TWX 8: we’re nearly there

Two more blocks in yesterday, this time from Esther.

esther-twx1 esther-twx2Beautiful fabrics – I’m especially in love with those tiny dragonflies!  This brings us up to 25 blocks in, and only 5 more needed to complete the quilt top. I know Margaret has promised a block or two, but I think after that I need to call a halt till I can get things laid out and see where we are and what we need. So unless you’ve already made and mailed a block, do hold off till I see if there are any gaps left! And if you’ve promised blocks but not yet sent them, don’t worry, there’s no big rush. This quilt doesn’t have to be finished till mid-April…

I’d like to thank all the contributors to Tealed With A Kiss (TWX) so far, many of them serial donors, who have given generously of their time and stash to create a thing of beauty for an excellent cause. They all do beautiful work and make lovely things, so I encourage you to click on their links and take a look.

Ali, Carla, Esther, Gun, Jenny, Kate B, Kathy, Lynn, Margaret,
Robin (who doesn’t have a blog), Sue and Tracy.

Once I get another project down off the design wall, I’ll be putting up the blocks to finalise the layout. More TWX coming soon!

 

18 thoughts on “TWX 8: we’re nearly there

  1. anne54 says:

    I can’t wait to see the whole thing. It must be beautiful!

  2. Yes, those dragonflies are adorable!

  3. tialys says:

    Hmm. I’ve got my ‘dark teal’ out on the cutting table – I was going to make an ‘X’ on a dark background this weekend. Shall I hold off until you’re ready?

    • katechiconi says:

      No, do send a dark one, as I’m more likely to need a few more of those. Thank you!

      • tialys says:

        O.K., I will fold my tresses back up (my WIP quilt) and get on with it – well, after I’ve been to lunch with a friend, done the food shopping and had my crochet lesson – it might be tomorrow! Jjust looking for an ‘X’ block pattern with enough of a background to show off the dark.

      • katechiconi says:

        You could do it as a postage stamp block, with just an X of lighter blocks for the cross?

  4. tialys says:

    Ooh, good idea – I haven’t done one of those for a while!

  5. kymlucas says:

    Continued thanks to all of you in supporting this project. I know Pat would be happy that such work goes on. ❤️ Love to everyone.

    • katechiconi says:

      Pat’s why we do it… Thank YOU too for your support and encouragement 🙂

      • kymlucas says:

        Will soon be anniversary of her death, so she’s been on my mind. So lovely that you have created such a legacy. ❤️

      • katechiconi says:

        It has been an honour to take up the reins in her name. I have a second quilt in the pipeline too, a pattern I’m testing which was more or less ‘meant’, and which I can show once the pattern is finalised and released. It’s good to be able to do something positive….

      • kymlucas says:

        I know. My Relay for Life team isn’t doing the event this year for the Cancer Society, so I’ve been looking for another. If I don’t find one, I may do the one Pat always walked — Outrun Ovarian Cancer (OROC). Would be good to do in her name.

  6. magpiesue says:

    I didn’t see the dragonflies until I clicked on the picture to make it bigger. It looked like a random scattering of V’s before! It will be fun to see how you lay this set out.

    • katechiconi says:

      I suppose it helps to see the actual block in front of me, because then the dragonflies are totally visible 🙂 I have a couple of blocks on the way, and then I can start laying out. By that time, the design wall should be free!

  7. rutigt says:

    Yes, I also like the dragonflies fabric! Now I´m gonna follow the links 🙂

Leave a Reply

