TWX 9: dark and gorgeous, and a gift

When we got home yesterday, there was a squishy waiting!

I’d been hoping it would arrive before we left, but the joint actions of France’s La Poste and Australia Post meant I had to wait and see what was coming. Anticipation is supposed to sharpen enjoyment, and in this case my enjoyment was acute! Lynn of Tialys had come up trumps in more ways than one 🙂

miz-lizzie-key-fobFirst there was this completely gorgeous key fob, which you see already adorning Miz Lizzie’s bunch of keys. She’d gone with the camper theme, and I so love that ribbon… The clip that holds it is nice and sturdy too; I think the key bunch is going to get a good workout over the next few years and I’m sure it won’t fall apart.

Then there were these two beauties, ‘dark’ blocks for the TWX quilt, to help form the central dark X of the quilt motif. Don’t you love the bee and dragonfly fabric she’s used on the one on the left? And the postage stamp X on the right has scraps of all kinds of beautiful teal fabrics; I especially love the tiny flashes of red and gold.

lynn3 lynn4

 

 

 

 

 

I have a bit of sewing to do before I can clear the design wall and start putting the TWX blocks up, but today’s clear-up day. If the rain ever stops, I’ll be going out to Miz Lizzie to clean, sweep, wash up, strip the bunks, clean the windows and shoo out the ants that have been attracted by the contents of the now empty fridge. Of course, if it carries on raining, some of that will have to wait.

I think the Bureau of Meteorology has soggy news; cleanup will have to be a pleasure deferred…

24 thoughts on “TWX 9: dark and gorgeous, and a gift

  1. manicmumdays says:

    Wow! Some beauties there!

  2. tialys says:

    I’m glad you like them. I had forgotten about that dragonfly and bee fabric – I must find something else to make with it now I’ve rediscovered it.

  3. norma says:

    Very exciting parcel – I love it when there are surprises.

  4. claire93 says:

    gorgeous blocks and what a snazzy keychain! well done to Lynn!

    • katechiconi says:

      The fob has the advantage of making the keys stand out from all the others in our key box; no more laborious label reading, just grab the Lizzie tag and go!

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    What a key fob! Brilliant.

  6. kathyreeves says:

    Ooooo! So much to love in that envelope!

  7. rutigt says:

    I love that key fob! VW buses has always had a big part in my heart since I was young! The blocks are also great and yes, the bee and dragonfly fabric is gorgeous!

  8. magpiesue says:

    What a great fob! The blocks ain’t bad either. 😉

  9. I had to read through all the comments before I realized what a squishy package was. You stay incredibly busy and connected around the world with this quilt project. I love that key fob! Lynn is also quite talented. I bought one of her fabulous quilt boxes for a friend’s birthday but I won’t be delivering it till early April, so I’m saving he blog post till then.

    • katechiconi says:

      Lynn does make some wonderful things, and I was honoured to be asked to test one of her box patterns a while ago. I’ve made it twice now, and both times it has turned out brilliantly.
      The Ovarian Cancer Quilt projects are the result of the F2F group losing one of our number to ovarian cancer. I promised Pat that I would carry the torch and continue to raise funds to support research into this silent killer. It has been a privilege to do so, and I’ve been touched by how many of my blogging friends have offered to contribute each time. TWX will be finished soon, and then I have to come up with a new name and new theme for the next one!

      • That is an honor indeed. I’ve enjoyed opening and closing the box a few times, and love the little treasures she tucked inside. It’s for my friend Marcia who is a breast cancer survivor. She is also an accomplished seamstress, quilter, knitter, etc. I know she’ll love it.

        It’s good of you, Kate, to continue the OCQ in Pat’s memory. I love the idea of a group of women contributing pieces for the whole. I lost track of a blogger who’s collecting knitted squares to create blankets for Syrian refugee children. Yet another reason to learn crochet is to contribute to something like that.

        I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

      • katechiconi says:

        Two more blocks, and I’ll be ready to finalise a layout! Meanwhile, I really need to start quilting the individual blocks or I won’t have it ready in time. Nothing complicated, just wavy lines…

      • Do you have one of those long-arm quilting machines. I’ve seen them in action in shops. They’re quite amazing.

      • katechiconi says:

        No, they cost tens of thousands, and take up loads of room, neither of which I have! I do all my quilting on a fairly small domestic machine, and have never paid anyone to quilt for me either. You can do amazing things on a long arm, but I’ll stick with what I have.

      • I had no idea they were so expensive! I guess I just looked without pricing them. I used to work in a costume shop with industrial machines, and got used to the speed and the extra room under the needle. At home I have a used Bernina, a gift from my husband several years ago. I’m still learning how to use it.

      • katechiconi says:

        If I had the space and the money, I’d probably get one, but on the whole, I think I’d prefer a mid-arm, because you get to sit down while you work, and my back isn’t up to long hours standing up 🙂

Leave a Reply

