Stay+: bringing it all together

After my recent QAYG post, it was time to put the process to work.

The Stayquilt is 5 blocks across and 5 down, so I divided it into uneven halves:

  • One ‘corner’ of 2 x 2 at top left, one ‘corner’ of 3 x 2 at top right
  • One ‘corner’ of  2 x 3 at bottom left and one ‘corner’ of 3 x 3 at bottom right.

Then I got cracking. I cut a whole bunch (that’s a technical term, if you’re a quilter) of 1 inch strips for the fronts, and 1¾ inch strips for the backs. The back strips were pressed in half lengthways. For the purpose of the first half of this assembly, none of the strips required joining, as I’d cut the strips across the width of the fabric, which was sufficiently long. The fabric is 42 inches wide, and I can get three joining sections out of each width for my 12½ inch blocks, or one long joining strip for the 3×2 or 3×3 sections.

If you’re interested in how it all goes together by this Quilt As You Go process, you can find the detail in my earlier tutorial on the subject, here. Since I wrote it, I’ve reduced the width of strip I cut for the back from 2 inches to 1¾ inch; I’ve got better at doing it, and I don’t need such a generous overlap on the back to ensure I catch it with my stitching on the front.

Here, you see the two top ‘corners’ completed but not yet joined:

stay-top-left-assembly

Top left corner

stay-top-right-assembly

Top right corner

Lynn of Tialys is also working away at her slightly larger quilt, which is 5 x 6 blocks in format. She’s working on other things, and is also a bit unwell, so she’s made great progress considering, don’t you think?

lynn-lhs-sectionsI do love her colour scheme. Her husband is getting this quilt for Christmas, and I think he’s a very lucky bloke…

I’ll have Stay+ assembled in a couple of days if I can keep up the momentum. Then it’s time for the binding, one of my favourite parts!

19 thoughts on “Stay+: bringing it all together

  1. tialys says:

    I hadn’t really thought about trying to get all my blocks joined in time to give him the quilt for Christmas but your mini two person (i.e. me and you) ‘quilt as you go along’ gave me the kick up the backside I needed to get stuck in. If I can get the rest joined by Thursday night when he gets back from the U.K. I’ll conceal it for the weekend and do the binding when he goes back on Monday. Yes!!

  2. Moira says:

    Love the way that Lynn’s quilt, and yours, are turning out! I’ve got a couple of quilts planned for myself this next year, ones that have been long put off. I may have to learn how to quilt them like you do here in order to get them done.

    • katechiconi says:

      It makes things so much quicker and more pleasant. That barrier between finishing the top and starting to quilt is broken because everything’s broken down into bitesize chunks. You can quilt a block in an hour if you’re not doing anything desperately fancy, and there’s no floor grovelling or wrestling with huge pieces of batting. I hope you find the earlier tutorial helpful.

  3. claire93 says:

    that’s the way to do it, motivating each other! come on Kate & Lynn, you can both do it.

  4. kathyreeves says:

    They look great, ladies!

  5. rutigt says:

    Ah…. You sew the strings on the back on the machine!!!! I have always stitch that part handsewing 🙂 You both have very nice quilts going on!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes – I make the back strips just a bit wider than the front ones, and then stitch in the ditch beside the front strip, which catches the edge of the back strip. My hand stitching is fast, but not as fast as the machine, and I want to make sure it will last through lots of washing 🙂

Leave a Reply

