Big Hexies!

It was time for several ideas to come together.

I needed a new scrappy project. I needed a handwork project. I needed… something different. And here it is. Those who’ve followed me for a while know that I love hexies and the peaceful hand stitching that goes with them. As well as the weeny scraps I chewed up making the Grey Nomad quilt, I’ve got a good range of larger ones. So I dug a bunch of them out, using bright and muted prints in a variety of sizes. I paired all of these with black for the flower centres, and a white with medium black spot for the intervening spaces. A substantial bunch of scraps went on our camping trip with us, and a substantial bunch of hexie flowers came back, but since then, the quantity has exploded because I’m enjoying this new project so much!

big-hexies-1

The papers are 2 inches to a side, so the flowers are a good size and the stack is growing fast. I also love that the size of each hexie lets me feature the fabrics beautifully. Each flower takes one piece of black and then a scrap rectangle 10 x 14 inches, cut into 6 equal pieces. In some, I’ve mixed up the fabrics, in others, kept each petal the same. For each hexie, I cut a piece 4.5 x 5 inches, and then simply fold and stitch it around the paper, rather than cutting it to shape. Whether I trim it out afterwards depends on the weight of the fabric. For lawn or voile, I don’t bother. For heavier weights, I will. This process has worked very well for me on all the hexie quilts I’ve done before, and saves a huge amount of time, since I can whack out all the pieces very quickly with a ruler and rotary cutter.

This is just a taster; already I actually have twice the number you see here, but you’ll have to wait for ScrapHappy day on 15th of the month to see more 🙂

28 thoughts on “Big Hexies!

  1. Oooo, I love it! So bright and fun!

  2. Gorgeous! I love they way you’ve used the black for the flower centres. You are so patient stitching with paper. I’m looking forward to seeing this one grow. Will the border be black? Will there be a border? Already so many questions…

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, I think there may be a border of single black hexies if I face it, like I did with Worldwide Friends. Otherwise, I’ll put in black hexies and part hexies to give it a straight edge. All good questions, but I’ll wait and see what the quilt asks for at the end 🙂

  3. Great idea with the joiner hexies.

  4. Kathy D says:

    Very pretty, just like a spring meadow! Have not tried hexies – yet – maybe at that size I will give it a go.

  5. manicmumdays says:

    Beautiful!! I love hexies but am too impatient to do a heap of hand stitching *sigh*

  6. I love how you have used a spotty print as a spacer.

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Beautiful inspiration and great hints about speeding up the process.

  8. anne54 says:

    Your joy and enthusiasm for this work comes shining through, Kate. Bright,mcheerful and joyful!

  9. NikkiM says:

    Love the hexies!

  10. tialys says:

    Lovely! You’re right about showcasing the fabrics – I recognised the one you made your sewing box with.

  11. claire93 says:

    reminds me I need to pick up my “Let it Bee” hexies and get that finished

  12. […] project, currently imaginatively called Big Hexies (needs work, I know!). You may have seen the post earlier this month on my first batch of hexie flowers. Here’s the next […]

Leave a Reply

