Lest we forget…

Screen shot 2014-04-25 at 8.03.11 AM

To all the Diggers who have hung up their hats,
we say thank you.

To the men and women of our Armed Forces: thank you for the sacrifice you made, thank you for the freedom we take for granted, thank you for enduring the horror of war on our behalf. Thank you for showing us that mankind has its redeeming moments amidst ugliness and conflict.

Today is ANZAC Day.  All over Australia and New Zealand, in Gallipoli and northern France, at dawn today people stood in silence to remember and give thanks.

Gone but never forgotten.

At the going down of the sun, and in the morning,
We will remember them.

Screen shot 2014-04-25 at 8.03.33 AM

15 thoughts on “Lest we forget…

  1. May we fully honor those who fought for peace by becoming a species that no longer wages war.

    • katechiconi says:

      If only… The more I read or watch the news, the more I fear we’re heading for conflict once again. I suspect instead we’re the species that never learns, despite harsh lessons.

      • dayphoto says:

        I fear we are too. So I have decided to stop watching the news…yes I know, I’m an ostrich…works for me.

      • katechiconi says:

        Sometimes it’s easier not to know. Things that look dire often lead to nothing and we’ve stressed about them for nothing. But the situation in SE Asia is looking pretty horrifying for its close neighbours.

  2. kathyreeves says:

    Beautifully said, Kate!

    • katechiconi says:

      My great-grandfather, grandfather and father all fought in wars for our peace and safety, my brother and husband were both in the Reserves. Their service needs to be acknowledged in an era when the concept of service is unfashionable and the young are unfamiliar with the notion of sacrifice.

  3. Laura Grace said it perfectly. If only….

  4. tialys says:

    It’s so important that we keep these memorial days going even though nobody seems to have learned anything at all from past events.

    • katechiconi says:

      As a species, no, we never learn, but I think individuals who have lost important people to conflict have had a very bitter lesson brought home. To me, although I hate war, the sacrifice of those who laid their lives on the line so I can enjoy my life has to be gratefully and humbly acknowledged.

  5. claire93 says:

    too true – we must never forget.

    • katechiconi says:

      My father, at 94, is one of the last of his generation to have fought in a true world war, a dubious distinction, he always felt. Who will remember the horrors of a world at war once he and his generation are gone? It’s up to us, I think…

  6. Some of us don’t take it for granted. ANZAC Day is an important day for commemoration and reflection but living everyday thoughtfully and kindly is the best thanks we can give, and our best hope for the future for those of us outside the Servuces. That said, ANZAC Day is one of my favourite days here, when the community comes together.

Leave a Reply

