The 102nd thing to do with duct tape…

Did you know, there are dozens of books out there filled with duct-tape-related activities and crafts? Frightening, isn’t it?

I don’t own any of them, in case you were concerned. They all have titles like ‘101 Things To Create With Duct Tape’ or ‘Duct Tape Magic: Fun For All The Family’

Don’t worry. I’m not radically re-thinking the focus of this blog, I promise. But I am quite proud of my duct-taped transformation of something broken into some really useful.

base-empty base-storage-pockets-and-loops packed-base utensil-panel lid-storageIngredients:

  1. Husband’s very old and very broken tool case. It was about to go into the bin because it had cracked on the corner and would no longer stay closed, allowing all his tools, logbooks, etc, to make a sneaky break for freedom.

A pile of camping stuff. Plates, cups, cutlery, mess kit (fold up pan and dish set, to those without military family), napkins, condiments, utensils, etc, which needed organising and taming.

An old picnic hamper/insulated bag, ripped, bulky and badly designed inside, also destined for the bin.

A roll of duct tape.

Method

First I cleaned out the tool case (it’s still a bit dingy, but what do you expect after 7 years of hard life?). Then I duct-taped the cracked corner multiple times. It’ll hold just fine with just picnic stuff inside, as opposed to tools, wrenches, logbooks and manuals. After that, I took a craft knife to the old picnic bag and neatly sliced out all the heavy duty nylon panels that had the dinky Velcro® straps, elastic loops and pockets for plates, cutlery, etc.

Finally, it was time for Duct Tape Fun. One panel was taped into the lid, the other into the base. There’s a dinky sort of lift-out board/panel which clips into the lid, and it has pockets for wrenches, screwdrivers, etc kitchen utensils and teaspoons, etc. So far, so awesome.

Turns out everything I want to take by way of eating and cooking equipment fits neatly and perfectly into this old case. I am, as they say Down Under, rapt!

Best of all?  It takes up less room in the trailer than our previous storage solutions, it’s durable, and I saved something still useful from landfill. Thanks to duct tape….

 

33 thoughts on “The 102nd thing to do with duct tape…

  1. I get a kick out of finding solutions like that, too. Good job!

  2. itwasjudith says:

    Ingenious idea, absolutely fab result and many thanks from Mother Earth 🙂 win-win.
    I take my hat off!

  3. Loving the ingenuity and saving stuff from landfill, nice work Kate!

  4. magpiesue says:

    Wow! Good on you! We can get duct tape in pretty colors and prints over here. That would have been fun for a project like this.

  5. Love it ♡ So much satisfaction from creatively, purposefully making do.

  6. tialys says:

    Well done you – and I’ve learnt two new things today – there are books about duct tape, and it comes in different colours – my life is complete.

  7. What always makes me laugh is that some people think it is called duck tape. Millenials, mostly 🙂

  8. lucyannluna says:

    I love duct tape, it’s so useful & it comes in pretty colours too. So much of our equipment is fixed with duct tape! I think the girls think it’s giant washi tape for physics equipment & I have just given it a bit of a makeover!! Lol.

  9. Great solution you came up with. Yes, duct tape fixes many things. And they make lots of stuff out of it. I have Great Nieces that used them for crafts of all manner. We bought every color we could find for a Christmas gift so they had plenty to play with. Not a craft I want to get into though.I love what you did with it though.

    • katechiconi says:

      I once made a dress form using duct tape. You put on a tight cotton poloneck, and then get a friend to cover it with duct tape from neck to backside, stopping at the shoulders. When it’s done, you slice up the back, through the polo shirt, and exit rearwards. Trim off the excess shirt, stuff with newspaper, tape up the back again and voilà, instant dress form that’s an exact replica of your shape. If you haven’t got a proper dress form, and can’t afford to get one, it’s a good solution.

  10. dayphoto says:

    You are the most creative person I think I know!

    BRAVO!

    Linda

  11. rutigt says:

    My DH always keep saying: You can fix almost everything with Duct tape 🙂

Leave a Reply

