the denim mat. If you have something like that you could gather them from anyone with kids.

    Another option could be the Phentex slipper yarn – terrible stuff for slippers, but I’ll bet it would make a fabulous rug that would never die. I know you have op shops, you might be able to gather enough without breaking the piggy bank.

    Crazy thoughts – have fun. Sorry for running on.
    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      How kind of you to think of solutions for me! Two small problems with your great ideas, though…
      Milk doesn’t come in those extremely handy-sounding bags Down Under. We have PET jugs or card cartons, neither of which really lend themselves to being turned into yarn. But I wonder if one could use the foil bags inside wine boxes? I don’t drink much, so I’d have to find someone who was getting through a lot of Chateau Boîte!
      The problem with Phentex slippers is that I live in the tropics and no-one wears slippers! I’ve never, ever seen a pair either on sale or in an op shop. Perhaps I’ll keep a look out when we head south. And don’t worry about running on, I LOVE comments 🙂

      • Chris S in Canada says:

        I think that sounds like an awesome reason for drinking more wine. Might have to put the word out to friends and neighbours. I don’t know of anywhere else with milk sold this way, but thought it might trigger something for you. Wish I could send you a boxful of bags or Phentex, that would keep you busy!
        Chris S in Canada

      • katechiconi says:

        It’s a bit of a dilemma, really… I want bags so I can carry on with the crochet, but I *don’t* want bags because I think they shouldn’t be around any more. Ah well, at least I’m making good use of the ones I do get…

  8. kathyreeves says:

    Those cushions are great, I love the fabric!!!

  9. Wow that Australian bird fabric looks just fantastic, the colors are so lovely. I like the piping you chose. Well done!

  10. tialys says:

    I had to zoom in on the photo to see the buttons – it looks just as neat as the zip. Whenever I make cushions I make envelope backs as I try to avoid zips and buttons wherever possible – it takes up more fabric but, as long as you don’t skimp, it looks fine. The fabric is delightful – are there birds and butterflies on the curtain fabric?

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m not a big fan of envelope backs, I always find they eventually bulge open. I must be rough on my cushions! No butterflies or eggs on the curtain fabric, there are sea birds, shells, glass floats, etc. A slightly different colour scheme, but like enough that it doesn’t clash.

  11. nanacathy2 says:

    Your fabric is so Gorgeous. You won’t look at the back with fabulous fronts.

  12. craftycreeky says:

    Very pretty fabric, the buttons add a nice, if unplanned touch. I must admit I’m a bit lazy when it comes to cushions, I just slip stitch the edge closed, on the odd occasion they need washing I just undo it and slip stitch again after!

    • katechiconi says:

      I must admit that unless I have a proper opening, I leave washing them far too long because of the faff of unpicking and restitching! Another time, though, I’ll use buttons again, but this time I’ll make the flap big enough to cover them 🙂

  13. So brave to have light-colored cushions for your excursions, but then I suspect you and the sir aren’t likely to play in the mud too often.

  14. Jule says:

    What a clever solution!

  15. manicmumdays says:

    Necessity is the mother of invention!
    Love the fabric 🙂

  16. Kathy D says:

    Your mind is a wonderous thing! Always problem solving and coming up with the perfect solution! Love the fabric.

  17. magpiesue says:

    So pretty! And even better in person, I’ve no doubt. You’re going to enjoy your trip in Miz Lizzie’s comfort. 🙂

  18. Catherine says:

    I love your fabrics! Beautiful and lovely cushions, very cheery. Enjoy your travels!

  19. Adore the catch detail, includes more enthusiasm than a zip. Also, the texture is lovely…

  20. I love your pillows, Kate. What beautiful fabric. I’ll chime in as well on the buttons. I think they’re charming. Enjoy your travels!

  21. rutigt says:

    Zippers…….when they crash it´s a disaster 😦 I once sew a pouch with a little extra on it and after being done I realized the zipper wasn´t so great. I just put it away in a box somewhere with tears in my eyes, cause the pouch had a lovely fabric and it was tough to sew. Your solution to the problem is great! With such beautiful pillows you´ll have a nice holiday!

  22. I love the butterfly fabric and how the pillows turned out. The quilting is perfect for them.

Leave a Reply

