TWX 14: assembly complete

And it’s done.

Why does the wind always start blowing when I want to take a photo of a quilt on the line…? We’ll pretend it’s on purpose, shall we? To make the image more dynamic and give it some movement!

Now all I have to do is cut and sew the binding, and make and attach the label. Another day will see it finished, thank goodness, and I can stop worrying about it, and start working on other things.

The quilt has extracted its customary tribute of blood; I managed to accidentally rip a nice hole in my thumb on a stray pin as I was feeding the quilt through the machine, but I did avoid getting any of it on the quilt in a visible place. It doesn’t mean my DNA isn’t on it, just that you can’t see it!

So, tomorrow I cut and sew on the binding and stitch it down, and make the label, which as usual will be printed on transfer paper and then ironed onto fabric. It will acknowledge all the lovely, kind and generous people who have contributed their time, energy and fabric to this good cause.

Now, whereย are the Band Aids…?

40 thoughts on “TWX 14: assembly complete

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    I love the way you have got movement in your picture! Seriuosly I really like the way this has turned out, DNA and all!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s amazing how well it works, considering that the blocks all came from such different sources. Of course, now that the photo’s done, the wind has died down!

  2. We all leave a part of ourselves in everything we make – just some more than others! Glad the blood didn’t show – I’ve had to do the occasional cover-up job myself.

    • katechiconi says:

      I knew I’d inflicted some damage, and shut my thumb up inside my fist while I extracted it from the quilt. All good! There’s just a tiny little smear inside a seam, where it can’t be seen. A small sacrifice to the gods of quilting ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Grannymar says:

    The quilt looks wonderful, Kate.
    Years ago I learned a tip to remove accidental blood marks from fabric.It worked many times on Jack’s shirt collars and three times while making my daughter’s wedding outfit. The bodice front. Where else?
    Take a good wadge of cotton thread and chew it until soft & saturated by saliva. The saliva must match the blood – your blood, your saliva. Then take the saliva ball and work from the outside of the stain towards the centre.

  4. norma says:

    Looks beautiful. I love front and back. I’m sure it’ll do well for the charity

    • katechiconi says:

      Sometimes the simple ideas work the best, don’t they? I really love this one, and I think it would work for either a man or a woman, so hopefully it’ll do well at the auction.

  5. craftycreeky says:

    Looks wonderful Kate, it’s amazing how all the different shades of Teal blend so well together, no need for me to stress after all ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. rutigt says:

    And itยดs a beauty!!!!! I like sewing the binding, cause it makes the quilt so complete. All the batting is hidden and the quilt, hopefully, looks great!

  7. Jule says:

    It’s beautiful! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. tialys says:

    Well done you! Blood, sweat and tears – I think we usually get one of two those one way or another into the quilts we make – hopefully all come out in the wash ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Will there be hatboxes this month? No flimsy excuses about cyclones, hurricanes, plagues and pestilence this time please ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. claire93 says:

    quilting is brilliant and quilt looks lovely and crisp!

  10. kathyreeves says:

    It looks so cheerful and breezy, whether there’s wind or not. I think it will bring a good price and provide some comfort too.

  11. It’s just beautiful! I’m always fascinated how all those different squares come together cohesively but they do.

  12. knitnkwilt says:

    The joy of a finished project; it’s looking good.

  13. dayphoto says:

    I sorry about your thumb, BUT THAT QUILT is BEAUTIFUL!

  14. I thought I had got through my embroidery without drawing blood, and then I slipped as I was tightening the hoop it’s mounted in (which I didn’t use to do the embroidery) and gashed my finger. I avoided bleeding on my finished work otherwise it would have needed to be washed (there was nowhere to hide a stain). Glad you managed to bleed discreetly this time after all I’m not convinced about blood and teal!

  15. Catherine says:

    It’s looking amazing! What great photos on the line too!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s my favourite place for recording quilts, the daylight is so much better for getting accurate colours, and you get the light and shadow play of the quilting. Hopefully there’ll be another couple of shots today, the finished, bound quilt, and the label.

  16. Kate, this is another STUNNING quilt. I love it!

  17. Well done, very nice placement of the blocks! As to the DNA, I’ve long since decided that someday that is how they’ll identify me as the maker of my quilts, either through blood analysis or the hairs that can’t escape. And in fact, while I try (and try and try and try and…) to pick my hairs off and out of all the parts, for appearance, I’m okay with the notion that some are trapped for all eternity. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so with you on the hairs! Luckily mine are pretty much all silver, very fine and almost invisible, but thankfully no longer than 8 inches maximum. A lint roller and several refills is an indispensable part of my sewing room equipment…

  18. magpiesue says:

    It’s so fresh and lovely! I like that the wind was blowing a bit for the picture, just enough to fluff the quilt out. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope you don’t have to donate any more blood to get the binding on.

Leave a Reply

