TWX10: the last 2 blocks and a first layout

Postal delivery has resumed at last…

Today, I got a squishy envelope containing two beeeyootiful blocks for TWX!  The lovely Margaret of The Crafty Creek had sent me the last two blocks I need in order to complete the layout.  Aren’t they fab?

With these in hand, I was able to get the layout started. Here’s where I got to – I’m not sure this is the final thing, but it gives you an idea.

The bottom row contains hearts and the Ovarian Cancer teal ribbon, as with previous quilts. For the rest, I’ve tried to arrange the blocks into light and dark to create the impression of a secondary large darker X. I’m not sure I’ve cracked it yet, but it’s a beginning. If anyone wants to suggest some transpositions to improve the visibility of the big X, all suggestions will be considered; I’m all X’d out right now! I’ve made a start with the quilting, and 5 of these blocks already have my default wiggly line quilting on them. It’s easy, effective and quick, so why reinvent the wheel?

And another word about Margaret. She’s been following my adventures with Miz Lizzie the caravan, and the dear, kind thing has made a gift for me which you can read about here. I didn’t realise it was for me until right at the end of the post, and while I was reading, I was thinking “ooh, that’s lovely, I must make one myself”. Now that’s a parcel I’m looking forward to!

Hopefully the next time I post about TWX, a lot more quilting will have been done.

 

27 thoughts on “TWX10: the last 2 blocks and a first layout

  1. I think you have a few darkish blocks in the ‘light’ area, so what about a strong dark X in the middle with the darkest blocks and then a checkerboard for the rest of the top five rows?

    • katechiconi says:

      The trouble is, there are quite a few medium value blocks, so the trick is to place very dark and very light blocks adjacently. I’ve tried a chequerboard but it reduces the impact of the very dark blocks. I think I need to fiddle around a good bit more, and perhaps swap the two corner blocks out from the bottom row and replace them with darker ones.

  2. If your idea of the dark x in the lay out doesn’t work, how about putting all the dark blocks in the centre and work your way out to the lightest blocks on the edge? Whatever you decide on, it is a stunning quilt already. Love all the different fabrics and the personal touch of all these quilters.
    Hugs
    Esther

  3. Lovely squares! Goodness, I hadn’t noticed Margaret’s caravan creation until you pointed it out… it’s fab.

    • katechiconi says:

      Isn’t it! Aren’t those huge button wheels perfect? I absolutely love it! I think it may be the perfect size to fit under the arm of the Lilibet machine, so perfect for the caravan sewing kit.

  4. tialys says:

    What a gorgeous gift winging its way to you! Just the perfect thing for you and Miz Lizzie.
    If you really want a dark ‘X’ in the centre, what about placing plain (or two tone plains) dark teal blocks as a diagonal cross? I think that would be quite effective. Or would that be cheating?

    • katechiconi says:

      I don’t want to abandon any of the lovely blocks I already have. I think if I can’t achieve a good X with the blocks I have, I’ll probably go with Esther’s suggestion…

      • tialys says:

        I meant ‘as well as’ – but Esther’s suggestion is a good one.

      • katechiconi says:

        Ah, gotcha… I’ve actually taken the whole lot down, sorted them into dark, medium and light, and put them up with the darkest in the centre and lightest round the outside. I have to say, it looks a lot better! I’ll show an updated layout next time, once I’ve got a bunch of the blocks quilted.

  5. claire93 says:

    eveyone is smack bang on with the colours! you’d think all ladies had been fabric shopping together lol

  6. rutigt says:

    Reading the comments I think “Ipatchandquilt” is having a good idea on how to lay out the blocks. Looking forward to see the result! And the pin cushion camping wagon is so sweet!

  7. Oh my! Oh my! This is so beautiful! Really, I don’t think there is a way to arrange these blocks that doesn’t say, I love you!

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! It’s a whole quiltful of kisses! Now all I have to do is quilt every block, assemble the quilt, and then Ovarian Cancer can do some GOOD with it 🙂

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    I love the fiddling with layout stage. 🙂 I had a couple tweaks, but I join the crowd who like Esther’s idea.

    • katechiconi says:

      There was a large amount of fiddling before I took the photo for this post. And right after I read Esther’s comment, I ran upstairs and took it all down and started again! I’m much happier with it now, and in a couple of days, when I’ve done some more quilting, I’ll show where I’ve got to.

  9. craftycreeky says:

    The blocks look great together, so glad my two blend in OK, I was a bit worried about the first one. I think Esther’s idea sounds good! By the way, Miz Lizzie is in the post 🙂

  10. kathyreeves says:

    This is so cool, Kate! I am amazed at how well the colors blend, with the blocks coming from the ends of the earth!

    • katechiconi says:

      It just goes to show that teal is a wonderfully forgiving colour. If the main colour had been red, or green, the effect would have been much less satisfactory. Hurray for teal!

  11. Stunning! I wish I could learn quilting. Someday I will completely immerse myself in all things sewing and craft when my child is grown and i am not working full time 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The nice thing about quilting is that you can do it a bit at a time, so it’s a good hobby for a busy person 🙂 It needn’t be complicated, sometimes all you need is simple squares in great colours. I started my quilting career with hand stitched hexies, and if you can embroider, you can stitch hexies together. Give it a go!

  12. Love this! Especially the blocks with the cancer ribbon

    • katechiconi says:

      Glad you like it! I almost always put the Ovarian Cancer teal ribbon as a block on the quilts I make for them as fundraisers. This one will be finished today and I’ll be posting the finished quilt this evening or tomorrow morning.

Leave a Reply

