Bickies for Miz Lizzie

… or if you’re one of my transatlantic friends, Cookies.

lizzie-bickies-1I was standing in the post office queue today, waiting to send a parcel off to a friend, and my wandering eye caught sight of some-thing. Australia Post sells post-related gift items at certain times of the year, and those that don’t sell at the right time are usually greatly marked down. And so it was with this. A wonderful old-fashioned biscuit tin, with embossed replica stamps on the lid, featuring that subject currently very close to my heart, caravans! It was even in a suitable colour scheme to go with Miz Lizzie’s planned interior. Talk about serendipity…

lizzie-bickies-2The four stamps feature Australian caravanning in the ’50s, ’60s, ’70s and ’80s, with iconic ‘vans and cars of the era. Sadly, I’m unable to test the contents, but the Husband tells me he’ll be able to deliver a verdict on the chocolate chip cookies inside in, say, a week or so. He’s such a hero! Once the bickies have been abolished, I will use it for something in Miz Lizzie’s kitchen, elegantly displayed on the counter.

Perhaps even bickies that I can eat too… :-/

60 thoughts on “Bickies for Miz Lizzie

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    Aren’t you glad you were at the PO today! Love those old fashioned glimpses into fashion as well as car and camper. A fun find indeed!

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! And the wonderful thing is that there are still loads of those vintage camping trailers around. There are dozens of blogs devoted to renovating the vintage ones, and some of them are quite incredible. I’m fortunate I don’t need to go that way; just a few curtains and covers.

  2. tialys says:

    Fantastic and how apt. Plus, it’s always good to have an excuse to use the word ‘serendipity’ 🙂

  3. norma says:

    It’s great – I would have bought it & I don’t have a camper van

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    Fabulous tin, it had to be yours.

  5. manicmumdays says:

    oooh that’s a bit cute hey!

    • katechiconi says:

      It sure is, and what’s more, those were real stamps, that came out in December 2007. I’d love to get some and frame them, but I suspect they might be a bit pricey for just a decoration.

  6. claire93 says:

    what a find! I’d have bought them just for the tin too lol.

  7. Clare says:

    Is bickies short for biscuits?

  8. dayphoto says:

    That would be nice if the cookies were gluten free!!!

  9. I have a bit of a tin obsession. I try to give things in tins when I can but there are a few I can’t part with, including a fairy tin someone gave me when I was a kid. It’s around here somewhere.

  10. magpiesue says:

    Like Laura I’m a tin fanatic. This one you found at the PO couldn’t be more perfect for you! (Well, if it had gluten free cookies maybe.) Just this morning I walked into my studio to find a tin my hubby had just emptied of Reed’s ginger candies. It’s clean and ready for me to fill with some little treasure. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Husbands can be considerate that way 🙂 I have a tall, narrow chocolate gingers tin with an airtight seal and spring clip. It’s perfect for my curry spices because it keeps the aromas locked up inside instead of permeating the whole pantry. We don’t have Altoids here, but I’d love a bunch of those tins for tiny stuff…

      • magpiesue says:

        At one time I had a little collection of those type of tins. If I’d known I’d have sent them to you! (I think I gave them to my daughter for her daughters to put to use somehow.) Maybe the next time I empty one I’ll remember to pass it on to you. But don’t hold your breath!

      • katechiconi says:

        It’s a very kind thought, and if you do happen think of it, I’d love a couple…

  11. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    well that is one pretty box !! maybe you can bake some cookies for yourself and fill the tin 😀

  12. Great find. You never know what you’ll see in those bins while standing in the AusPost queue.

  13. kathyreeves says:

    It’s absolutely perfect for Miz Lizzie!

  14. Chris S in Canada says:

    Isn’t that just amazing? When I’m standing in line almost anywhere I look for the sales bins because quite often I find something that is perfect for a gift or it fills a need for myself or someone I know. Sometimes it is out of season, but often things can be tucked away for the right time.

    I was going to suggest checking the website for the post office, because here in Canada you can get “special” first day sheets or fun stuff like that. Having that framed will be a great decorating touch for Miz Lizzie and the link to your husband’s childhood vacations just makes it sweeter.

    Have fun making sure the bickie tin is full every time you go adventuring!
    Chris S in Canada

    • katechiconi says:

      Checking the displays either side of the queue is a national sport in Australia! The Post Office sells the most amazing range of stuff! The Husband has ordered me a First Day Cover of the stamps (for a very reasonable price, I must say), and once it arrives I’ll be able to frame and hang it. I’m having so much fun, I can’t tell you!

  15. Lynda says:

    I love this one! So glad your hubby could save you and eat the contents (mine does this for me too). And yes, it is the perfect thing for your kitchen on the go.

    • katechiconi says:

      You have to admire his noble self-sacrifice, don’t you? In fact, he’s taken half of the contents to work to leave them on the break-room table with a ‘Help Yourself’ note….

  16. rutigt says:

    What a beautiful box!!!! Perfect for Miz Lizzie! Never mind the cookies. Just enjoy the box 🙂

  17. I would buy the tins even without the cookies. Those are so cute!!!!

  18. I love that tin! Serendipity indeed: the perfect color and motif, on-sale and what a collection of vans. Funny, this, but I just now connected the term “van” with caravan. Here folks use the term “camping” or “RVing”, short for recreational vehicle, with a van designated for what the moms drive to and from soccer practice and school. Now it all makes sense. Congratulations on your wonderful find.

    • katechiconi says:

      There are loads of different names for the vehicles we camp in, aren’t there: camper van for the VW Kombi, camper trailer, which is what Australians call those things that sprout a tent on top and wings either side with beds in them, then there are pop-top caravans (like Miz Lizzie), caravans and then RVs. It’s a time honoured tradition in this country to abbreviate everything, so ‘caravan’ becomes ‘van’. What you call a van, we’d call either a wagon or a people mover… In theory, we’re speaking the same language. In practice…..

      • In theory…LOL. Our book club recently read a book set in Scotland, where the main character bought a “van” and then set it up as a traveling used bookstore. She went on to describe how she furnished it with a corner for bean bag chairs. My brain could not figure out how a van had room for standing, let alone a book store. As for the book, great title and premise, but a complete let down. It was light-weight and predictable and in the end devolved into a silly love story. I did like the book van, though.

      • katechiconi says:

        I suppose it could have been one of those large, tall enclosed delivery vans, like a Ford Sprinter. Lots of people turn those into campers, but they’re a bit too wee for my taste. Give me a Lizzie any day 🙂

Leave a Reply

