Celebrating four years

Our fourth wedding anniversary passed almost unacknowledged.

It’s not that either of us forgot, more that a certain recent weather event took over and did her best to make life beastly. We did toast each other wearily as we sat in the caravan after a horrible day, frugally showered and clean, wearing fresh clothes and tucking into our just-cooked anniversary meal. But we didn’t make a special event of it.

Today I pointed this sad fact out to the Husband. I also pointed out to him that current thinking says the appropriate gift for 4 years is no longer linen, silk, fruit or flowers – these days it’s electrical appliances. I think you’ll find it’s actually a Sidewinder portable battery operated bobbin winder. That’s right, isn’t it? I’m sure you’ll all back me up in this, especially the quilters, and most especially the ones who’ve run out of bobbin thread 30 inches ago without noticing. Gah! I also made him aware that luckily he’d be able to save the day because the LQS (local quilt shop) had some in stock. A fact I was sure about, because they’d emailed me to tell me so…

The poor chap has to go back to work today, because all the flooding is down, the landslips are cleared and the fuel terminals are open. But he’s on night shift, which means he’s free to take a little trip in the car this morning. There will be no escape…

Not that I have time to sew yet; the power crew got us back up and running about 6pm yesterday, but there’s a whole load of mud calling my name…

 

52 thoughts on “Celebrating four years

  1. Ah, but what electrical appliance will you get HIM?

    • katechiconi says:

      Well, the angle grinder stopped working when it got soaked while we were trying to sort out the exploding gutters…. He’s picked it up and muttered and put it down again at least twice, so I’m thinking a replacement would be welcome…

  2. Chris S in Canada says:

    Oooh, I really like the thought of electrical appliances. However, we are a ways past 4 years – do you think I could tell my big guy that appliances are for – hmm, let me think, 15 years? That will be September for us, so we both have time to choose something. You’ll back me up on the 15 years thing, right?

    Glad you have the electricity back, wish I could be there to help you clean up. Mud is just really hard to get rid of.
    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      One good turn deserves another, and of course I’ll back you up! So long as you’re sure you don’t want crystal or a watch, which are the more traditional gifts… As for mud, there’s a definite technique. Scrape, wipe, then mop. A metal-edged dustpan is just the ticket, followed by rags, followed by a sponge mop and lots of hot soapy water.

  3. magpiesue says:

    We recently passed our 33rd anniversary much more quietly than either of us intended. But at least we didn’t have wind roaring around us or water invading our home. I think you’ve come up with a perfectly acceptable, if belated, gift suggestion. 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      And now that Himself has his head around the idea of anniversary gifts, he’s quite enthusiastic about the idea of a pole pruner attachment for our whipper-snipper… At least it’s quieter than the angle grinder.

  4. kathyreeves says:

    I do recall that sidewinders are indeed THE gift for the 4th year anniversary, yes I’ve seen that….at least Debbie arrived for the anniversary instead of the wedding!!😉

  5. anne54 says:

    Happy anniversary! I too am sure that a side winder is just the thing for a fourth anniversary (as is an angle grinder!). Good luck with the mud.

    • katechiconi says:

      Apparently I have it wrong, and an angle grinder is not on the list. However, a pole pruner to go on our multi-purpose garden thingo (you know the ones, whipper-snipper, hedge trimmer and chain saw all in one) IS most definitely on the list. We’ll be shopping tomorrow, I suspect…

  6. Congrats on the anniversary. Sorry you spent it battling the elements. I can’t imagine mud inside the house. You have to be made of tough stuff to get through all that. I wondered about those sidewinders myself. Sometimes I think men are worse than women about electrical gadgets. My last one wanted every kitchen gadget ever made. Me, I did everything the old fashioned way. Some things just need to be electrical though. Hope the cleanup goes quickly.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m with you on the kitchen gadgets. I’m not a total throwback, I have a stand mixer and a stick blender, but there are three or four other gadgets at the back of a cupboard I never use and never will! I like a nice cordless drill/screwdriver, myself, and as a former single woman most of my life I have a good range of tools, but I can’t get excited about routers and so on. I would like a spray gun, though…
      The mud in the house is a pain. Outside, I can use the pressure washer, but inside, I have to go old-school.

  7. Who knew there is a technique to mud-cleaning?! Hope your back won’t protest afterwards. I have a bobbin winder somewhere…. Probably it is still in that one box with quilty things that is still unpacked… I remember buying it at a craft store in Florida. It was on sale, like 90% off or something similar and then I had this “50%” off coupon… I think I bought it for 50 cents. Ha ha! I haven’t used it much, though I actually should. One more thing to try and find and give a move permanent home near the sewing machine.
    Hope clean-up goes quickly so you can have some sewing time.
    Hugs
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m giving myself a bit of time off from cleaning and yard work to sew this evening. Maybe I’ll get my hatbox blocks done, they’ll only be a couple of days late!

  8. tialys says:

    What a way to spend your anniversary! At least you won’t ever forget it.. That thingamygig looks useful – I like the mini suitcase it appears to be in.

    • katechiconi says:

      I like the way it can be tidied away neatly. I’m probably only ever going to use it for big quilting jobs, to save the faff of unthreading and rethreading the machine in mid-flow, but it’ll save a lot of growling and cursing :-). The Husband’s reason for wanting a 2 metre pole with a chainsaw on the end is more obscure… But if that’s what he wants! And maybe I’ll see the point if I’m allowed to play with it too.

  9. rutigt says:

    Happy Anniversary! and yes, that sidewinder seems like a great idea 🙂

  10. nanacathy2 says:

    Oh yes I definetly read that, I wish I could remember which website it was!

  11. dayphoto says:

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY! And YAY for the power being back on. As for the mud….IN THE HOUSE…sigh!

  12. Happy Anniversary 💕 Good thing the powe came back on or your gift would languish… 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      No, see, I’ve thought about that. Mine is *battery-operated* and his will go onto the petrol powered line trimmer motor… Not quite electrical, but it’s what he wants… How did you go with the weather, flooding and being cut off?

      • No news here. We’re all good ♡

      • katechiconi says:

        Excellent!
        We’ve just heard Rockhampton is bracing itself for the worst flooding since 1954 or so; all the rain that fell inland and on the ranges in central Queensland is gathering itself to pass out to sea in that area. The whole place will go under, like Lismore, and it’ll extend for hundreds of kms. At least, that’s the theory. All traffic will have to pass inland via Emerald.

  13. Chris S in Canada says:

    Hmmm, I’m trying to remember what, exactly, I read about 4-year anniversary gifts. I believe the “electrical” part was optional, the real focus was “appliance”, with “tool” as a secondary definition. So the add-on to the trimmer thingy should fit right in. And it should cover the batter-operated winder too. Yes?

    Thanks for the backup on 15-year appliances. I have enough crystal for my needs, and watches are wasted on me. I haven’t worn one for years as I tend to kill the batteries in very short order, not sure why. I gave up because I thought it a waste to replace batteries every month or two. Windups suffer a similar fate, but are fine when on someone else’s arm. Go figure!

    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s probably your magnetic personality sending the watch works haywire! I’m old school enough to like a watch – you just turn your arm, and there’s the time. Most people now seem to use their phones instead but what a faff; you have to open the case and swipe and it takes two hands.

  14. Lynda says:

    Kate, it is midnight and I had to stifle a laughing episode when reading about the changes in 4 year anniversary gift giving. You are too funny! I wait to see if he got the sidewinder for you and to know how he liked his angle grinder or whipper snipper attachment… 😉
    Happy Anniversary!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ll be trying for a trip to the LQS on Monday morning… and the hardware store to order his thingy, and a trip to the dump with a trailer load of cut-up fallen tree… Well, you get the idea. It might take a while, and unless I’m lucky, they’ll have run out of stock. The dratted things aren’t made any more!

  15. Debbierose says:

    Hsppy Anniversary & happy sidewinding

  16. claire93 says:

    happy anniversary and I’m having a good laugh at your reasoning with suitable présents lol.
    We’re actually celebrating our 31st today, although “celebrating” is too grand a word. It’ll be home roast chicken and chips for dinner, with some garden grown kiwi (if I remember to pull some out of the freezer).

  17. Jule says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! It seems a long time ago, and the celebration was very small, but we had a fun evening despite what was happening outside!

      • Jule says:

        I followed your recent posts but had a few ‘ brain goes pop’ moments when trying to comment.

      • katechiconi says:

        I know the feeling well. Writing is better than conversation for me, otherwise I find myself gaping like a fish, searching for a word I know like my own name but can’t bring to mind…

  18. Grannymar says:

    Belated Happy Anniversary Kate and Mr Kate! May you have many more ‘fours’ to share together. Like you, I appreciate useful gifts… that don’t need dusting. You can keep cut flowers, watching them fade and die is not my idea of fun… I have had enough fading and looking like death to do me for years. Happy shopping!

  19. what a brilliant machine, including its name 🙂

  20. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    so sorry to hear what happend, I can’t imagine what it is like to have such a storm !!! And Congratulations on your wedding anniversary !! I haven’t been reading my favorite blogs for a while due to lack of time.

Leave a Reply

