Stay+: 3 more seams to go

As well as the top two, I’ve now got the two bottom corners done.

stay-corners-completeNow I just have to join the top two corners together, then the bottom two, and finally, the two completed sides using the only full-length seam. I’ve also managed to buy the fabric I need for the binding, more of the same dark teal shot cotton I used in the centre +.

But I did have one small problem to (ahem) iron out… I have a cordless steam iron. I love it, but it’s not terribly well made or robust. I’m on my third version, the previous two having given up the ghost. There are advantages and disadvantages to cordless. You can take it to the far end of the ironing board (or the other side of the room), and turn it through 360° and there’s no cord to jerk you up short or get tangled. However, it only stays at full heat for about a minute, and then it starts to cool down, so getting a lot of pressing done in one go is tedious: press, press, return to base station, wait, wait, press, press, etc. It takes about 30 seconds to reheat, which isn’t much in the great scheme of things but is just long enough to be annoying. And now, the third cordless iron has definitively announced its retirement. It tripped the household power outlet fuse in the fuse box outside three times in succession, which required restarting all sorts of  electronic gadgetry… again and again. I can take a hint.

So it’s bye-bye cordless iron, hello the old faithful steam iron with a huge water reservoir and a 2.5 metre cord. I’m not too unhappy, it’ll press anything forever without needing to reheat or be refilled constantly. What I’d really love, though, is an Oliso Pro TG16 iron. Ultra smooth, extra thick heat-retaining sole plate, clever ‘foot’ that raises the iron off the ironing surface when not in use and prevents scorching as well as the need to perch the thing on end, lots of steam settings and a 3.7 metre (12 ft) cord with a 360° swivelling attachment to the iron, to name but a few advantages.  But at prices between $170 and $200 in Australia, it’ll have to wait…

So, I reckon Stay+ will be fully assembled by the end of the week, with luck I’ll get it bound over next weekend, and then, as promised, it’ll be done by Christmas!

32 thoughts on “Stay+: 3 more seams to go

  1. tialys says:

    I use a cordless iron too and I know what you mean about the waiting. However, my ironing station is right next to my sewing machine – I use a thick wool felt ironing pad instead of an ironing board and, while it’s not much good for ironing shirts and clothing, it’s fine for small pieces of patchwork, etc.
    I’ll be trying to catch you up with your joining over the next couple of days.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have the ironing board close to my sewing table, but I like to make sure I get up and move occasionally, which is why I don’t have your set up! The cordless iron was particularly annoying when I’ve chain pieced a whole bunch of blocks and then I can only press a couple before the iron’s too cool, or when I have a large piece of new fabric to press. Boooooring!

  2. My mum used to have a cordless iron and I know exactly how irritating they can be. Maybe one day you will have your dream iron, you’d certainly get loads of use out of it the rate that you make quilts.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s just a dream. I truly don’t need another iron, and quite honestly, I was over the cordless version for all the reasons stated. What I like about the Oliso is how stable it is, and that you can just walk away from it and it’ll turn itself off if you forget.

  3. Does your husband read your posts? 😉

  4. nettyg says:

    My great-grandmother had a cordless iron :)…..she would heat it on the wood stove and wait, wait wait, then iron a bit, more waiting…..and of course she was ironing huge starched tablecloths and making neat shirt collars. I saw one of those Oliso-pros on a You tube video….serious coveting my neighbour’s goods!! The quilt is coming together nicely.

    • katechiconi says:

      They’re fun to watch, aren’t they? The waiting was a faff… The corded steam iron is heavier too, because all the works are in the iron, instead of the base station, but I’m not complaining too loudly – at least I HAVE an iron 🙂

  5. kathyreeves says:

    The quilt is lovely–of course–I knew it would be with you at the helm! I have a pretty cheap iron with a very long cord and I love it. It has a great steam plate for garment sewing that I love, which was one of my most important items when shopping, so it makes me happy, though when I did all that applique I was seriously wondering about one of those little mini irons…:)

    • katechiconi says:

      I have an itty bitty craft iron too, which I used extensively when I was making all those postage stamp blocks. It’s slightly scary in that the whole thing gets very hot and you have to make sure you keep your fingers on the protective plastic handle, but I can thoroughly recommend them!

  6. Thimberlina says:

    Well done! it’s looking fab! And well done for being on schedule at this busy time 🙂

  7. Beautiful Kate! I love those teal colors:). I had the olisso and traded it for a Rowenta pro precision. They cost about the same but the rowenta has the huge water storage in a separate bottom container so the iron is actually quite light. The quilt Oliso feet really annoyed me as they kept popping up as I was using pressing for long seams or in between blocks.

  8. Our house contains three irons and not one is cordless: the whizz-bang one for clothes, the old one for sewing (because I sometimes use interfacing with glue) and a dinky travel iron that sits by my machine. Good luck with your replacement purchase!

  9. rutigt says:

    The quilt to be is looking absolutely fantastic (and I´m not saying that because my one and only block is in there 🙂 ). You are doing a great job!

    • katechiconi says:

      Your block is one of my favourites! I got another seam done today, so only one medium and one long one still to do, and I can start binding 🙂 I’m looking forward to getting something else up on the design wall…

  10. claire93 says:

    you’re going great guns, and maybe Santa will find room in the sleigh for your dream iron?

Leave a Reply

