Bee, Myself and I #9

It was all getting a bit pale and subtle, so I’ve gone the other way.

Here are the latest two, one dark and one pretty bright, and they are helping to restore balance amongst the blocks. I have some more darker/brighter ones in planning. I think it’s important not to let the vibe get too vintage; I like modern, crisp prints too, and if the scale and feel are right for this project, I’ll be using them as well as the more traditional style.

hatbox13

hatbox14

So, 22 to go. Unless, that is, I decide to make this quilt bigger because I can’t stop making hatboxes!  Don’t laugh, it’s entirely possible…

I do love where this quilt is going. Chances are good I’ll be keeping it for myself 🙂

37 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #9

  1. mlmcspadden says:

    They look great! Love how you are using different fabrics for the background of your blocks. And what a fun use of prints for the hat boxes.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have three variants of background fabric: light, medium and dark, and I pick them according to the fabric of the box to maximise standout. I have the next two box fabrics already picked out – always so hard to decide which one to do next!

  2. I am so in love with yours that I bought the book the pattern is in. It’s on my to-do list way down the road but it’s there.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s an inspirational book, just from the point of view of colour even if you never get round to the quilt. I wanted a slightly smaller quilt, so I’m not using the templates at the full suggested size; my blocks are about 10 inches square. I have a couple of suggestions for easier making, too, so if/when you get round to it, do ask.

  3. tialys says:

    This is still on my ‘to do’ list – I definitely think you should keep this one for yourself, it’s going to look amazing.

  4. Debbierose says:

    22 its going to be gorgeous

  5. katechiconi says:

    The blocks are fairly easy to make, and I’ve been on a bit of a roll over Christmas, so I’m down to only 20 more!

  6. claire93 says:

    love the xmas fabric hat box!

  7. I love the little yellow birds 🙂

  8. They are both so pretty in different ways.

  9. dayphoto says:

    It’s going to be a darling quilt!

    Linda

  10. kathyreeves says:

    I’m going to,go back and revisit all your blocks. Each new one gets me more curious about how this is going to finish. Impatient me!!!

  11. magpiesue says:

    You must be keeping your Christmas bonnet in that first box. These are always such fun to see. 🙂

  12. rutigt says:

    Love the fabrics you are using for your hat boxes! Looking forward to see the whole quilt (I can wait till you got tired of sewing these blocks 🙂 )!

Leave a Reply

