Sea Glass #3

The outer blocks are done.

sea-glass-large-border-done

It’s not really this wonky, it’s just pinned to the design wall for the moment!

I have also frogged and recycled the first block I made, which was badly wrong, with points going the wrong way and colours mixed up. It’s right now, after loads of unpicking and a fair bit of salty language, and I defy you to discover which one in this arrangement it was. Now that the outer blocks are complete, it’s clear I don’t have a great deal of those fabrics left, so I’m pondering what would look best for the chequerboard blocks around the centre panel.

Once I have that clear in my head, I shall do some speed-piecing of those blocks, using the method that joins 8 strips along their length, the resulting piece sliced into rows perpendicular to the long seams, and then the rows re-arranged and mix and matched into squares for the best visual result.

I’m pleased with where I’ve got to so far. The contrast between muted and clean colours and splashes of white make the overall look sparkle, the lilac whirlies add visual interest, and it’s been easy to build the big blocks, after the initial stuff up trial block.

Thanks also to Kate at Manic Mumdays, who came up with a name both the maker and the receiver love!

Now, time to rootle around in my fabric and scrap boxes for the chequerboard border.

20 thoughts on “Sea Glass #3

  1. tialys says:

    Great work so far. I knew you wouldn’t be able to top that name 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I can’t think of anything I like as much which works so well 🙂 Piecing the big blocks has been fine after the first extremely dodgy one, and I reckon the inner border will be the same.

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    I love this colour palate.

  3. anne54 says:

    I love the colours too. They pop and sparkle beautifully!

  4. manicmumdays says:

    It’s gorgeous Kate!
    Glad I could help with the name, it fits for sure 🙂

  5. a beautiful balance of blues and greens, and the purple bits make it all pop 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! It would be a bit boring without the lilac and purple bits. Just as it wouldn’t sparkle unless I had the blue, white and green bits as well as the teal and aqua.

  6. So bright and cheerful, it’s beautiful.

  7. kathyreeves says:

    I love the purple pinwheels, they really do add a new dimension to it. Looking great!

  8. Jule says:

    Beautiful colours 🙂

  9. claire93 says:

    it’s looking gorgeous Kate. You always know how to match your fabrics so well.

    • katechiconi says:

      Gosh, thanks! I always try not to let things be too matchy-matchy, or it looks a bit flat and ‘safe’. Flashes of blue and white and green and lilac really pep up the overall teal scheme.

  10. rutigt says:

    I love the blocks! The colors are so perfect with each other!

Leave a Reply

