I just can’t help myself

I think it must be a character defect. I just can’t seem to control it these days.

I’m talking about doing fabric pulls and starting new projects with three already on the go and nowhere near complete. I have the Secret Sewing job, the TWX Ovarian Cancer quilt to get done by the start of May, and Sea Glass. And that doesn’t even take into account the Hat-box BM&I quilt, the Anemone ScrapHappy quilt, my embroidery, and two entire sets of F²F quilt blocks waiting to be assembled. I have never in my entire life had such a log-jam.

So I’m knuckling down to get at least the Secret Sewing quilt top completed. Not too much left to do still, but it’s meticulous work and I want to get it right. Quilting will be very straightforward and simple, so I hope to have it done in a week or two. Then I’ll have to get cracking on TWX. There are a couple of blocks still to come in, but I can certainly start sandwiching and quilting the ones I have. My lovely SIL is, she promises, happy to wait for Sea Glass, which is perhaps just as well…

Anyway, no prizes for guessing what the fabric pull is for. Yup, a pair of bunk quilts for Lizzie. Simple pieced squares, some small, some larger; dark and light blues, taupes, greys and creams and pale brownish pinks. Nice.

Now, let’s see how long I can hold out before I succumb to the urge to start pressing and cutting.

36 thoughts on “I just can’t help myself

  1. mlmcspadden says:

    I totally understand! I’m juggling 3 different commissioned quilts, have an American Heroes quilt in process (still making blocks), and have 4 new block patterns designed that I need to make sample blocks so I can finish the patterns, and then there is the BOM that I need to keep working on…..sigh……. And now I’m thinking about what to do with fall colored scraps that already have the fusible web ironed on to them……bad me.

    • katechiconi says:

      You just have to pick one and crack on, don’t you? For me, it’s a simple choice, the Secret Sewing is something I’ve promised to someone else and therefore takes priority over all the other ‘funnerer’ stuff. Plus it’s a lovely project, and I want to get it done! But I just can’t seem to stop fingering the blue and white stuff…

  2. I would have a hard time not getting started on that beautiful fabric as well. Loved the seashells and birds.

  3. Oh, I know how you feel!! Starting a project is always so much fun….it is the continuation of the project that is the tricky part:). Lucky Lizzy!!

  4. tialys says:

    Good fabric (and/or yarn) and a new project are hard to resist.
    Having recently re-learned crochet I’m a bit obsessed with it at the moment but have my friendship braid quilt, hatbox wall hanging, knitted blanket and knitted jacket – not to mention my contribution to the Travelling Sketchbook – all needing to be finished. A system of priority needs to be introduced I feel :/

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve decided the only decent thing to do is to complete projects which have a deadline or have been promised to someone else for a particular event or reason. After that, I can play with all my ‘whenever’ stuff. So, it’s Secret Sewing, followed by TWX, followed by Sea Glass, with other things happening on the side as time allows.

  5. knitnkwilt says:

    Of course I would never do a thing like that. (Do you believe me?)

  6. craftycreeky says:

    A kindred spirit 🙂 Life would be boring with only one project at a time!

    • katechiconi says:

      Very true, but I’d sort of got used to finishing the occasional project before I started the next one… Never mind. I’m not far off finishing one of them.

  7. rutigt says:

    Your Miz Lizzie is gonna be the prettiest caravan in the neighbourhood!

  8. You are a finisher. They will all get done. Be patient with yourself!

    Last night I told my son — IN PERSON!!! — that I still haven’t quilted the quilt for his girlfriend. He shrugged and said it was okay, she doesn’t know she is waiting for it. I have a number of things either actively in process, or just waiting to be the very next thing. And there are a handful more behind them. AND there are new projects I mean to start!!! So far this year, we’re nearly in mid-March (okay, not really, but close to it in my brain) and I have not finished a single quilt. That feels weird. But of course, I may be finished 4 this month. (That would be great!!)

    (Yes, we saw Son last night, and almost for sure will see him this evening, too. Then it won’t be again probably until August.)

    • katechiconi says:

      What a treat to have your boy home 🙂 And I know you’re right about getting it all done, it’s just that normally I have better self control about these things. I’ve let things get a bit out of hand, but I WILL catch up.

  9. dayphoto says:

    I’ll bet you won’t hold out long! 🙂

  10. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    Well if you have a character defect it is a nice one ! love that fabric with the shells and the birds and all the blue ones you are showing, your Lizzy is going to be the prettiest girl on wheels !

  11. kathyreeves says:

    Kate, you are definitely a finisher, but I know how it feels when things start to over run! I have several things lying in my sewing room, and finally took myself in hand to do one task for each session to get things moving out the door. I have no doubt photos of your finished projects will be showing up in my reader in the very near future! Love those fabrics you pulled😀

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m getting there with the secret project, one more block to make and then a bit of assembly and the top will be done. Simple backing, simple quilting, and some binding, which I enjoy. Job done, and onto the next!

  12. Lynda says:

    Kate, it is a dilemma, and yet we persist in doing it again and again. I have four on the table in various stages, and quite a few ideas pulled, bagged and waiting for the day when I can grab one and get on it. At least I have the control not to open one of the bags until these are completed… well, so far…

    Perhaps we do it because we need a break from the task at hand? A little tease to get the juices flowing again, and then back to the job and a finish to take us on to the next creation? Does that make sense?

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope it is just a temporary diversion, and not symptoms of incipient butterfly-brain, where I can’t focus and concentrate on the project in hand, but must always be flitting from thing to thing, and starting new jobs all the time without ever finishing. I think I must knuckle down and get one or two of the existing jobs done, and then I’ll feel better 🙂

  13. magpiesue says:

    I spent a week or more collecting fabric for the wedding quilt, all excited about starting it. Now that I have it in hand, ready to go, I’m becalmed. The embroidery piece is nearly complete but I haven’t been able to pick it up to finish for several days now. I indulged in a full day of fiction yesterday. Hopefully that will be sufficient to get me moving again. All this is to say I think I’d rather be where you are than where I am!

    • katechiconi says:

      I had a half fiction-half stitchin’ day yesterday, unable to resist a new library book. Today I have to clean the house, or as much of it as my energy will allow. Any time left over will go to the SAL, which is due on Sunday. So I’m kind of in the same place, a bit stalled!

  14. An overload of creative drive! But I think you are pretty good at finishing what you start, am I right? Just reading about all your projects is almost too much for me right now 😦

Leave a Reply

