Stay+ part 1: top line quilted

Now that the camping trip is fully tidied away and we’ve got our tax return sorted, I’ve been able to start sewing again.

Before I went away, I organised all the blocks for the Ovarian Cancer Stay+ quilt. In a couple of free hours over the last couple of days, I got the top row sandwiched and quilted. I’d have carried on, but I need to cut more batting squares and my worktable was covered with scraps (a story for ScrapHappy day!), so I left it there for now. There are 5 rows of 5 blocks, so I’m thinking I’ll be able to get this done fairly quickly.

stay-line-1-quiltedOriginally, I’d thought of quilting each one with a + sign, but there are blocks where that design simply won’t work, so I’m working on the principle that whatever occurs to me when I start is what the block is getting! The blocks in the 4 corners will probably get + signs, and I think the big dark teal + sign formed by the central horizontal and vertical blocks will get wiggly lines. Apart from that, I will review the size of the block and tailor the quilting to that, since some are the right size and some are a little scant.

And I’m sewing a little slower than usual because I have a sore elbow. Imagine you banged your funny bone, and it carried on hurting and tingling; it’s like that, but my nice doctor says it’ll go away in its own time, once the nerve recovers.

Hope I don’t run out of quilting design ideas before I run out of blocks… 🙂

20 thoughts on “Stay+ part 1: top line quilted

  1. I can relate to your sore elbow. I have tendonitis in both arms at the moment, can’t even get comfortable in bed 😦 I believe it’s called an occupational hazard.

  2. tialys says:

    Your method of quilting each block with whatever design occurs to you at the time is the method I’m using to put my F2F quilt together. It’s one of the things I love about quilting as you go.
    Good luck with your funny bone – I know you’re not laughing! 😦

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s nice and easy that way, isn’t it? And I think instinctive responses are very often the truest.
      The funny bone is a bit un-funny, especially if I put the elbow down on something hard! Never mind, hopefully the joke will be over soon…

  3. Debbierose says:

    Why do they call it funny bone, when it hurts so? Get well soon ☺

    • katechiconi says:

      I’ve always thought the name was particularly inappropriate! Most of the time, it’s fine, and then I’ll knock it on something and go through the roof. Thanks for the good wishes 🙂

  4. I love the colours. Hope the elbow clears up quickly.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m a big fan of teal, which is just as well, because I’ll be making a fair few teal quilts – it’s the Ovarian Cancer colour! The elbow is already a little better, I think.

  5. I have complete faith that you’ll never run out of quilting design ideas.

  6. kathyreeves says:

    You will be coming up with new stuff until your last breath, Kate! Wish you were close enough to see your great ideas in person, I know I would learn a ton in one short hour! A pillow can be helpful, especially a small one taped to your arm…I found that very useful the fall I cracked both bones at the elbow. It kept me from scaring the office every time I put my arm down wrong on my desk! :0)

  7. dayphoto says:

    I’m sorry your laid up again. I am too, I ran for 1/2 mile in flipflops and gave myself skin splints. I’m too old to run. I was exhausted after the sprint…but it was necessary I was stuck and needed to get help.

    Linda

    • katechiconi says:

      Ow! That sounds really painful. I hope the getting stuck thing wasn’t too difficult to sort out. I’m getting better pretty quickly, nothing serious, just a bruised nerve.

  8. rutigt says:

    Don´t work too hard! I think you are doing a great job already, so I think you can slow down a bit and take care of your hurting elbow!

Leave a Reply

