On a roll with a roll

I’ve found a small and gentle job on which to reintroduce my squished finger to sewing.

It’s a crochet hook roll for Alys at Gardening Nirvana, a thank you gift for sending me some jumbo crochet hooks from the US, sizes I couldn’t get here. It all started when I was making the chunky denim yarn mat to put in Miz Lizzie, and now that I’m making another mat with ‘plarn’ (plastic bag yarn), the big hooks have come in very useful.

Having very recently sorted my scraps into usable colour order, I was able to dip straight in and select suitable strips in her favoured colours of blue, green and purple. Alys is just starting out with crochet and doesn’t have a huge hook collection (yet!) but I’m sure that if her enthusiasm takes off there will be many more, so I’ve tried to allow for a couple of hooks in several sizes from weeny to big and chunky. There’s also a slot for a small pair of scissors. Fortunately I also had scrap batting in roughly the right size too, so the project came together quickly and easily. The binding around the edge is identical to what I use for quilts, but half an inch narrower for a tidier effect. I’m rather pleased with the whole thing.

The process is pretty simple – I didn’t think about doing it as a tutorial till it was finished, and too late, so sorry about the lack of photos. Hopefully it’s fairly self-explanatory:

  • Make a piece of fabric up using scrap strips, or use whole cloth if you prefer. Make a lining piece or again, use whole cloth. Trim a 1 inch strip off the outer fabric – you’ll need this later. Trim everything so it’s square and straight, and spray baste together in a sandwich with batting in the middle.
  • Make or cut a piece of fabric to form the inner pocket for the hooks. It needs to be at least 3 inches shorter than the roll itself. Bind the top edge of this with the 1 inch strip you cut off the outer fabric, and topstitch down. Lay the pocket piece down onto the inside of the sandwiched fabrics. Pin the left and right edge in place.
  • Take a ruler and quilt marker, and mark out pockets for the scissors and crochet hooks, up and down the full height of the tool roll, from the bottom of the pocket, across the binding and onto the lining fabric. Ensure you create pockets of a variety of sizes.
  • Quilt the lines you have marked through all layers, including the pocket. Trim out the roll to get rid of uneven edges and any threads. Cut a 2 inch wide strip of binding fabric the circumference of the roll plus a few extra inches. Press it in half along its length.
  • Bind the roll with this narrow binding.Β (I’ve done a binding tutorial elsewhere, which you can find here) I hand-stitched down the inside edge rather than the outer one as I felt this would be more durable. Stitch on a button loop or piece of elastic to the centre of the right hand outer edge. Stitch a button to the approximate vertical and horizontal centre of the outside of the roll. You may need to move it slightly left or right to accommodate something inside, so test with tools in the roll before you finalise the button position.
  • Put tools into roll. Roll up into three sections and secure with button. You’re done!

Now that I know the finger’s up to sewing, I’ll be returning to the projects in hand. It’s time to get quilting on a couple of things, including making a start on the TWX blocks

49 thoughts on “On a roll with a roll

  1. anne54 says:

    Alys will be overjoyed to get this. What a thoughtful gift. And how typically sweet of her to send you the crochet hooks.

    • katechiconi says:

      She was so very kind, and I’m delighted to be able to make something she can find useful. The mashed finger survived the process, so I feel able to return to the sewing room tomorrow for some more progress πŸ™‚

  2. ordinarygood says:

    Great news about the finger healing up!

  3. tialys says:

    That will come in handy – I’m sure Alys will love it!
    Will your finger be up to the hatboxes this month? – although, knowing you, you’ve already done them πŸ˜‰
    I have made two new ones so should manage another before the month’s end.

  4. craftycreeky says:

    It’s so pretty, I’m sure she’ll love it πŸ™‚
    Glad to hear your finger is improving too!

  5. rutigt says:

    I guess she is gonna love it, cause itΒ΄s great looking!

  6. mlmcspadden says:

    Glad the finger is doing better! I’ve a couple of these rollups a friend made for me for my hooks and needles and I love them. I know Alys will love the one you made her.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re good for all sorts of things, aren’t they? Coloured pens and pencils, knitting needles, makeup brushes, artist’s brushes. I’ve made a couple of different crochet types and a couple of tatting kits too, with extra bits and a different layout.

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    So very pretty and so useful.

  8. kathyreeves says:

    A great way to celebrate taming the scraps, and Alys will be thrilled

  9. claire93 says:

    what’s not to love? it’s pretty and practical ^^

  10. mewithptsd says:

    This is great project and very pretty! I cant wait to make a couple! We have a small tote that has all the knitting needles and crochet hooks but generally just toss which ever we need in with the yarn in our to go projects, this will be so nice to tuck into a project bag and not lose or misplace items. A little pocket inside by the scissors would be good for a couple stitch markers and a darning needle. LOVE IT!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve made kits with extras in the past: pocket, pincushion, spool holder, etc. Alys is just starting out, so I kept it simple, but hopefully versatile enough that as she progresses she can fit more hooks in. Glad you like it πŸ™‚

  11. norma says:

    Glad you were able to use your finger. This makes a lovely present – I need to remember when Christmas comes closer

  12. Brilliant! Love the fabrics and the clever quilting πŸ™‚

  13. Lynda says:

    I’m so glad your finger is feeling better, Kate, and your crochet hook keeper is beautiful!

  14. Kate, this is gorgeous! The colors, the texture, the practicality all of it. Thank you, thank you. What a treasure. I’m impressed with the speed at which you turned this out, and with a sore finger no less. I hope to progress with my crochet. Stitches are coming along more evenly now. I’ve just taken something apart for the third time, so I can practice, practice, practice. Thanks for inspiring me even further.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so glad you like the look of it, I had a lot of fun making it πŸ™‚ The colours are not quite as bright as they look in the photo, it was a dull day and I had to over-light things in order to get a usable photo.
      I went to the Post Office today, so it’s on its way to you; I’d give it a couple of weeks, which seems to be the normal time from Australia to the US. I have to say the finger seems to be on the mend. I can do almost everything as before, just a few things that are still tricky.

      • Thank you so much, Kate. I’ll be traveling in early April, but Mike will be home to receive the package should it arrive while I’m gone. I’ll ask him to keep an eye out for it.

  15. What a great way to use up extra material. Very nice. πŸ™‚

  16. Catherine says:

    So glad you are on the mend! This looks like a great project, and so useful. It looks like it could be adapted to all sorts of different things easily.

    • katechiconi says:

      This is the 5th iteration of my basic toolkit! They’ve all been slightly different, as the recipients have all had varying wishes and requirements. Some have had pincushions and spool holders, others pockets and separate scissor keepers. This one’s probably the simplest – and the quickest:-)

  17. What a wonderful thing to make for Alys. Sometimes I have a hard time picturing her sitting still enough to crochet but I’m sure she has her moments. Happy to hear your fingers are better. I love how the caddy turned out. Makes me wish I hadn’t given up crochet. πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      Glad you like it! Someone asked me a while back why I don’t make myself a pen and pencil roll. My reply was that it would need to be about four feet long to accommodate all my writing and colouring implements! Is there a hobby I CAN make you a tool roll for? I’d love to, if there’s something you’d like to have a home for… Let me know.

      • Thank you for your thoughtful and generous offer. I’m pretty good here, but your work is just so wonderful and colorful that it cheers the heart to see it. It’s interesting about hobbies, how we go from one to the other in life. Keeps things interesting. Hope your weather is better and you are having a lovely weekend.

      • katechiconi says:

        From your mouth to God’s ear, as my mother used to say. Sadly, He is busy smiting just now; we are going to get the Big Blow after all, it seems, although if we’re lucky we will not be in the 26okph (160mph) centre of it, only out on the 160kph (100mph) fringe. Tomorrow will be spent tying things down and putting things away so they don’t end up in the next state.

      • I will say some extras for you. Those are seriously mean storms. I’ll be looking for updates from you.

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ll probably put something out just before she arrives, with the latest prognosis.

  18. Great minds think alike. I made a crochet hook case recently too – another thing on my must-get-around-to-posting-on-my-blog list.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve finally reached the point where I need to consider making one for myself. I’ve gone from 2 to 7 hooks in one fell swoop, and there’s no more space in my pencil mug for them.

Leave a Reply

