Stay+ part 2: quilting’s half done

Last time I posted about Stay+ I just had the top line done.

This time, I’ve got more to show. I’m halfway through! The top line you’ve seen before, but line 2 and the half of line 3 I’ve done are quilted and trimmed. As you can see, the ‘+‘ sign is beginning to emerge.

stay-line-2-half-of-3-quilted

I’m going to wait till I have all the blocks done before I start to join them up. I learned the hard way with the Time for Teal quilt that joining long strips to long strips was a lot harder and more painful than it needed to be. With the next QAYG project I worked on (Grey Nomad), I joined the blocks into sections, and then joined those. It made life a lot easier, there was a lot less blood floating around as a result of pin sticks, and I didn’t throw it down in fury even once!

I have to cut a bunch of backing fabric squares before I can carry on, but there wasn’t time to get that done today. Soon, I promise.  I want to get this off by the end of the month if possible. Which reminds me; I need fabric for binding. Oh dear, a trip to the fabric shop, what a hardship…!

And now it’s time to turn my attention to something completely different. But it’s a secret!

14 thoughts on “Stay+ part 2: quilting’s half done

  1. Your blood comment just cracked me up. Extreme quilting! x

  2. Debbierose says:

    Yes long strips are akward, I agree

  3. katechiconi says:

    I find making up blocks of 2 x 3 or 2 x 2 works well. That way, mostly you’re not joining any more than 3 blocks at a time until the very last minute.

  4. tialys says:

    So you don’t use long strips for the width?

    • katechiconi says:

      You do need to have a couple of long joins, but I don’t do a full width join for each line. With a 5×5 block quilt, I’ll make two sections of 2×3, two sections of 2×2, a section of 3 in line and a section of 2 in line. You have lots of short joins, and then just two long ones across the width. But different things work for different people 🙂

  5. A lot less blood floating around has to be a good thing!

  6. rutigt says:

    Looking good! And yes, it´s a great idea to join the blocks in sections!!

Leave a Reply

