In a spin…

I can’t seem to settle to my sewing.

paper-piecing-patterns Normally, I’d know exactly what I wanted to do, and would focus on it and make some decent progress. Just lately, the past week or so, I can’t seem to focus. Burning my hand didn’t help. I was in the mood to sew and couldn’t. Now, I look at the several project piles and can’t decide. I pick something up… and then put it down again. Some of it is time-critical, but even that’s not enough to get my motor running.

cathys-quilt-cutting cathy-sample-blockThere’s only one solution. Go into my sewing room, close the door, turn everything on, and just get on with something.

I’ve designed two paper pieced patterns, but haven’t tried them yet. I’ll start there. As it happens, they’re the ones I need to finish first, so it’s a good place to start. I hope it goes OK, I don’t feel as if I can sew sweetly and smoothly today, so there may be extensive frogging. We shall see…

Wish me luck.

40 thoughts on “In a spin…

  1. Good luck Kate. I sometimes have days when I just seem to bounce around from one thing to another and achieve nothing. It feels like such a waste of precious time. I’m sure you’ll get your focus back soon. I hope your hand is repairing quickly.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thanks, Avis 🙂 I’ve pretty much decided I just have to crack on and *finish* something because at least then I’ll have some evidence of industry instead of lots of scattered bits…

  2. Robin Murphy says:

    Good Luck Kate, it is lovely when you have a purpose to sew and know exactly what needs to be completed. I have a few projects on the go and seem to faff about doing little bits of other stuff when I should really be finishing off something. I have a large quilt to finish off and just can’t seem to get it together. This weekend hopefully I will bite the bullet and put it together and get it ready to quilt. The recipient is very patient but this needs to be done before middle of Feb when I go have my knee replacements, I won’t be able to manage it then. Have a great day and I hope there is not too much frogging going on.

    • katechiconi says:

      My goodness, *two* knee replacements! I will have my fingers crossed tightly for you… Sometimes with a big quilt it’s the sheer scale of the thing that’s intimidating; I’m guilty of deferring big jobs too, simply because I can’t face the hauling around of all that heavy fabric 🙂

  3. magpiesue says:

    Been there, done that, altogether too often. Hope you can settle to something soon, just to get back into the swing of things.

  4. Or try the opposite. Don’t let yourself sew a thing. Clean out a closet, read a good mystery, do some shopping, meet up with a friend, volunteer —- pack a day or two at least with non-sewing activities. Bet you’ll find yourself bursting to get right to a certain project that you can’t get out of your mind.

    • Right, Laura. Today I did all kinds of things not quilting. I even cleaned my bedroom and bathroom! 🙂 I’ve found when I don’t want to quilt, it’s just fine not to. No one is going to fire me; I’ve quit feeling guilty for being “unproductive”; and the other stuff I do in the meantime, whether cleaning or writing or just browsing the web, is all stuff I needed to do, anyway. (web time is mental down time, also important!)

      • katechiconi says:

        Thing is, I’d *like* to be sewing, but I can’t get excited about anything I have on the go at the moment. Perhaps I should go and clean the air filter on the aircon; it’s a hot day and there’s not much cold air coming out 😦

      • Perhaps make a bargain with yourself? Agree to spend 30 minutes on a not-exciting project, in return for spending the rest of the day on something new and more exciting. I’ll bet the 30 minutes will turn into longer than that once you get going. Just a thought…

      • katechiconi says:

        I’ll try that next time. For now, I’ve managed to get far enough into the first paper piecing block that I want to see it finished – despite the predicted frogging!

    • katechiconi says:

      Ah, displacement activity… I have a stack of library books, I need to do laundry, I have to clean the aircon filter, I have to make a chicken curry, I need to go to the quilt shop to buy some more thread – oops, quilting-type activity, mustn’t do that!

  5. mlmcspadden says:

    Good luck with the two pp’d patterns! I’m assuming they are for F2F, so I’ll be looking forward to seeing them. =)

  6. kathyreeves says:

    This was me on Wednesday, but at work…I hate it when that happens. 😁Sometimes I just sit down with a cup of coffee and start writing the list, then start at the top, no matter what it is. Hope you get your spring or inspiration or whatever is lacking back quickly!

  7. Lynda says:

    I know exactly where you are, Kate. Been there myself. You’ll be OK. Sending you energetic vibes to get you going! 🙂

  8. tialys says:

    I have lots of displacement activity I could be doing – others call it housework – but my workroom is always more interesting. I had a bit of ‘extensive frogging’ action yesterday too – I was feeling all pleased at a bit of piecing I’d just done and then realised I’d put one of the bits on the wrong way round and I’d already trimmed the seam so couldn’t put it right and haven’t got any more of the fabric so will have to frog some of the other pieces already in place too 😦
    Your sewing malaise will pass. Maybe you have too many things on the go at once – just a thought.

    • katechiconi says:

      If the block you’re talking about isn’t one you’ve just finished and I’ve already seen, could you put out an appeal on your blog, asking if anyone has a piece of it they can let you have? Don’t frog it just yet, you never know…
      I’m pretty sure my malaise is due to the weather. Incredibly humid, very, very hot and it’s difficult to summon enthusiasm for anything very much the last couple of days. Only at times like this do I wish we had a swimming pool. The rest of the time I think about the maintenance and am grateful we don’t!

      • tialys says:

        No – it’s for next month and they are only small seams so I should be fine – thank you for the suggestion though.
        We have a pool and it takes surprisingly little to maintain – says she who leaves it all to her husband – I am not a person who likes to plunge into water colder than a warm bath so I don’t use it as much as I should but Mr. T says he couldn’t do without it.

      • katechiconi says:

        If we had a pool, it would be my job to maintain it, as I’m the one at home most of the time. If I win the lottery, we’ll have a pool and someone else will come in to take care of it!

  9. Sending you hugs,
    Esther

  10. claire93 says:

    yes I’ve had days like that and usually just sit down to do some mindless cross stitch until the feeling passes

  11. Sometimes you just have to go with the being-unsettled-ness. I try not to see it as an obstacle (although it doesn’t help if there’s a deadline), but as an integral part of being “creative” – maybe there’s something else really cool that you’d do well to turn your hand to 🙂 – and your head is trying to tell you that!

  12. rutigt says:

    Good luck! And as my DH says: “Remember this is a hobby. Don´t stress, just have fun.” (When did he get so wise?) 🙂

  13. Debbierose says:

    Welcome to my world. Im sure you’ll turn things round into a productive non frogging day

  14. Jule says:

    Sounds very familiar. This has been my daily routine for the last two or three years now. – Good luck with whatever you decided to do today. 🙂

  15. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    good luck !!

Leave a Reply

