ScrapHappy February

Already! Time goes so fast…

Once again, it’s the day my friend Gun in Sweden and I host ScrapHappy, a day for showing something made from scraps.

Well, I’ve been working on several other and more urgent projects, so my progress on the Anemone scrappy quilt hasn’t been so very impressive. I’ve been stitching assembled hexie flowers into an ever-increasing piece.

The worst thing is that my lovely camera has decide to go on strike and I simply cannot get it to take a photo with auto focus switched on so that images are crisp. It’ll have to go into hospital tomorrow, where hopefully a nice man will twiddle a couple of switches and tell me “You had the bftrglsgl operating at ISO 3 million and the aperture at 700, and you didn’t stand on one leg while pressing the shutter button in halfway, so of course it wouldn’t focus”. And I shall feel like a fool and accept his scorn and the fix gratefully… because truthfully, I should inform myself better about this camera’s amazing abilities. But all I want it to do is take a decent, in-focus image with minimum fuss. And up to now, it has obliged me.

Here’s where I’ve got to (not too hideous, mostly in-focus photo taken with my phone instead…):

anemone-phone-1

And this is how it looked before, so progress hasn’t been too shabby. Yes, I do know it’s upside down compared with how I showed it before, but I find I now prefer it this way 🙂  I shall also refrain from making and showing new hexie flowers till all the ones I have are sewn in. It’s getting too confusing trying to work out which ones are new, and which you’ve seen before!

anemone-start-of-assemblyScrapHappy is open to anyone using up scraps – no new fabrics. It can be a random or formal quilt block, a pillow or pincushion, a bag or hat, a collage or rag rug. Anything made of scraps is eligible. If your scrap collection is out of control and you’d like to turn them into some-thing beautiful instead of leaving them to collect dust in the cupboard, why not join us on the 15th of each month? Either email me at the address shown on my Contact Me page, or leave a comment below. You can also contact Gun via her blog to join. You don’t have to worry about a long term commitment or even join in every month, just let either of us know a day or so in advance if you’re new and you’ll have something to show, so we can add your link.

Here are the links for everyone who joins ScrapHappy from time to time (they may not post every time, but their blogs are still worth looking at):

Usually has a scrappy post:

Gun at https://rutigt.wordpress.com (in Swedish and English)

Titti at http://tittisquiltlek.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Heléne at http://quiltochsom.blogspot.se (in Swedish only)

Sometimes has a scrappy post:

Eva at bambisyr-evaj.blogspot.com (in Swedish only)

Sue at sewingmagpie.blogspot.com (in English only)

Nanette at http://stitchandsow-homeandgarden.blogspot.com.au (in English only)

Lynn at https://thetialys.wordpress.com (in English only)

Norma at https://shesewsyouknow.wordpress.com (in English only)

Lynda at: https://pixilatedtoo.wordpress.com (in English only)

Birthe: http://birthesrom.blogspot.no (in Norwegian only)

Turid: http://densyendehimmel.blogspot.se (in English and Norwegian)

Susan: https://desertskyquilts.wordpress.com/ (in English only)

Cathy: http://nanacathydotcom.wordpress.com (in English only)

Debbierose: https://sewrosey.wordpress.com (in English only)

Tracy: https://itsatsweetsday.wordpress.com/ (in English only)

Jill: http://nicepieceofwork.wordpress.com/ (in English only)

Claire: https://knitnkwilt.wordpress.com/ (in English only)

Jan: http://thesnailofhappiness.com/ (in English only)

Karen: https://mewithptsd.wordpress.com/ (in English only)

Deb: https://abearsthimble.wordpress.com/ (in English only)

See you again, same time next month!

 

 

41 thoughts on “ScrapHappy February

  1. Coming along beautifully! Wish I had a ‘scrap’ of your talent!

  2. dayphoto says:

    I’m like you…I just want to take a photo without lots of fuss. Hope you get it all figured out before your lovely trip!

  3. craftycreeky says:

    Every time I see your scrap quilts I think I really must do one, my scrap pile is ever increasing 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Join ScrapHappy! It’s a low-pressure way to keep something like that just ticking along. I do a few hours on my ScrapHappy project every month, and that’s all it needs….

  4. tialys says:

    The 15th of the month seems to come around faster and faster! Good luck with your camera.

  5. kathyreeves says:

    The combination of solid black and the dots really looks good with those beautiful brights. Glad the camera is mended!!

  6. My scrappy projects are certainly getting some yarn used up that has been accumulating for years. I think I’ve made eight blankets so far for charity…it’s possibly embarrassing that I had accumulated so much yarn, but it’s lovely to use it for good causes. I do like your hexies… I have a soft spot for this traditional design.

  7. lovely lovely splashes of colour 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Even nicer in real life and with a decent camera 🙂 I have loads more hexies to add before I start making them up again, but there’s a growing stack of pretty fabric scraps waiting.

  8. […] with Kate for February Scrap Happy.  Do pop over there as there are links to lots of scrap Happy projects. And we all need […]

  9. rutigt says:

    Your photo is good and your hexie flowers are even better!

  10. nanacathy2 says:

    Looking so pretty, and I have a project to share this time.

  11. Lynda says:

    These are coming along nicely, Kate, and they do take a long time. (still plugging away on the table runner I started last year) I love how the use of the black and white fabric punctuates all the color that is happening in your hexies.

    I’m thinking maybe I should put a ring lamp by my recliner so I can work on mine while I watch TV? Then I can share mine on the next Scrap Happy. Q: the wool project is part scrap as I felted the wool from old clothes and the project will be lightly hand quilted. Does that count for here?
    PS: I have a Google translator on my page now. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I think the whole effect would be less interesting without the black and white…
      I think we’d love to see your scrappy wool project. I try not to have too many rules about what constitutes a scrap project; different people have different definitions. If YOU think it’s scrappy, then it is. And given that we’re now ScrapHappy of all nations, a translator is an excellent idea!

  12. claire93 says:

    a lovely bright flower garden

  13. magpiesue says:

    I know what you mean about how hard it is to tell in photographs where you were vs where the project is now. And I’m with you as far as wanting to be able to just push a button and get a great picture. I hope you won’t be without your “official” camera for too long.

    • katechiconi says:

      Tis fixed! Before I set off for the camera shop, I did some online hunting around to look for suggested fixes. It’s electronic, so there has to be communication between the lens and the on-board computer. Once I took the lens off and carefully cleaned both contacts, it started working again with no trouble.

  14. dezertsuz says:

    I love seeing your progress!

  15. mlmcspadden says:

    The hexie flowers are looking great! Love seeing it come together. Would you put me down for the scrappy roundup as well? I really need to get to work on using my scraps up…..lol…… And this would help me focus on them at least once a month. =)

  16. mommermom says:

    I popped over here on a recommendation and I’m definitely going to check out some of these blogs as my scrap pile is heaping. Thanks.

    • katechiconi says:

      You’re very welcome! For me, the trick has been to find a big something to make from my scraps, and just plug away gently at it each month till I have enough blocks or pieces for whatever I’m making. For others, it’s more motivating to make something quick and different each month.

      • mommermom says:

        I had found a pattern for sprocket pillows which used pie shaped scrap wedges to make the top of a pillow. I suppose if I made those pillows with the wedges on top and bottom I would only need a strip to go around the outside as they are about 3 inches wide X 15 inches long . I could make combinations to make a patchwork siding too……hmmmm…thanks for getting the creative juices moving! I had so much fun making those for grandchildren as gifts! I think I had photos of some on a blog post if you’re interested. 😊

      • katechiconi says:

        If you’re going to make one, do join ScrapHappy so we can all see it! You may inspire more of us to try your pillow design. They sound fun, and a great way of using up scraps. Let me know if you’d like to join in, and let me have an email address so I can add you to the reminder email I send out a few days before the post is due on 15th of each month. There’s no obligation to have anything ready, but a few of us always do; the rest join in from time to time…

  17. mommermom says:

    Thank you for the lovely invite. I have looked at your blogger participants-such creativity. If I do get serious about sewing again I definitely will reconnect. Thank you so much.

Leave a Reply

