Bee, Myself and I #13

Bet you thought I wasn’t going to be posting any blocks for BM&I this month!

Cyclone Debbie gave me a hall pass, but I’ve turned up very nearly on time anyway. Reason being, I had these two blocks cut out and partly assembled before the Big Wind arrived, and I allowed myself a break from janitorial duties on Saturday and Sunday to finish them up. There should be three, but never mind… Lynn at Tialys and I agreed to make three a month till she’d finished her wall hanging and I the 36 blocks I need for a quilt. She’s made three gorgeous ones this month – I particularly like the last one – so get over there and take a look.

Here we are, Blocks 23 and 24.

I think the black one with splashy pink and orange flowers is one of my current favourites.  I’d definitely buy a hatbox in that colour-way if I saw one! But the flutterbys are pretty too, and the gold print detailing isn’t too overpowering.

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button a fair way down in the left hand column.

So, sorry that I’m slightly late this month. I’ll try to do better next time, acts of nature permitting. See you back here for April’s blocks 🙂

25 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #13

  1. claire93 says:

    I really like the flutterbies ^^

  2. dayphoto says:

    I really like these!

  3. kathyreeves says:

    These are my new favorites Kate!

  4. Kathy D says:

    That is going to be one awesome quilt – all the hat boxes are my favorites! Can’t pick just one. It was nice of (for) you to take a break from all your mud slinging (lol)!

  5. lucyannluna says:

    They look fantastic

  6. You are more consistent about posting your blocks than I am, but mine – while not speccy to look at individually – are being sewn in the background.

  7. rutigt says:

    I agree, the black with orange and pink is great! I like those strong colors. So how many blocks have you finished now?

  8. You are incredible. I especially love the butterfly fabric. I have quite a bit of it and still deciding what to do with it. My son brought me some from his trip to Hawaii. 🙂 Think I’m inspired. Good for you for taking some time off from the cleaning.

    • katechiconi says:

      It would be fun to make something where you could fussy cut your favourite butterflies. Which is why I’m looking forward to using the leftovers for my ScrapHappy hexies!

  9. magpiesue says:

    Oh yes, the pink and orange floral is definitely my favorite of these two!

Leave a Reply

