Bee, Myself and I #7

OK, OK, I’m 5 days late for my self-imposed deadline for this selfish sewing post.

And now that I have that minor guilt trip out of the way, here is the latest offering for the Hatbox Quilt.

hatbox-10It’s a more modern fabric design than many of the others, but I felt the need for some splashy bright freshness after the more conventional prints used on most of the other blocks so far.  And I love this one! So I think you can expect to see some more in the same vein.

So, that’s the first 10 blocks done. If we’re going to get particular (and you know I will), I’ve done 27% of the blocks I need. It’s a whole heap easier than the first one by now, and if you’re interested, here are some of the things I’ve learned along the way:

  • Make good quality templates. They take a beating. Mark the straight grain and centre of each piece if you want patterns to line up.
  • Starch your fabric. Really starch it. Starch the hell out of it. You want a finish as crispy as paper for drawing round your templates on, and to make cutting out easier, and minimising fraying.
  • Use tear-away stabiliser, it stops stitch channelling dead in its tracks. It’s worth every penny of the cost.
  • Baste through the appliqué pieces, the background and the stabiliser, with the tear grain running North-South, which makes tearing it out much easier with this particular design.
  • Use extra long basting threads, and leave the tails trailing, don’t cut them off. Use them again and again, once you’ve pulled them out. I’m still using the same threads from Block 3.
  • Trim out the background fabric from behind the appliqué pieces once you’ve torn away the stabiliser. A bit less bulk will be easier to quilt. I left a ¼ inch from each seam at the back.
  • And that Y seam where the three background fabrics meet? Yup, I’m still turning out perfect seams, even though they get cut away at the end. Obsessive, moi?

There’s a bunch of us doing our selfish sewing as part of Bee, Myself and I, and if you’d like to see what they’re up to, scroll down till you see the bee button in the left side bar, and click through.

23 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #7

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    The print may be modern, but the hat box has an old fashioned feel to me. I like it.

  2. Debbierose says:

    Excellent hints & tips, thanks Kate

  3. claire93 says:

    oooh love with this one!

    • katechiconi says:

      I know, it’s gorgeous fabric! I was surprised how happily it sat with the smaller, more traditional prints and the more formal designs. It’s given me the courage to try more big splashy prints.

  4. tialys says:

    I have made one of these blocks myself in the past – can’t find it though
    😦 – and have the plastic template clipped inside the book. Thanks for the tips which I shall search for if I get round to making some more which I would like to as they are so lovely.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s a fun way of making something pretty out of quite small pieces of fabric too, so if you just have a small square of a beloved print, this will preserve it for posterity! I’m making my blocks smaller than in the book, 10 inches finished, as I didn’t want such a big quilt, so my templates are a bit smaller and fiddlier than in the book 😦

  5. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    that flower fabric is awesome !! even for a summerdress !!!! love it !

  6. Ooh, that floral fabric is lush 🙂 Lovely blanket stitch too.

  7. anne54 says:

    The splash of colour in that fabric is wonderful, and I think the more subdued, but still interesting fabrics of the background really set it off.
    I went to an exhibition of Annemieke Mien’s work the other day. There was a fascinating slideshow of how she goes about her work. If I can find it online I will let you know.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, she’s a genius with textiles as well as more conventional art media! Wasn’t she showing at the Bayside recently? If you can find the link, I’d be very interested in seeing her process.

  8. kathyreeves says:

    I love the flowers, and this week I have also learned about the amazing qualities of starch, it is quite amazing really. This is going to be an awesome quilt!

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s very rare that I make a quilt to someone else’s design, but this one has been on my to do list, ever since I first saw it many years ago. And yes, starch is a huge help with appliqué 🙂

  9. I love that fabric.
    Why is it that Y-seams always line up when they will later be cut away or hidden?

  10. rutigt says:

    Thanks for the advices. That modern fabric is gorgeous!!!

Leave a Reply

