Bee, Myself and I #12

The end of the month has come quickly this time!

hatbox-21 hatbox-22 hatbox-20Of course, February is shorter than all the other months, but even so, I’ve been madly busy. Not too busy to get my lovely hat-boxes done, though… You’ll remember that Lynn from Tialys and I are making hatbox blocks together; I’m doing it so I keep going till I’ve got enough to finish the quilt, and Lynn because she’s started making a wall-hanging for her bedroom, using fabulous Liberty prints.

We worked out that three blocks a month was workable and not too demanding of our time. And once the blocks are made, we can continue to encourage each other through the Quilt As You Go assembly process. I suspect that with 36 blocks rather than 12, I’ll be needing a lot more time and a lot more nagging encouragement… We shall see.

I particularly like the fabrics on the top two boxes. A little bit of hippy-chick fun, and the colours work in really well with the rest of the collection.  If you want a reminder of what all the previous ones look like, take a look at the photo below.

hatbox-halfway-collage-3

Bee, Myself and I is a forum for ‘selfish sewing’; any stitchery which is purely for pleasure and not for anyone else. The original concept belongs to Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl. To find out more, you can click through on either her blog link, or using the button in the left hand column

And that’s my BM&I post for this month. See you in March 🙂

27 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #12

  1. tialys says:

    Another three beauties! The fabric on the third one is particularly unusual – are they feathers?

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, it’s a Phillip Jacobs print for Westminster Fabrics, and it’s the grey/lilac version, my favourite colourway for that fabric. He also did the shells I’ve used before. My personal favourite of these three is the second one; I’m a sucker for paisley!

  2. mlmcspadden says:

    love that first print and the colors in it. Wouldn’t mind having a piece of it myself. =)

  3. nanacathy2 says:

    I so love your hat boxes.

  4. kathyreeves says:

    The hat boxes are the perfect medium to show off some wonderfully unusual prints. I love the riot of color against the neutral background. You are so good at mixing and matching fabrics, Kate!

    • katechiconi says:

      Lots of choice and lots of fun auditioning the combinations. And because the hatboxes don’t take a lot of fabric, I end up with some wonderfully generous scraps!

  5. What fun these are! I’m glad you’re doing a project just for you. You deserve it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I think I’m going to be rather selfish about the finished quilt too, and no-one else will be allowed to use it…. Sometimes a project really grabs you that way. Most of the time, I’m glad to make for other people, though.

  6. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    they are absolutely beautiful !!! did you take your quilting with you on holliday ??

  7. magpiesue says:

    This quilt is going to be so much fun to see finished!

  8. norma says:

    Such an effective block – it’ll be great as a finished quilt.

  9. rutigt says:

    Great fabrics on all three hatboxes I think! Love the blue fabric on top and the feather fabric is fun!

  10. Your hatbox collection is really growing, isn’t it!

  11. They have turned out lovely. Yes, Feb did go very quickly. Time flies faster as you get older. 😦

Leave a Reply

