F²F² January round up

Slowly we are coming to the end of F²F².

Screen Shot 2015-03-14 at 7.32.54 pmThere’s a really beautiful array of blocks for Esther’s magenta/ green/cream colour choice in the gallery. It’s an unusual and sophisticated combination of shades and works brilliantly, so I think the finished quilt is going to be outstanding. Esther has not made her own blocks for this yet, I suspect she’s waiting to see all the others before she decides, and I believe they’re all in now.

February is Claire’s month. She’s been the first to mail her blocks almost every month, they’ve all been beautiful, and she’s waited patiently for her turn. Finally, it’s time! She’s chosen a bright and happy combination of blue, green and orange, based on what is for me a very familiar image – Australian rainbow lorikeets 🙂

As you’ll remember, this month is the last of the second F²F series – Sue and I are taking a break to concentrate on other things. If there’s anyone who’d like to carry on and take up the reins of organising and maintaining this block swap, just leave a comment or contact me by email. We may bring it back at some future stage, as it has been both fun and helpful in encouraging inexperienced quilters to try new ideas, blocks and processes. I’ve learned a lot, and have made new friends I’d never have met without it.

To any F²F-ers out there who are looking at their blocks and thinking about what to make, do make a start! I’m still hoping to put a finished quilt for all our members in the gallery one day… 

5 thoughts on “F²F² January round up

  1. anne54 says:

    I hope you find someone, as it seems like you all really enjoy the creating and swapping.

  2. tialys says:

    It is a shame and I’d love to continue. My hand is wavering but, as I’ve told you before, I’m not a keen organiser. Also, we couldn’t get a full complement of 12 together for this year so I wonder whether there would still be the enthusiasm. Strange, because I did a search for another swap to join and there doesn’t seem to be much around – or nothing that appealed to me anyway.
    Maybe I’ll email you to see what the organisation actually involves.

    • katechiconi says:

      The reason we started F2F in the first place was the lack of a similar block swap. The majority have more rules and restrictions about pattern, fabric, colour, etc. You might find the admin acceptable now that the first two sessions have ironed out some of the wrinkles.

  3. rutigt says:

    This has been so fun and I received so many great blocks in my colors. I have finished the blocks for Claire, but just haven´t been able to send them yet!

Leave a Reply

