TWX 15: Tealed with a Kiss completed

It’s done, and on its way.

I decided to make the binding narrow, because I love how it looks, but it does add a whole level of extra difficulty to hand-stitching the binding down because there’s a lot less slack. I probably won’t make the binding so narrow another time. Somewhere between ‘normal’ and this skinny, which was 2 inch wide binding strips instead of 2½ inch.

Of course, the minute I wanted to photograph it outside, the rain came down, so it’s been photographed inside on the design wall. Sorry… it does make everything a bit duller.

Here’s the label, and all you lovely kind people who contributed a block (or several!)  will find your names there if you click on the image and enlarge it. Thank you all again for your wonderful, beautiful blocks and for contributing your time and fabric to this most important cause. I couldn’t have done it without you, and I hope you will continue to join in with our collaborative quilts in the future.

I’ve been mulling over the next OCA quilt off the production line. This won’t be starting for about 6 months, but I wanted to put the idea out there so anyone who wants to contribute has some time to think about what they want to do. It’s going to be called ‘Signed, Tealed and Delivered’, and it’s going to have a postal theme. My idea is that the blocks will still finish at 12½ inches square, but they will feature the front and back of a fabric postcard on a teal background. I’m visualising appliqué, but it could be pieced. The front can depict anything you like (patterned fabric, paper pieced image, machine embroidery, whatever takes your fancy), and the back should be cream fabric, laid out to look like a postcard, with a stamp, a fictitious address, a message and your signature, either embroidered, printed, or using an indelible marker. I’m thinking all the stamps should be teal, and the postcard fronts should feature teal in some way. Closer to the time we start this quilt, I’ll produce an example to show what I’m thinking.

What do you think? Do you have a better idea for executing this title? As always, I welcome suggestions and input, but will ultimately go with whatever I think works best 🙂

36 thoughts on “TWX 15: Tealed with a Kiss completed

  1. I love how it turned out and do understand the narrow binding. I don’t care for narrow binding unless the project is very small for just the reason you gave. The proposal for the next one sounds interesting! Looking forward to seeing it.

  2. tialys says:

    Great job Kate. Let’s hope it raises a good amount for the cause.
    The next one sounds interesting. Do you think the ‘postcards’ back and front should be a standard size within the background square to give the quilt some uniformity? That’s the extent of my input so far as it’s a bit early in the morning.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s like sending a child out into the world. You hope it’ll do well, but it has to do its own thing and you have to let go! Regarding the ‘postcards’: probably they should be more or less the same size, but I don’t think it’s necessary that they should be square on the background. I think a variety of angles will give it movement and visual interest. Thanks for the thought!

  3. nettyg says:

    TWX turned out beautifully, well done to all involved. The next one sounds intriguing and will get our brain cells going. Look forward to seeing your example. Digressing…….are you guys still heading this way next month, and do you have dates?

    • katechiconi says:

      Hello there! I’m so glad to hear from you, and hope you’re doing OK after that night of terror. Yes, we’re still coming down, and in fact we’ll be staying in the Greenhills caravan park in M’bah – assuming it’s still there and able to receive visitors – on the night of 2 May. We’ll hope to see you either that afternoon some time, or in the morning before we leave for Nambucca Heads.

  4. craftycreeky says:

    Looks great, feel proud to have played a small part in it 🙂 Next one sounds interesting 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Your blocks were beautiful, the fabric choices really added to the visual richness. I really want to come up with a design that has a postal theme, and it seemed to me that the postcard idea gave everyone an opportunity to do something pretty and interesting whilst still keeping to the principle of individual blocks that can be assembled into something bigger.

  5. claire93 says:

    well done Kate and to all contributors. Another great quilt to show you care!

  6. kathyreeves says:

    I am still amazed by the creativity and blending that appeared in this thing. It was an honor to participate. I am looking forward to seeing a sketch of your general idea, and I like the postcard theme, maybe you could have a mailbox in each corner? I’m envisioning an American mailbox, but as I type this, I realize that mailboxes look different in other parts of the world, so that may not work.

  7. magpiesue says:

    I like the narrow teal binding. I use a 2.25″ strip for my bindings. It worked so well the first time I tried it I never bothered to go wider or narrower! I love the idea of a postal theme for the next quilt. Postal boxes from around the world would be fun in the four corners. I read recently somewhere that the boxes are indeed different colors in different countries. That variety in color might help to pull together the wide array you may get for the rest of the quilt top. I have to admit I don’t clearly understand your vision for Signed Tealed and Delivered but I love the concept. I’ll be looking forward to your sketch!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s one of those things that’s hard to communicate with just words, isn’t it? And yes, I’m thinking 2.25″ binding strips will be my new favourite too!

  8. I love the community effort that goes into producing these quilts. Thanks to all involved and to you, Kate, for bringing everyone together for such a worthwhile project. The quilt is stunning. I love sending and receiving postcards, so your plans are immensely appealing. I can’t wait to learn more when the time comes.

    • katechiconi says:

      I love the community effort too, it makes the whole thing possible, and gives everyone a chance to participate even if they’re not up for a whole quilt. I need to spend some time sketching ideas for the postal quilt before I’m ready to put it out there, but soon, I hope.

  9. Dysis says:

    So beautiful. The label is lovely to.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so glad you like it! The label is the format I use for all my Ovarian Cancer fundraiser quilts – I think it’s important to acknowledge not only those who contributed to the quilt, but those who contributed to the sum of knowledge about Ovarian Cancer, and paid the price.

  10. Kate, you are AMAZING! This has been a wonderful gift for the cause and for uniting so many of us. You have a wonderful gift:). I love the label with the names in a heart and the sweet message. Sign me up for your next appliqué cause Quilt!

  11. It’s beautiful. Well done to all who contributed. I’m amazed by your energy Kate. You always find ways to make others smile 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Not to sound like Pollyanna or anything, but I do want to do something to make the world a nicer place. I’ve had a lot of good things in my life, and I’m paying it forward.

  12. rutigt says:

    When the result turns out like this beauty, I´ll do whatever you want 🙂

  13. Jule says:

    Great quilt, I hope it will raise a lot of money. 🙂 I thought about your idea for the next one. What about making the blocks 8 x 12 (plus seam allowance) with a picture and a message side – like a real postcard, only bigger.

    • katechiconi says:

      That’s an idea, but I think it would be a pity to ‘lose’ the message side on the back of the quilt. My idea was to put both on the front, which would have the advantage of filling more space and thus need fewer blocks overall. But I will keep your suggestion in mind in case I get lots of people wanting to participate 🙂

  14. Lovely, just lovely Kate!!

  15. […] Time for Teal,  Stay Positive,  Tealed with a Kiss. […]

Leave a Reply

