Really? Another one…?

No, it’s probably not a good idea…

After all, I have three quilts making orderly but gradual progress (Hatbox, Anemone and TWX) and two more in block form (F2F and F2F2) sitting in the cupboard waiting to be assembled. So what on earth prompted me to start yet another?

cathy-sample-blockWell, after the creative log-jam I endured last week, the dam has burst: I got my three F2F2 January blocks out (stay away from that gallery, Esther!), I’m up to date with my ScrapHappy, Bee Myself and I and Stitch Along work, and I need to wait for more TWX blocks to come in before I can make a real start on that one. So I didn’t have anything pretty to play with 😦

cathys-quilt-designYou know what’s coming, don’t you? Yup. Started another quilt, this time for my sister in law’s bed. I have a lovely selection of jelly roll strips and co-ordinating fat quarters, a nice straightforward pattern drawn up, and best of all, no deadline! Sometimes it’s good just to have something pretty but undemanding to sew. I often find that in that situation, I’ll get loads done, and the quilt almost feels as if it’s assembled itself.

The blocks for the outer border will be 16 inches square, all the others will be 8 inches square. And it’s a sorta, kinda medallion: the centre block is 4 traditional flower basket blocks where the bottom triangle is in a basketweave fabric and the top triangle is a floral. Round that will be 16-patch chequerboard blocks, and outside that again, a basket-weave with simple stars at the intersections. I think there’ll have to be a plain border round the whole thing to bring it up to size, but I’ll see how I get on.

And if you’re thinking you’ve seen the top picture before, you’re right, but since then, my cutting table is entirely covered with 8½ inch strips of jelly roll, and this quilt is galloping away with me! I’ll still be working away at all the others, but at the proper time.

Hurrah, and tally ho! I’m off again 🙂

38 thoughts on “Really? Another one…?

  1. anne54 says:

    This made me smile, Kate ~ only you could take on another project, knowing that it will not only be finished to a high standard, but look gorgeous too!

  2. Huh, a *medallion* quilt! 😀 That sounds like a great plan — love your ideas for the basket blocks, and then using checkerboard around sounds like either a lovely picnic table cloth or more basket weave. Very nice.

    I’m working on a project that is mostly from scraps, is for my small group, and will probably be a donation. And while it’s not challenging, it’s pleasant enough to work on. BUT I’m gearing up for at least 2 red & white quilts, both (of the 2) modeled after antiques. If I do more than the 2, another is modeled after an antique and one is contemporary. We’ll see. But I’m having fun planning and anticipating those.

    • katechiconi says:

      I really love the sound of those red & white quilts. I would have loved to go to the exhibition of the Rose collection in the Park Avenue Armory in 2011, but sadly it was not to be. Knowing you, I’ll be amazed and ravished by what you make 🙂

      • I did not see it in New York, but the International Quilt Festival in Chicago had an exhibit of red and whites, in 2014 I think. I went with my sister. My guild had a red and white challenge in 2012, which I entered. I didn’t win but was very happy with my effort. Thanks.

  3. Thimberlina says:

    Gosh, you know how to fill your time! I thought I could pack a lot in! I often wonder what people do all day if they’ve not got any hobbies 😀

  4. mlmcspadden says:

    Love the colors you’re using in this new quilt. And great plan for it.

    • katechiconi says:

      My SIL’s room is teal and white. I couldn’t face a ‘true’ teal quilt on top of all the OCA ones, so I’m doing it in ‘near-teals’ and co-ordinating colours that will work well in the room. It’ll be fresh and pretty, I hope!

  5. knitnkwilt says:

    I like the sound of your plan. Working without a deadline, and working when the fancy strikes are both satisfying.

  6. magpiesue says:

    Hurray! Love it when the creativity dam bursts. 🙂 And this looks like it *will* be fresh and pretty. Have fun!

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Great news, and will be looking forward to seeing this!

  8. So happy to hear that your hands are a bit better now so you can jump back into color and fabrics! Yay!!!
    Esther

  9. Debbierose says:

    Every time you show the blocks the ladies send in I am totally amazed. There are so many different fabrics around – I rarely think any of the fabrics seem duplicated. Kate you are a legend designing another Quilt. You must have a magic ball allowing you 48 hours ine ach day to achieve all you do 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The truth is, I do some of my best ‘design thinking’ while I’m doing the housework. It’s amazing the ideas you can come up with while you’re vacuuming or making the bed. I have a little notebook in which I can draw ideas as they come to me.
      I think the fact that the blocks are coming from all over helps with the variety of fabrics: The US, the Netherlands, the UK, France, Australia and Sweden – I guess they all have different fabrics to choose from!

  10. Cath says:

    I’m the lucky sister in law who is going to receive this gorgeous quilt. I was stunned when Kate told me that it was my turn to receive one. I love her work but never in a million years would I have asked for one. Just want to say Thank You and I know I’ll love it when it’s finished. 💜

  11. tialys says:

    I’ve just polished off the last F2F block (ever?) so am yours to play hatbox with now!! – even though I’ve got a jelly roll quilt top part way assembled and swore I wouldn’t start another quilt before I got that one out of the way but when the mood comes upon you, you have to go with it.

    • katechiconi says:

      A jelly roll quilt in progress needn’t stop *either* of us! I still have Claire’s blocks to go, but I have another hatbox prepped to go. How many blocks do you want to do in a week, or alternatively, how often do you want to post about it?

      • tialys says:

        I’m going to have a play with a hatbox block this afternoon and see how I get on and, depending on the outcome, I’ll let you know how quickly I can go 😉 As you know, I usually only blog around once every fortnight or so and I’d bore everyone to death if each post was about a hatbox so perhaps once a month – even if I actually make more than one in that time – but we don’t have to stick to the same timetable as you are already on a roll with yours and I don’t want to hold you up.

      • katechiconi says:

        Sounds fine! I’ll be posting at the end of the month, as usual, so if you post before me, I’ll link back to you.

  12. rutigt says:

    This is so exciting! A new quilt! I know exactly the feeling, so good luck with this one. It sounds great 🙂

  13. Chas Spain says:

    Hi Kate – sorry you’re always coming by my way and I haven’t visited here for a while. Plenty happening though!
    I was in Newbury from about 97 until 2010 – our young ones went to school there and we even built a house (completely madly) on a slip of land off Kiln Rd – so it’s part of our bones really.

  14. claire93 says:

    fabulous colours ^^

  15. Lynda says:

    Kate, your newest project is going to be wonderful and I know we all look forward to watching it bloom! Sigh, I take on new projects too, but can’t keep them running concurrently. I do get back to them eventually… although this year feels different. I feel more focused than I have in many years. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I find it’s easier to keep things on track if I have regular days to show and tell, so I have a target to work towards. I hope you achieve your goals this year, I’ll be standing on the sidelines and cheering you on!

  16. I hate a creative stupor! I’m so glad yours is over:). Sometimes a new project is all it takes!

  17. The start and finish of every project is so exciting. It’s a lovely design.

Leave a Reply

