Oh……rats!

I do hate wasting time and effort.

Quilters will look at this photo and quickly understand what I’m talking about. Yup, I’d pin basted the whole thing before I noticed*.

I spent a solid 15 minutes trying to think of ways to avoid unpinning it all and doing it all over again. I couldn’t think of a satisfactory solution, especially as this my Secret Sewing, a bonus quilt which will be donated to Ovarian Cancer Australia once it’s done and the finalised pattern has been revealed by Teresa at Sewn Up. I’m just not OK about a very obvious fix-up on the back. So I unpinned the whole thing, gnashing my teeth as I went, and rearranged things and pinned it all. Again.

It’s OK this time, I’ve checked. Three times, to be exact.

Still, it’s down off the design wall, it’s ready to quilt, and that means I’ve been able to put up and arrange all the TWX blocks I have so far. Three still needed, two on their way from Margaret at The Crafty Creek. Once I have those, I’ll make the final one, and then I can start sandwiching and quilting the blocks.

And once that’s done, I’ll be able to spend some quality time on Miz Lizzie and her interior décor 🙂

*For the non-quilters, I’d laid out the backing of the quilt back to front, so the seams were on the outside… duh. In mitigation of my folly, this is the first time I’ve ever done it in over 10 years of quilting.

36 thoughts on “Oh……rats!

  1. It was hard to tell what the problem was from the first pic – maybe my screen resolution isn’t great. Making mistakes keeps us humble 🙂

  2. We’ve all been there…..but I have to say your reverse looks very neat!! Oh and Kate I meant to comment when you were on your recent travels with Miz Lizzie how much I enjoyed travelling along with you. I always enjoy it when quilters take their readers along for their holidays so you get to see places that in all likelihood you’re never going to see yourself. I shall look forward to your next trip.

    • katechiconi says:

      We’re going for a much longer trip at the beginning of May, down to my old home town and its surroundings. I’ll be taking the Husband around all my favourite beauty spots and haunts, so it should make for some good posts 🙂

  3. manicmumdays says:

    Oh man, what a pain!! But at least you noticed before quilting!

  4. knitnkwilt says:

    Ah how I hate those moments! For me it is usually sewing on the right side instead of the wrong side.

  5. claire93 says:

    just thank your lucky stars you saw the back before you started quilting ^^

  6. tialys says:

    Eek! How big is the quilt?

  7. Having had to dismantle a garment recently that I had just over-locked together I sympathise. I had, inexplicably, got the waistband attached inside out!

  8. mlmcspadden says:

    I can totally understand as I’m in a very similar position at the moment with a commissioned quilt – got it all basted and then realized that there were a couple of pleats in the backing! Not to mention I’d turned the quilt top the wrong way on the batting, oops…..big sigh….. Gonna try to work out the pleats w/o unpinning all of it.

  9. This is the kind of thing that makes me think, well, I’ll never do THAT again. Because it is memorable enough that I’ll check first! So, a good lesson. Count it as that and it’s a small thing. 🙂

  10. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    mistakes are made so you can learn from them…

  11. anne54 says:

    I suspect that my reaction would have been to throw it into a corner and gone for a sulk for a week or two! I admire your grit to spend the half day rectifying the problem.

    On another note…..your beautiful nest arrived yesterday!! It is such an amazing thing, and I am looking forward to painting it. I may try it in oil pastel. Thank you. xxx

    • katechiconi says:

      I confess I stood there like a stunned mullet for a good minute, mentally slapping myself around the chops for being such a total idiot. Luckily it was easily (if not quickly) fixed…
      Oh, the nest! I’m so glad it arrived safely. I found the textures that clever tiny bird had woven together were fascinating, and had a bit of fun trying to identify what everything was. She’d made good use of the fallen leaves from our acacia, long strips of sugarcane fibre, and there are definitely some finch and whistling duck feathers in there too!

  12. kathyreeves says:

    Nooooooooo! I feel for you!

  13. Lynda says:

    Hoo-boy. I would have had to set it aside and then come back to tackle it another day. So glad you noticed before you quilted it!

Leave a Reply

