Stay+: bound and labelled

I got the last joins done after much procrastination…

That last seam was a bit of a pig, but now that it’s finished there’s a big sense of relief.  Here are the front, the back, (which shows off the quilting nicely) and the label. I found a lovely shot cotton for the binding, but I was a tiny bit short, so it’s slightly narrower than usual. I rather like this skinny version! Of course, shot cotton frays like mad, so it’s not really ideal for the purpose, but it was such a lovely green/blue combination that I couldn’t resist.

stay-front-finished-quilt

stay-back-finished-quilt

stay-quilt-label

A huge thank you to all those who contributed, not just blocks but also encouragement and positive feedback. I’ll get Stay+ off to Ovarian Cancer Australia after Christmas when the office re-opens. I’m going to take a tiny break from teal quilts over Christmas, and probably do some hand stitching on my hexie quilt. Stay+ is for a fundraiser in February and the next event isn’t till May, so I can fit a few other projects in before I have to start work on the next OCA quilt.

So, if you’ve offered to make a block or two for TWX (Tealed with a Kiss), the next Ovarian Cancer Australia quilt, it would be great if you could schedule them for January or February, to give me time to make up the numbers and then perform the usual QAYG magic 🙂

Finally, you’ll recall that Lynn of Tialys and I were working together to complete our QAYG quilts by Christmas. There has been a veritable snowstorm of emails back and forth. Well, she’s done it too!  Hop over there and take a look. Lucky Monsieur Tialys is going to score big time this Christmas. If the post isn’t up yet, it soon will be!

Last quilt finish before the New Year, time to slow down and enjoy the festive season!

 

42 thoughts on “Stay+: bound and labelled

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Congratulations everyone on a fabulous quilt for a good cause.

  2. manicmumdays says:

    Wow! It looks amazing Kate! 🙂

  3. craftycreeky says:

    Looks stunning, can I do a block for your next one or have you got enough promised?

    • katechiconi says:

      A block would be wonderful! The specs are: teal and cream, any shade, the design is any format of an X shape in the block, whether it’s traditional, improv, appliqué etc, and 12.5 square unfinished. Thank you so much for offering to help 🙂

  4. kathyreeves says:

    It looks amazing, and I bet it will earn some funds for this very wonderful cause. Jan/Feb is perfect timing for me. I have this next in my queue after the Christmas sewing is done!

  5. […] Thanks also to Kate for encouraging me to finish it by blogging about the Quilt As  You Go method which we were both using  to finish our quilts, mine for a Christmas gift and her own for another charity auction to raise money for Ovarian Cancer Awareness which you can see here. […]

  6. tialys says:

    It’s beautiful Kate and your quilting looks so good – I could never get away with quilting on such a revealing background. In my case ‘busy’ is good 😉
    Thanks for the kick up the arse I needed to get my one finished. x

  7. dayphoto says:

    Beautiful! It looks amazing and I’m sure it will go over in a huge way!

    Merry Christmas!!!

    Linda

  8. knitnkwilt says:

    Beautiful! Now it doesn’t seem long enough since your last post about this quilt to talk of “much procrastination”! -)

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m afraid there was a fair bit of wriggling around for excuses before I did the last big seam, which was always going to be a stinker… Still, doing the assembly this way does mean there’s only one real stinker 🙂 And I’m loving all that empty space on the design wall!

  9. claire93 says:

    it looks absoultely billiant !!

  10. It is a gorgeous quilt, Kate!
    So proud of everyone who helped to create it!
    Hugs,
    Esther

  11. lucyannluna says:

    That’s fantastic, you & the others should be very proud of your efforts. I’m sure it will be very much appreciated

  12. Robin Murphy says:

    The quilt looks superb Kate, enjoy your stitching on the hexie quilt, I have one block done will do the other one during the holidays and get them off to you. Have a restful holiday season.

  13. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    another work of art and for a good cause ! it is absolutely lovely !

  14. A thing of great beauty, and for a beautiful cause ❤

  15. nettyg says:

    The blocks all looked wonderful as they trickled in and you showed them off, but quilting, joining and binding do “maketh the quilt”. Well done Kate, it’s beautiful…..glad the pig’s out of the way now 🙂
    I’ll do my X ones after Christmas and get them to you before I go away. Having a pig of a time here so not a good time to be making blocks 😦

  16. rutigt says:

    You should have a big + for making this quilt come together so great!!!!! Love it!

  17. anne54 says:

    So lovely, Kate. Well done to you and all the contributors. Your label was very moving. Xx

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! I’ll be using this label formula for all my OCA quilts, as I feel it’s important to acknowledge all the ‘silent sisters’ who have contributed to our knowledge of the disease.

  18. Well done on another excellent finish.

  19. kymlucas says:

    Thank you all so much for all you are doing to help raise awareness of and fund research on ovarian cancer. Especially to Kate for taking the lead. ❤

  20. It turned out wonderfully. So beautiful.

  21. […] blocks, quilting and assembly of Time for Teal OCA charity quilt 5 blocks, quilting and assembly of Stay+ OCA charity quilt 18 hexie flowers so far for the ScrapHappy Anemone quilt A handful of dresses and […]

Leave a Reply

