SAL 44: It’s Debbie’s fault…

I didn’t have much of a chance to stitch recently.

A lack of electricity and lots of big scary wind and rain will do that. Big bad Tropical Cyclone Debbie paid us a visit, in case you don’t follow this blog regularly. Anyway, extremely good excuses over, here’s the stitching.

This is where I was before:

And this is where I am now. Apologies for the wrinkly fabric; having only just hadย electricity restored and with so much else to do, I couldn’t find time to press it. Getting the flood mud out of the house takes priority over embroidery projects right now ๐Ÿ™‚

This new pattern will repeat across to the opposite border, and after that I start the larger blocks of stitching. Do take time to go and see what all the others ย in the Stitch Along are working on, there’s some really beautiful work in progress. Remember we’re in all sorts of time zones and I’m one of the earlier ones, so if you’ve come here first, it might be an idea to wait a while before you visit the others.

Avis,ย Claire,ย Gun,ย Carole,ย LucyAnn,ย Jess,ย Sue,
Constanze,ย Debbierose,ย Christina,ย Susan,ย Kathy,
Margaret,ย Cindy,ย Helen,ย Steph,ย Linda,ย Catherine,ย Wendy,
Mary Margaret, Timothy

See you next time, on 23 April. Hopefully by that time, I’ll have been able to use my iron!

 

52 thoughts on “SAL 44: It’s Debbie’s fault…

  1. kathyreeves says:

    Kate I love the new border!! You WILL win the battle with the mud!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m getting there… The next phase needs the Husband home to help me shift lots of stuff from one side of the room to the other, so that’ll be Tuesday.
      I like this border too, it’s lively. But it’s tricky to stitch, I’ve had to unpick a fair bit.

  2. magpiesue says:

    Hey, under the circumstances that’s great progress! Hope you can take some time off from clean up duty to see what everyone else has been up to in their calm weather. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Love this design!!! you’re making good progress considering sometimes life gets in the way ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      Considering I had no power for 4 days, I consider myself very lucky to have anything at all to show! By next SAL, I hope to have this strip finished and be into the larger, more complex designs at the bottom.

  4. craftycreeky says:

    I’m amazed you’ve managed to do anything! Love the new border ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. lucyannluna says:

    Looking good, great progress all considered

  6. Carole says:

    That looks really pretty. This is such a lovely sampler.
    Hope you win the battle with the mud soon so you can get back to crafting, although the mud squishing outside does sound fun.

    • katechiconi says:

      That bit was fun, but the chopping up and loading of the fallen trees was a bit tiring… I’ve actually managed a bit of machine sewing today, so there’ll be something to post about tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    I am impressed with progress given the mud and trauma.

  8. tialys says:

    Any progress is amazing given all you’ve had to do. What’s that circle in the left hand corner though? You haven’t stood a coffee cup on it have you? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. Debbierose says:

    Hey Kate, your amazing, amongst all the havoc you still find time to blog. Happy your safe.

    • katechiconi says:

      To be honest, the blog has been a life saver. It’s given me an outlet for talking about the stuff that has happened, the support of blogging friends around the world and the benefit of a record of events I can look back on to learn from. The embroidery was finished before the cyclone arrived, so I just had to take a photo and post ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Ooooh. I’m really liking the new bit. It’s SOO pretty!

  11. I’m so sorry to hear you’ve been hit by the cyclone. I saw it on the news and it looked horrendous! Can only begin to imagine what you are going through. Your stitching is gorgeous as usual.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! The clearing up is a bit strenuous, but at least it’s not terribly hot and humid to make the work difficult. We’ve turned the corner on summer, I think, and the nights are getting cooler.

  12. claire93 says:

    I didn’t realise this piece was going to be so big. It’ll be very majestic when it’s finished!

  13. dayphoto says:

    Gosh, I read through the comments and you even cleaned inside, outside and sewed. Sometimes I think you are a wonder woman!

    • katechiconi says:

      Nope, not a wonderwoman, it isn’t nearly finished. I just do a bit till my back yells at me, then do a bit of something else, and so on. I’ll get there in the end. I wanted to get the fallen trees cleared up because they’ll kill the grass if I leave them lying there, and they’re easier to cut up when the wood’s green.

  14. rutigt says:

    A black pattern! I thought the rest was gonna be blue ๐Ÿ™‚ This makes it more exciting!!

  15. Christina says:

    Glad you’re ok Kate! We too have had some hard rain and damaging winds, but nothing like you’ve experienced!
    That’s a pretty new row of stitching though and looking forward to seeing this piece grow ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      This cyclone has been a doozy, and continues to make herself felt… Glad you’re enjoying the stitching, it feels good to move on to something different.

  16. Catherine says:

    I think the fact you got any stitching done is a miracle! Well done, and I really love this piece and that border! Good luck moving mud

  17. Thimberlina says:

    Glad you’ve come out the other side… hope the clean up isn’t too long and drawn out and you can soon be doing all the things you love to do.

  18. Oh my goodness you have had your hands full! Lovely project! Hope things settle down where you are soon and you can return to normal.

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I truly have been living in interesting times. Getting everything back to normal is taking a while, but I’ll get there. Glad you like the sampler, I’m enjoying it a lot.

  19. Sorry Debbie caused you so many problems, and hope your home will be clear, dry and back to normal in a very short time. I love watching your progress on this one.

  20. Oh no, so sorry to hear the cyclone affected you. I hope you’re ok?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, we’re fine. It was messy and inconvenient, with water and mud through the house and no power for 4 days, but we’re very fortunate compared with hundreds of thousands of others.

  21. lbick says:

    I really like your border. Glad your are ok, you’ll win over the mud soon

  22. susanpblog says:

    We are experiencing the last bit of Debbie here in New Zealand at the moment!

    • katechiconi says:

      We’re seeing your flooding and devastation, and you know we sympathise… Not that it helps, but at least we have an inkling of what you guys are going through!

Leave a Reply

