Miz Lizzie 2: a pile of goodies

It turns out I won’t get to play with her over the weekend, boo!

They’ve tested the aircon, which is working fine, but the brackets the unit’s mounted on inside its cupboard are worn and the thing makes a huge din when it’s working. New brackets will take till Monday to arrive, so while we’ll get the handover and electric braking fitted to the car on Friday, Miz Lizzie herself will not be available till Monday afternoon. It’s good the problem’s getting fixed, but not so good that I have to wait, as patience is not my strong suit…

Meanwhile, I went to Spotlight to buy fabric for seat covers and curtains, based on what I could remember of the sizes. Their 20% off sale finished yesterday, so I had to do it quickly to get the reduction. I’ve got the fabrics I wanted, ticking for the seat covers and a lovely seaside themed print for the curtains. Luckily I remembered the sizes quite well, as when I went back the next day to measure the actual seats and windows, it turns out I’ve got just about enough. I can always get a metre or so more at full price if I run short.

curtain-cushion-fabricscurtain-fabric-scaleWhile we were standing in the queue for the cutting desk, clutching the two huge rolls of fabric, the Husband said “Have you seen those tiny little cheap sewing machines over there? Β Do you think you could use one for the caravan?” Er, silly question, my darling… you really need to ask? Only $99, too.

lilibetSo here’s my baby Singer, Lilibet. Isn’t she little and cute? She weighs only 4.4kg (9.5 pounds). She’s got straight, zigzag, invisible hemming, edge-finishing and decorative scallop stitches as well as buttonhole stitching. There’s stitch width and length adjustment, and a reverse lever. She has regular, zipper and buttonhole feet, and a cover for the feed dogs for quilting. That’s plenty. She doesn’t have lock stitch or needle down buttons or speed control, but I can work around that. So while we’re gallivanting around the countryside, I can carry on with whatever project I’m currently sewing πŸ™‚ The Husband’s a treasure, isn’t he?

Meanwhile, bloke-type presents are also being bought for our new baby: power cords, amperage converters, that sort of stuff. We have 10 days before we go away, and just about enough time to get everything sorted. I won’t have time to do the curtains and covers, either, but it’ll give me a chance to see whether I’ll need blackout lining, and if the bed cushions need more padding, that sort of thing.

Time to do some proper sewing, I think, instead of petting my fabrics….

60 thoughts on “Miz Lizzie 2: a pile of goodies

  1. anne54 says:

    It all sounds like so much fun, Kate! i didn’t realise you were off so soon. Fab way to test out Mizz Lizzie.
    I watched “Home delivery” the other week and Julia was interviewing Catherine Freeman, who comes from McKay. It was lovely to see your town and the beautiful river.

  2. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    I love the fabric with the birds and the seashells !!!

  3. Love the seaside fabric. Love the husband’s insight even more.

  4. magpiesue says:

    Perfect fabric choices! What a treasure your hubby is. πŸ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      The ‘van interior is grey/white and blue/grey, with a taupe/blue/grey vinyl floor. The colour and fabric choice more or less invented itself! And I am very, very fortunate to have such a thoughtful Husband πŸ™‚

  5. claire93 says:

    that seagull fabric is brilliant and so is your new machine ^^

  6. Thimberlina says:

    The husband’s a treasure indeed!! Hope you have a fab trip 😎

  7. craftycreeky says:

    Love the curtain fabric! My mum’s got a mini Janome, she loves it, Lillibet will be perfect for sewing on your travels πŸ™‚

  8. Love the fabrics you selected. Men like to buy things for us so they feel better about what they spend money on. πŸ˜‰ Make sure to give the little machine a workout before you travel with it to check for any hitches in it. I hate to get somewhere and have things not work as expected. What is patience? πŸ™‚

  9. Your new baby sewing machine does nearly as much as my 34-year-old Singer, which has done me proud for all that time. How lovely to have a little machine to travel with. I love that seaside-themed fabric – sure to put you in the holiday mood!

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope Lilibet will still be helping me make things in 30 years too. But given the state of my hands and eyes, perhaps not! Still, at least the failure will be mine and not hers… Simpler machines can often last much better than the complicated ones.

  10. tialys says:

    For some reason, this reminds me of when I was a little girl and I got some Sindy clothes for Christmas but a frantic search of my pillowcase revealed no Sindy doll. Mum told me I would be getting one for my birthday – which is in June!! Later, when the family all met up at my Nan’s house, my Aunt had bought me the doll but I really thought I’d have to wait six months. You won’t have to wait so long but, in the meantime, you can start to play around a bit with Miz Lizzie’s ‘clothes’ and imagine what she’ll look like when she can wear them (my memories are still raw – can you tell? πŸ˜‰ )
    What a thoughtful husband you have – most would probably have shuffled slowly past the mini sewing machine display trying to block it from view.

    • katechiconi says:

      It is summed up perfectly in the phrase “all dressed up and nowhere to go”… We’ve done some serious window shopping today, looking at things we’re going to need and working out the best place to buy them. My feet are killing me! The Husband really is the best, isn’t he…?

  11. Exciting times ahead and the hubby is a bloody gem.

  12. nanacathy2 says:

    I think I am in love with those fabrics.!

    • katechiconi says:

      I KNOW I am…. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to get started with them, but as we don’t get the ‘van till Monday, I won’t be able to get any of the covers done before we go away. Best not to rush it!

  13. I think any Husband with that attitude is a keeper. You will have so much fun. Will you travel with other couples? Enjoy.

  14. Moira says:

    Great fabrics and a keeper of a husband! Enjoy the coming trip in the caravan. =)

  15. dayphoto says:

    How fun! Now you can make curtains and whatever while you travel!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! And mend the ripped pants and the frayed towels and shorten the hems on things so I don’t look like a 12 year old in her mother’s clothes… But mostly, I’ll be piecing patchwork, I suspect!

  16. Great that you have a trip planned so soon, to get a taste of van life. Love the decorating theme β™‘

    • katechiconi says:

      We were going anyway, but with the bike. But it seemed like too good an opportunity to miss, and will certainly show us where we need to add, subtract or change things… I really can’t live with the existing covers and curtains. They’re not feral, just very ugly and in the case of the curtains, thick, bodgy and badly made. They’ll have to do for this first trip, but not after that!

  17. ladyredspecs says:

    you’ll love having a caravan Kate but do you really think you’ll have time to use Lillibet? I’d lay odds fresh air, sunshine, sight seeing and relaxing will take up all your time

    • katechiconi says:

      I think there might be some super-wet or super-hot afternoons when a spot of stitching in the cool sounds just the business… I don’t think she’ll be coming on our inaugural trip on Saturday week, but we have a longer one in May and I’m sure she’ll come into play then πŸ™‚

  18. I love ticking, and the seaside print goes just right with it. Enjoy your new tiny sewing machine — may your tension always run smoothly! πŸ˜‰

  19. kathyreeves says:

    LOVE your fabrics and your new toys!!!

  20. Mazes TiVo on the caravan and the new little machine! I am sure you will be having great fun with both. Enjoy your upcoming trip!

    • katechiconi says:

      The trip is going to be reliably good fun, we’ve done it several times before, but always before we camped with canvas. This is the first time with a solid roof over our heads!

  21. rutigt says:

    That is really a cute sewing machine!!!! But I thought you were going on vacation, LOL! Lucky you who got a new sewing machine πŸ™‚ Yes, husbands are the best!

    • katechiconi says:

      Sewing is fun, so I’m allowed to do it on vacation. Mending, now that’s another story…. I don’t thing Lilibet will come with me on this first trip, I’ll be too busy, but on a longer one, yes, definitely.

  22. Lynda says:

    Kate, I missed this post! Thank goodness we have search capabilities with WP. Love your fabric. Your husband is too good! Mine wouldn’t even have registered the mini machine in the first place let alone tell me to get one if he had. Oh, but I can’t be too hard on him, he has his own special qualities.

    • katechiconi says:

      Mine is unusual, I agree… But to each her own; he might not suit somebody else πŸ™‚ We’re sitting in Miz Lizzie after our first meal in her, looking around and trying to work out the best place to keep stuff. I’ve had to repack the crockery once already as I can’t get at it with the pop-top down during a short stop. Lunch was eaten off paper towels!

      • Lynda says:

        Paper towels are good for most foods… might prefer a bowl for soups and casseroles perhaps. πŸ˜‰

        Is that what the handles hanging off the ceiling are for? (something else I missed)

      • katechiconi says:

        The handles are for pushing up the pop-top. With the roof down, it’s only 5’5″ high inside, fine for me but not so great for the Husband. Once up, it goes up to 6’6″ and the handles go up so you don’t bash your head on them! Too much of a palaver to put it up on short stops, so I’m the one who goes in to fix lunch πŸ™‚

  23. Jen Gardener says:

    Aw, Lilibet is super cute! The husband had no hope of you walking out of spotlight without her!

  24. Kirsten says:

    I’ve often looked at the Β£50 machines and wondered if they were worth it, so please let me know how she fairs. Of course I don’t have a caravan to keep one in … πŸ˜€

    • katechiconi says:

      This is a Singer, so a reasonable brand. I’ve given her a test drive, and while she’s a bit louder and slightly more ‘abrupt’ than my $600 machine, she gets the job done. She’s very small and light, too. Of course, if I’m going to be making quilts on board, I’m going to need a mini iron board and iron too….

Leave a Reply

