TWX1: Gearing up for xxs

In a month or two, it’ll be time for a new Ovarian Cancer Quilt.

For those not yet in the know, I make quilts for Ovarian Cancer Australia, to be auctioned at their fundraising events to raise money for research into this silent killer. It’s a chronically under-funded cause, so I’m delighted to help. I’m slowly plugging along on the current version, Stay+ (positive), quilting a square here and there as time allows. Today, there was no time at all, but it’s not a huge quilt and it will be done soon.

Which will leave me free to start Tealed with a Kiss (TWX). Yesterday morning I received a squishy parcel. Huge excitement! Not only did it contain three F²F² blocks from Sue (which you can see in the gallery), but also four wonderful blocks for TWX. Aren’t they lovely?

sue-bowtie-x sue-4patch-x sue-big-bordered-heart sue-4-small-hearts

The hearts will go along the bottom edge, together with the Ovarian Cancer ribbon block I try to include on all the quilts I make for them. The rest of the quilt will consist of blocks featuring an X in some form or other, whether formal or improv, positive or negative, little or large. As always, the blocks will finish at 12 inches square, or 12½ inches unfinished.

If you’re a quilter and you’d like to contribute a block for this quilt, do let me know in the Comments section, or email me at the address you’ll find on my Contact Me page. Each contributor is credited on the finished quilt’s label. The colour scheme is any shade of teal, from light to dark, on a cream to beige background. I lay out, quilt and assemble the blocks, using the QAYG process.

I’ll be away over the weekend, travelling, so please excuse me if you contact me and don’t get an immediate response. We’ll be passing through quite a few WiFi blackspots!

 

 

20 thoughts on “TWX1: Gearing up for xxs

  1. Just another wonderful thing you do, but this one feels more personal. My mother had ovarian cancer and, I’m happy to say, recovered fully.

  2. claire93 says:

    gorgeous blocks! you’re always so very busy!!!

  3. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    wonderfull fabric !

  4. kathyreeves says:

    I’m in Kate. I have some teal fabric just waiting for this, and I have some blocks to choose from as well.

  5. tialys says:

    You are a machine! 😉

  6. dayphoto says:

    OH! YAY! You have fun!

    Linda

  7. Thimberlina says:

    Yes, I’m in too. Not being a proper quieter I’ll need to look up some x’s, looking forward to watching it’s progress 😀

  8. Lynda says:

    I was wondering when this was going to come up! Guess I’d better get going so I can post it to you! I still can’t believe how L-O-N-G… it takes to get from Alabama to Australia! ❤

  9. anne54 says:

    Teal is one of my all time favourite colours, and when it is made into a quilt…..on my! It will be beautiful, and treasured by a lucky person.

  10. […] made a couple of blocks for ‘tealed with a kiss‘ – the next quilt that’s being made to raise money for ovarian cancer. Kate from […]

Leave a Reply

