Bee, Myself and I #8

To make up for lost time, I’ve been doing a lot of sewing in the last couple of days.

hatbox-11

Block 11

hatbox-12

Block 12

And here is the result of some of it. Two more hatboxes for my Bee, Myself and I selfish sewing project. I’m now officially one third of the way through the blocks I need, and I’ve picked out the next bunch of candidate fabrics. It’s all looking a bit pale and pastel-y up there on the design wall, so I’m going for stronger backgrounds and more saturated colour for the next round.

I’m not sure how many of the original participants are still stitching along quietly with their selfish sewing, but I know this bee’s owner, Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl, has reached a major landmark with hers. Nip over there and have a look, it’s really impressive!

If you want to know more about the bee, click on the button a fair way down in the left hand column.

34 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #8

  1. Moira says:

    Great blocks! I really need to do something like this next year so that I actually get something made for myself…..that would be a total change for once.

    • katechiconi says:

      Setting yourself a once-a-month-post goal isn’t too much of a commitment, I find. And there’s no Bee Police to tell you you’re late – again, or they’re not impressed with your output! I think it’s an ongoing thing, so if you want to join in, maybe drop Carla a line?

  2. I don’t consider sewing/quilting for myself to be selfish. I consider required, in order to give so much to others!

    • katechiconi says:

      I think the word Selfish is only to differentiate between the charity projects, quilts for other people, bee activities, etc. I agree, sometimes we have to make pretty just for ourselves ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. anne54 says:

    It doesn’t look pale and pastel-y from this distance. Love to see what you have in mind. I am sure it will be stunning.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve dug out a few darker-background prints, which I hope will restore balance. Once I get the Stay+ quilt off the design wall (eek, must get to work on that!), I’ll be able to start considering what the colour values are doing in more detail.

  4. I love the hat boxes! They look so fun and quite vibrant to me. I so wish I could applique. Maybe I’ll have time to learn next year. I have a friend that prefers to do applique. Those would be fun.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m fortunate in that my sewing machine does a nice blanket stitch, but if it didn’t I’d be using a close zigzag around the edges of the pieces, and they’re not turned under, it’s all ‘raw edge’. It isn’t hard to do, it just needs a bit of preparation for best results. The original design of the quilt and the templates can be found in the Kaffe Fassett Passionate Patchwork book, if you ever feel like giving it a go.

      • Thanks for the information, Kate. I’ll look for the book. I’ve done some raw edge with machine stitching but that looked at first glance at turned edge work. The old eyes aren’t all that sharp. The hat boxes just look fun and you do them so well. Have a great week.

      • katechiconi says:

        You’re welcome, and I hope you give it a try ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. tialys says:

    More gorgeousness with your boxes. I nipped over to Carla’s blog and it has come as a revelation that all hexagons don’t have to be made the same.

  6. claire93 says:

    two more great blocks ^^

  7. Lynda says:

    Kate, these are so beautiful you make me wish I were doing them too! I am starting a new table runner for Christmas… we’ll see if I get it done before the New Year! HA!

  8. magpiesue says:

    There’s something about that first hatbox that really appeals to me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I haven’t been doing so well with my Bee efforts. Going to have to revisit that concept in another month or so…

    • katechiconi says:

      I particularly like the contrast between the small and busy 1930s reproduction print, and the large, formal design of the lid edge fabric. Apart from the colours, it was the main reason I chose the two fabrics!

  9. nettyg says:

    Pretty pretties!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, my lovely. I’ve been in radio silence for the last two days, doing a mad dash north to pick something up in Townsville: up last night, back down this morning. Very weary….

  10. nettyg says:

    Was that my Christmas pressie you went to get ๐Ÿ™‚ lol Hope you’re taking it easy today, it’s hot up your way.

    • katechiconi says:

      Only if you want a written-off motorbike we bought in an online auction for parts ๐Ÿ™‚ It sure is hot up here, no rain anywhere on the horizon, fairly gusty wind and fire index through the roof. Sadly, we have to do a number of outdoor things today, but I’ll be retreating to the shade as soon as possible.

    • katechiconi says:

      Knew you’d enjoy the pink one! I love that ’30s black, red and green floral too, I’ve had to hoard the scraps – or at least, what’s left after putting some of it into the Big Hexie flowers…

  11. rutigt says:

    I love dotty fabrics and when they come in pink….Yeah!!!!!

Leave a Reply

