Oh, grawlix!*

*Grawlix: n. A string of typographical symbols, especially “@#$%&!”, used (especially in comic strips) to represent a swear word.

screen-shot-2017-01-07-at-5-25-58-pmFriends, I was on a roll. I was tooting along nicely, getting blocks made, designs and fabrics sorted out for forthcoming projects and stitches set in my embroidery. Then I decided to stop and take a break to make some fruit loaf.

Mistake.

I managed to pour boiling water all over my right hand, with the result that I’m wearing a bunch of red, blistered sausages at the end of my arm. It was quite unusually painful, and since many of the blisters are across my knuckles, bending the fingers is not a load of laughs… Luckily I had tomorrow’s SAL post drafted and ready to go, but it’s put paid to the pleasurable afternoon of paper piecing I had in mind โ€“ Esther, I’m sorry, but there may be a short delay getting your blocks out ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

It’s not just the difficulty bending myย fingers, but also that I don’t want to smear the antiseptic soothing goop on my fingers all over the fabric. Ah well, at least I can use the keyboard…

Normal service will hopefully resume shortly.

92 thoughts on “Oh, grawlix!*

  1. tialys says:

    This is what happens when you do ‘kitchen’ things at 1.30 a.m. I really hope it’s not too painful but I bet it is. I’m sure Esther will understand.

  2. craftycreeky says:

    Ooh, poor you, hope it heals up quickly, look after yourself :-/

    • katechiconi says:

      The blisters are going to get worse before they get better, but I don’t have to keep a cold pack on them any more, which helps. I had to sleep with a sock over my hand last night to protect it, which was not an elegant look!

  3. Very painful and it must make all aspects of living difficult. But these things are so easily done as you are thinking about the next thing to do on the list and lose concentration. Hope it heals as quickly as possible.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s more that I forget the arthritis in my left hand makes it hard to hold a heavy kettle full of water… It’s on the mend, but I’ll have to wait for the blisters to go down :-/

  4. knitnkwilt says:

    Not sure which is worse, the pain or the interruption to plans. Take carel

  5. knettycraft says:

    Oh no! You poor one… I hope you get well soon! (And as I know you you will present a paperpiecingwithonlyonehand technique when it is over ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

  6. Oh no, that’s dreadful – and very painful ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Your poor hand ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Sending healing thoughts….

  7. Hope it mends soon – I hate hurting myself so I can’t craft, it’s a double-whammy because crafting is always a cheering experience. Hope you heal quickly.

  8. claire93 says:

    ouch ! you didn’t need that right now.

  9. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    bummer !! hope you’ll heal soon !

  10. Dammit! How awful. I feel terrible for you.. c

    • katechiconi says:

      Stings a lot but the main sensation is complete fury at myself for being such a prize idiot. Visualise me with a sock on my hand like a large white paw, to prevent myself from knocking the blisters open on things…

  11. Oh no! Hope it gets better in speedy quick time. Hand injuries are always really painful. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  12. Oh no! I hope you fingers are nimble for the thimble soon! And thank you for teaching me what the proper word is called for !?@$!

  13. Oh Kate! So sorry. Check in with the doctor, please. It sounds bad. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • katechiconi says:

      I showed the pharmacist when I went to buy non-stick dressings… She agrees with me that it’s not really bad enough to bother the doctor with, so long as the blisters stay intact. My fingers look like they have chicken pox ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. kymlucas says:

    Oh, Kate, sending wishes for speedy recovery.

  15. mlmcspadden says:

    Hope your hand heals quickly!

  16. kathyreeves says:

    Use LOTS of that soothing antiseptic goo! I think ice packs help to speed the healing because they get the skin temp down, especially the day or two after. Even if it’s not medically proven (no clue, myself), it makes you feel better. I feel you pain, Kate, hope it heals quickly!!

  17. lucyannluna says:

    As a science teacher, you have my sympathy, I still have a faint mark on my forearm where I burnt it on a very hot tripod in October. Those blisters are very painful, take care.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m always amazed at how painful burns are, but it doesn’t seem to have taught me how to avoid them, sadly! I’ve discovered Bio-Oil is good for the scars.

      • lucyannluna says:

        They are so painful. I’m always amazed how dumb kids are, you tell them a Bunsen burner is hot, it even has flames shooting out of it & still someone touches hot end as soon as they switch it off, to see if you were correct. I often forget how long these things stay super hot for . I burnt my foot of the iron, probably best not to question that too closely, I have a nice triangular mark! Nothing seem to get rid of that one. Hope the fingers heal soon.

      • katechiconi says:

        My worst enemy is the oven. I regularly burn myself on a rack, or the inside of the door or a baking pan. The iron, not so much… I think it’s probably a very good thing I have no access to Bunsen burners!

  18. dayphoto says:

    Oh, my goodness! Burns are nothing to ignore (of which you know). I am so sorry. I hope they don’t scare!

    Linda

  19. magpiesue says:

    Ouch! and how frustrating. Grawlix is a great word. I may use it in place of less reputable words. I’m wishing you patience and healing.

  20. mewithptsd says:

    O good Lord! I am sending you thoughts of quick healing and subsiding pain. Burns are so terribly painful ๐Ÿ˜ข Please, kept it elevated and take anti-inflammation/pain medication if you do that kind of thing. Take care.

  21. Oh my word Kate!,
    Now don’t you dare worry about my blocks, okay?! Take care of the burns. You still have your humor, that didn’t get burned! ๐Ÿ˜œ๐Ÿ˜˜โค๏ธ I have learned a new word today: grawlix, which I will use on Monday with the bilingual classes. Lots of healing hugs,
    Esther

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m hoping to be back at my sewing machine in a couple of days, as I’m beginning to be able to bend my fingers again. I hope the class enjoys Grawlix, it’s a very expressive word!

  22. Emma says:

    Hot water burns are the worst ๐Ÿ˜ฆ make sure you keep it well dressed. I find pawpaw cream works wonders. I hope you get better in no time ๐Ÿ™‚

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, pawpaw cream’s excellent. You have to stop the antiseptic cream after a day or so or it inhibits healing, I’m told, so pawpaw’s just the thing to keep it nice and soft and flexible.

  23. anne54 says:

    Oh you poor thing! Burns are so incredibly painful, even small ones. Your treatment seems to be the right thing. May you be back pinning, stitching and cutting very soon.

  24. Oh no! I’m so sorry for the pain I’m sure you’re in. I know there’s no remedy except time, but cold packs (along with that gooey antiseptic cream) can help.

  25. Lynda says:

    WOW, Kate! Just reading this hurts. Please keep a careful watch for infection. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    • katechiconi says:

      So far, so good. The bandage and then the sock have prevented me knocking and breaking any of the blisters, and a couple of them are flat already, so I reckon it’ll be alright.

  26. Debbierose says:

    Oh Kate, do be more careful. Take care and big hugs to you. Get well soon.

  27. Jen Gardener says:

    Eehh. Oh dear. Sounds horrible! Burns are awful ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  28. Catherine says:

    Oh how awful! Look after yourself

  29. Oh dear, I’m sorry. Burns are absolutely awful – I’d be growling “Grawlix” with great regularity. Take care, catch up with some reading, and you’ll back to stitching before you know it.

  30. rutigt says:

    Well, I donยดt like that accident, but I like you telling us and I hope you soon will be better. You mentioned Esther and I can inform you that Iยดve got the blocks from her!

  31. Jule says:

    Ouch! Glad you’re already better. – I didn’t know the term Grawlix, it sounds like a character from the Asterix comic books. ๐Ÿ™‚

  32. Carole says:

    Oh no. That sounds horrendously painful. Hope it heals up quickly so you can get back to using your hand again.

    (love the term Grawlix. I shall be using that, I’m sure ๐Ÿ™‚ )

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s already much better. I was very conservative about using it to keep the blisters from breaking, and that seems to have paid off, as they’re all going down and healing.

  33. Thank you for the word that is used to name the nonsense that replaces objectionable words! I find that funny, actually. My mother would have loved to know that. Actually, I’m going to text my sister in a moment to tell her about it!
    Yuck on the nasty burn. What type of kettle do you have? Email me a picture, if you don’t mind – I might know of something to prevent further incidents. I’ve had a horrid virus since Xmas day, and just realised today it is impeding my normal fast healing. Kitten scratches on my leg and hand are still scabby a week later – very odd for me! And a burn from the oven took ages to heal, too. Interesting.

    • katechiconi says:

      Photo sent. The problem with the kettle is the arthritis I have in both paws, I can’t open jars too well any more either. I swear by Savlon for burns and scratches, and it seems to have done the trick this time too, as they’re healing up fine.

  34. I love the word “Grawlix”. Sad you had to use it. I don’t believe in accidents like most people. It feels like you might be pushing so hard the Universe says, “nope, done for awhile”. Rest well so your fingers and you recover fully. I’ll keep good thoughts for you.

  35. Very sorry to hear of your situation. Sending good thoughts for speedy recovery.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you so much for your good thoughts, June, which are clearly working well; my hand is now back to its normal size and colour, and the blisters are all down but one. I’m back at the keyboard, and later today will be back at the sewing machine!

  36. Bugger. Just catching up. Pleased to read there is no lasting damage but horrific at the time. Burns are an occupational hazard for cooks, I added one to my collection last night, tender inside upper arm skin contact with hot baking tray, not for the first time…

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s a strong possibility that I burn myself so often that I’ve become blasรฉ about it… Most of the damage is healed now, just one persistent blister and one purplish patch I think is going to scar.

Leave a Reply

