SAL 40: alphabet done!

Yes, I’ve finally had enough time to get all the letters finished.

Christmas gave me the time – and an excuse – to leave the sewing machine switched off, and all of my hand stitching projects got some serious attention.

Here’s where I was last time:

alphabet-to-t

And here’s where I am now. Bit of a change, eh?

sampler-alphabet-done

In case you’re wondering, this is just halfway through the piece. There’s the border you see started at the bottom left, then another one, and then a row of three large block motifs about the depth of the top three rows of letters, and finally, a narrow border under the whole lot.

As always, you should go and see what the other members of the Stitch Along are up to – it’s all different and all very beautiful, so head over there and be inspired!

AvisClaireGunCaroleLucyAnnJessSueConstanzeDebbierose,
ChristinaSusanKathyMargaretCindyHelenSteph, Wendy, who is returning after some time off, and this month, two new members:
Linda and Catherine. Welcome, both of you!

If anyone would like to join in the Stitch Along, click through to Avis’ blog, and leave her a message or an email. She’ll explain how it works and what you need to do. It’s such a great way to progress stalled projects or get the impetus to start something new!

See you next time, on 29 January 🙂

54 thoughts on “SAL 40: alphabet done!

  1. mewithptsd says:

    Ok, first of all … you did this with your fingers burnt?! What a trooper, it’s coming along so beautifully. Next, what is SAL (stitch along? ) and oh my the pieces some people are working on are amazing and why does each person have SAL with a number on their work? Thanks in advance.

    • katechiconi says:

      No, no, I’m not that much of a trooper 🙂 I had the post ready and scheduled a couple of days ago 🙂 SAL is Stitch Along, as you guessed, and the number indicates what number SAL post it is. Many of us have been at it a couple of years now, and it’s an easy way of keeping track of which is the latest one. Avis is the queen bee of this particular group, so if you’d like to join, drop her an email. It doesn’t have to be complicated, some people have a new project every few weeks, some of us have longer term pieces, but the SAL keeps us motivated and encouraged.

      • mewithptsd says:

        I am so glad you had it prepped ahead, I was cringing at the thought of yoi enduring that! Thanks so much for the details abut the SAL group. I have several projects packed away that would be good in future but I love the supportive incentive to get things worked on. I have looked at several member’s posts and am so intrigued. I will send her an email as soon as I either pick up a new project or dig out an old one.

      • katechiconi says:

        We’ll look forward to seeing you then!

      • katechiconi says:

        By the way, can you let me have your email address so I can add you to the mailing list for the ScrapHappy reminder I send out a few days ahead of the 15th posting date?

      • mewithptsd says:

        Still getting used to how to respond to people, some times it a breeze others it fights me like the dickens. Sent you an email also which you can now disregard 🙂 kdharris66@gmail.com

      • katechiconi says:

        Thanks, Karen, you’re on the list.

  2. mewithptsd says:

    Oh and just cross stitch, which I do or any needle work? Sewing By the Sea had a nice explanation in her blog.

    • katechiconi says:

      No, any embroidery! Take a look at Margaret’s amazing piece when her post goes up. She’s so skilled, so creative and I’m just in awe of what she’s doing. And Constanze is doing gold bullion work. It’s a chance to branch out and try something new surrounded by encouraging friends.

  3. susanpblog says:

    What great progress!

  4. Debbierose says:

    Well done Kate. its great when you can see a lot of progress, we all have so much on the go – that we don’t realise how productive we actually are.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m determined my progress is going to be even better next time! It was fun to look at the before and after and really notice the difference, so I have to keep the momentum up.

  5. tialys says:

    I didn’t realise there was to be more going on beneath the alphabet. I thought you would put that bottom border in and that would be that. It’s looking so good already.

  6. lucyannluna says:

    It’s great to have finished the alphabet. Can’t wait to see what’s next. I expect profess will slow down until your fingers heal.

  7. I think it’s amazing that you can concentrate on just the alphabet. I’d be flitting about everywhere. Well done!

  8. claire93 says:

    this is going to be a lot bigger than I realised – look forward to next time

  9. norma says:

    Looking good. Amazing what a bit of time away from the sewing machine can do.

  10. Wendy says:

    Well done! It’s looking beautiful!

  11. Catherine says:

    Wow! What a great amount of work you got done. And I love that colour. It’s going to look fabulous with the borders stitched in.

  12. kathyreeves says:

    I know,you are happy to be done with the alphabet! It really changed these past weeks, looking forward to seeing the new motifs when they form.

  13. You’ve done such a lot this time. Well done. It’s nice to have the letters finished and onto the next section 🙂

  14. rutigt says:

    I´m glad you were able to stitch on your embroidery before hurting yourself. I really like the design of the letters!

  15. Cindy says:

    Wonderful progress. This is really beautiful.

  16. lbick says:

    Thanks for the welcome. Your project looks great so far!

  17. Carole says:

    Congrats on finishing the alphabet. It looks lovely. Now I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of this pretty sampler 🙂

  18. It’s so beautiful just as is. I can’t wait to see it all the way complete. i know I’m behind on posts so I have no idea how you scalded your fingers. I’m trying to catch up today. 🙂

  19. magpiesue says:

    Whoa, that will be a might sampler when it’s done! i hope you heal soon so you can get back to it between now and the next SAL. The ‘Z’ holds down the middle of that border? If not, it should!

  20. OH, that looks like so much work!

  21. craftycreeky says:

    Looks great, hope your fingers are improving :-/

Leave a Reply

