Where did the time go?

It’s traditional at New Year to look back at what the year held.

For me, the most interesting thing is what I made! So, here are the finishes (I don’t count the projects still in progress, and there are plenty of them!):

36 F2F blocks
25 scrappy postage stamp blocks for the ScrapHappy quilt Grey Nomad
The Cloths of Heaven queen size quilt for my niece’s wedding present
12 Hatbox blocks
9 blocks, quilting and assembly of Time for Teal OCA charity quilt
5 blocks, quilting and assembly of Stay+ OCA charity quilt
18 hexie flowers so far for the ScrapHappy Anemone quilt
A handful of dresses and tops
A handful of Stitch Along embroidery projects
A handful of smaller quilted projects: cushion covers, heat pads, etc.

It isn’t that much, when I list it like that, but I had a busy year. I’m also not forgetting the work I did on our motorbike trailer, which was heavy and time consuming, but so worth it. And I’m giving myself credit for time spent in hospital having my spine ‘scaffolded’ and getting myself back from the scary precipice of dependency on heavy duty pain relief.

The Cloths of Heaven final, frontT4T finished frontgrey-nomad-frontstay-front-finished-quiltFor next year, I have a whole bunch more hexies to make for Scrap-Happy and Anemone to assemble, Tealed with a Kiss to be made for OCA, two entire F2F quilts to assemble, the Hatbox quilt to finish, a couple of dressmaking projects to restart, a quilt for my sister-in-law (still to be discussed and designed!), and I’d really like to restart the Cosmatesque wall hanging for my eldest niece. So, plenty to keep me busy. I’m sure other things will interfere, and mundane stuff will take priority, but it’s good to have goals.

I have also lost 5kg (11 pounds) in the run up to Christmas, and haven’t put any of it back on over the season of traditional over-eating, so I’m hoping that process will continue now that I’m out of pain and able to move much more freely. The Husband of Chiconia is also happy to report a loss, so we must be doing something right 🙂

A very Happy New Year to everyone. May you all have a beautifully creative 2017 🙂

 

36 thoughts on “Where did the time go?

  1. knettycraft says:

    A happy and healthy new year Kate!!! … we’ve still 7 minutes left over here 🙂

  2. Happy New Year, Kate. You’ve had a very busy year indeed. You’ve had a lot going on and still accomplished a great deal as well. The next one will be even better.

  3. Lynda says:

    I need to be more industrious. You certainly are! Beautiful, all of them.

    • katechiconi says:

      You too have had a fair bit on your plate this year. Celebrate what you have done, rather than note what you haven’t! Have a great New Year, and I look forward to seeing more of you online 🙂

  4. Happy New Year. You amaze & inspire me with all that you accomplish ♡

    • katechiconi says:

      I was just looking at the list and thinking it wasn’t that impressive compared with previous years… And then I thought about the other stuff that went on last year, and I decided that was OK :-). We’ve had the May leave approved, so we’ll see you in a few months!

  5. manicmumdays says:

    Happy New Year Kate!
    I think Cloths of Heaven was my favourite quilt of 2016!! Out of all the quilts I saw … ALL year! Seriously!

    • katechiconi says:

      Aww, what a sweet thing to say 🙂 It was a bit of a Thing, wasn’t it? A real achievement, but I was glad when it was done. We’re coming north again in late Feb, so put 25/26 Feb or 2 March in your diary in case you get some time off and we can have coffee again. Happy New Year too, to you and the family.

  6. nanacathy2 says:

    Happy New Year Kate. Thank you for your wonderful blog, I enjoy your posts so much. I admired the way you coped through pain. And above all thank you for scrap happy!

  7. What you’ve made is a wonderful way to sum up a year. Thank you for adding so much beauty in your stitching and for stitching the world of sewers together, my dear!

    • katechiconi says:

      To paraphrase: “I’d like to teach the world to stitch, and furnish it with quilts”! Thank you for your friendship these past few years, and I look forward to many more words of wisdom from you ❤

  8. claire93 says:

    when you think you were restricted with sewing time becuase of back pain & surgery, you got a huge amount accomplished over the year!
    Warmest wishes of good health and happiness for 2017, Kate.

  9. dayphoto says:

    It sounds like you are doing great! Its hard to lose weight, even at the best of times, and losing during a holiday! WoWERS!

    Happy New Year!
    Linda

    • katechiconi says:

      One advantage to joining a family where the Christmas celebrations are fairly low key! I don’t have a fridge full of naughty but delicious leftovers… You have a great 2017 too!

  10. I think you’ve achieved masses. If it was me, with those health problems, I’d have been curled up like a cutworm, moaning and wincing all the time. But you’re so positive and productive! AND you’ve lost weight = double role model 🙂
    I hope your 2017 is filled with energy and creativity and brilliant ideas and lots of travel xxx

    • katechiconi says:

      The health problems kind of caused the weight problem: if you’re in pain and miserable and can’t move, eating too much and then not burning it off is virtually inevitable. Now that the pain is so much less and I’m not miserable, it was time to shift the lard! Thank you so much much for your lovely good wishes, and I hope 2017 is a wonderful year for you and yours.

  11. magpiesue says:

    What a wonderful gift, to lose weight and not put it back on during the holiday season! Have you been working at it or is it just a natural consequence of being off pain meds and such? I’d say we’ve had a very productive year, each of us, and I look forward to another.

    • katechiconi says:

      It has been the consequence of being able to move more freely again, and being more mindful of what I’m cooking and eating, rather than being so tired and miserable and painful that I’d stuff whatever into my face! The creative work has been an escape this year, and I hope that next year I will go from strength to strength, not needing a distraction so much…

  12. rutigt says:

    After deciding not to start any new projects this year, I found myself surrounded by at least three new projects….LOL. How did that happened??

  13. Oh goodness, I’ve been offline a lot and missed your post! I’m always amazed at how much you get done, and this year more than ever. The pain, the surgery, the recovery, all slowed you down and still look at that list! Amazing, and such beautiful work, too. Happy new year, Kate. I hope this one goes more easily for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! Looking at the list, it doesn’t feel like much, but I did get more done than I thought, amidst all the medical business. I have great hopes for 2017; I have the makings for 2 complete large quilts already and a good start on 2 more, not to mention the Ovarian Cancer work. I really MUST get my sewing machine serviced! It’s just so hard to do without it…

  14. tialys says:

    Well done you – especially with all those health and pain issues.
    You lost almost double the weight of our Christmas turkey this year – they don’t grow ’em big in France but I still wouldn’t fancy walking around with a couple attached to me 😉
    I’m sooooo upset about the F2F block swap finishing. I briefly thought about taking it on myself but, aside from time issues, I’ve come to the realisation that I’m an enthusiastic participant and not an organiser so it would only make me grumpy. I’ve been searching for something similar for this year but they appear to be few and far between. I’ve just so appreciated the impetus to improve my skills and get me back on the patchwork wagon. 😦

    • katechiconi says:

      The weight is still dropping off – it must be all the extra hours I’m spending on my feet in the kitchen, cooking healthy meals from scratch. I’m sorry about F2F as well, but I’m not killing it off, maybe just taking a break…? Perhaps it could be resurrected in a slightly different format. And like you, I’ve greatly improved my skills and what I ‘dare’ to take on now 🙂

Leave a Reply

