TWX11: a better layout, some quilting… and frogs

There, that’s an improvement, isn’t it?

I’m not sure this is the final layout yet, but I’m getting closer. What do you think about swapping the short X in the top row with the beige-background X on the right in Row 4? And the top right-hand dark X with the bottom right hand dark X in the 4th row? I fiddle around, and swap, and stand back and squint, and I still can’t seem to get it laid out to my satisfaction. Plus, even when it looks right on the wall, there’s a glaring issue when I look at the photo. I think those two changes might work, don’t you?

I’ve got the two middle rows of blocks fully quilted and a couple more blocks on top of that. That bit’s going pretty well, and I can get a row quilted before my back starts whingeing at me to stop. I have to listen to my back a bit carefully just now, because of my ‘morning work’, which is shovelling crusher dust for the drive, picking up dead branches and fallen palm fronds, and raking and shovelling mud and rotting vegetation out of the storm drainage ditch down the side of the property. It’s a long, long ditch. It doesn’t take much before there’s a persistent nag from back there…

Finally, it has been a froggy sort of day. This little chap has been occupying my laundry windowsill for most of a day now. There was another one hanging out in the back of the car when we opened the tailgate to stow the tarp after taking a load of green waste to the dump. He made a break for it, but Laundry Frog is quite contented where he is… He’s about 4cm/1½ inches long.

And I just wanted to let you know that that piece of white thread on his leg is on him, not my camera lens!

 

41 thoughts on “TWX11: a better layout, some quilting… and frogs

  1. craftycreeky says:

    How about swopping the little green cross at the top for the one in the centre of the fifth row down?
    I remember having tree frogs on our verandah when we were staying up in Daintree 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      If I do that, I’ll have to swap the second and third blocks from the left on the same row… Really, the problem is the very light block on the left, 4th row down. From a distance, it’s too light, and I wanted to balance it with the other pale one.
      Do you also remember how noisy the little buggers are? They can be absolutely deafening. Luckily, this one seems to be spending a lot of time asleep…

  2. tialys says:

    The frog is adorable – what a colour! – he’s obviously been rummaging about through your smalls in the laundry room in order to get a piece of thread on him.
    I can be of no help with the layout – I’ve gone all cross eyed just looking at it (sorry, not sorry for the pun). In my mind, I’m still favouring making it a row wider and some plain dark teal squares highlighting a diagonal cross so I can’t see anything else any more.

  3. katechiconi says:

    I don’t want to make it larger, as I was told by OCA that smaller quilts sell better than larger ones, and of course, they’re less work too!
    The frog is very cute, but he’s not quite as spectacular as some of his cousins, who have red eyes!

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    Hi, 4th down and 4th acroos swapped with 3rd down in the first column.. that should sort it out with the very light one too. I can’t believe that frog is for real, he looks like an ornament!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ll probably spend an hour or two rearranging, taking photos and looking… and repeating! Meanwhile, I can carry on quilting each block so I’m not wasting my time.
      The frog’s amazing, isn’t he? Not quite as gorgeous as the tiny neon green ones with red eyes, but as you say, like an ornament, or an enamel brooch.

  5. I agree with Cathy – it looks like an ornament to me too. As for where all those crosses should go, I can’t help… I’m currently arranging and rearranging crochet flowers for the sketchbook and I’ve stopped being able to make any decision about what looks good!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s OK… ultimately I’ll do what looks and feels right to me, but I do like getting feedback and suggestions from other people. Hoping to see your Sketchbook page soon 🙂

  6. Robin Murphy says:

    I like your thinking about moving the four blocks. It is difficult and which ever way you decide it will still be wonderful. There is such a great variety and they are all beautiful. Don’t overdo and make sure you listen to your back.

  7. I thought froggie was ceramic at first 🙂 Clearly he is wanting to help you with your sewing…..

  8. kathyreeves says:

    I’m thinking that the top left x should be swapped with the one either right below it, or the third one on the top row? I just think it needs a stronger x on that corner?

  9. Your quilt is great, but the frog is the cutest.

  10. claire93 says:

    I would have done a layout, where dark blocks & light blocks are sort of spattered about all over the place and try for a “random” layout, although I know how difficult “random” can be to achieve.

    • knitnkwilt says:

      Ah, you do “random” my way.

    • katechiconi says:

      The original plan was to feature an X of darker blocks, but I couldn’t get the contrast I needed. Now, I’m trying to concentrate the darker ones in the centre, but that has its own difficulties. And as you say, random can be the hardest effect of all! I’m getting much closer to a result I like, thanks to everyone’s contributions 🙂

  11. dayphoto says:

    Ahhhh. Warmth, dry, calm…………….snooze!

  12. knitnkwilt says:

    Amazing how much more dramatic the dark blocks are inthis arrangement!
    Na. I wouldn’t swap the upper right short X with the beige background–I prefer thelook of the blocks with beige being spread out. I might swap upper right and upper left corners though. (Now I’ll read what others have said. LOL)

    • katechiconi says:

      Ultimately, I need to end up with a layout where my eye doesn’t ‘catch’ on a block that seems to be in the wrong place. There are a few of those in this layout, and I’ve addressed them. I think the spread of dark and light is more important than the distribution of beige in the context of this quilt…

  13. Laundry Frog is quite a handsome fellow. Perhaps he’s finding enough tasty creatures to eat right where he sits, which means he’s not only decorative but functional as well.

  14. lucyannluna says:

    Frogs are odd characters, when we lived in Somerset my old dog was an outdoor type( she didn’t live outside she just spent any time it wasn’t wet out) she had a outdoor water bowl one morning we found a frog in her bowl. She came & got me. There he was peeping above the rim

    • katechiconi says:

      It just amazes me how unafraid they can be. It’s almost like “If I hold really still maybe they won’t notice me”… coming from a bright green frog on a white windowsill!

      • lucyannluna says:

        The dog was looking at me with ‘ what the ??’ & the frog just blinked at us with a ‘& your problem is’ I seem to remember it stayed all day. The dog wasn’t impressed.

      • katechiconi says:

        We have quite a lot of frogs and toads around the property, and I don’t mind them; they eat their weight in insects on a regular basis, and anything that helps keeps the bugs down is welcome!

  15. Even frogs pick up threads in your house! Isn’t it a magnificent little creature.

    • katechiconi says:

      I rather think it’s an indictment of how thread and fluff just breeds in my house. Of course, the laundry’s a terribly place for fluff, but even so. Anyway, he’s clearly had enough, as he hopped off out the window a couple of hours later.

  16. rutigt says:

    I´m a bit behind, trying to catch up, so I guess you´ve already change everything you wanted to 🙂 Love the little green frog and isn´t it funny how threads always appear in unexpected places!

Leave a Reply

