An antidote to laundry

So, we’re back, and I do wish we’d had a few more days.

This is despite the comfort of air conditioning and a huge and pillowy bed. If truth be told, we’re both a bit weary; trips on a motorbike are physically more demanding than travelling in a car. Also on the downside is the laundry… heaps and heaps of it. Clothes, bedding, towels and of course bike gear which has contained two hot and slightly sweaty people for about 2,040kms/1,270 miles. I wouldn’t have done without the armoured jacket and gloves and the Kevlar-lined pants, but it does make an extra couple of machine loads to deal with.

So you can imagine how delighted I was to receive a distraction, in the form of a fabulous squishy envelope from Lynn and Sandra in France, two of the F²F² participants. They sew together, so it seemed sensible to send their blocks out together. There were unseemly squeaks of delight as I opened the thing up. And then this morning, a second squishy from Moira in the US. I was literally forced to stop sorting dirty socks and open envelopes and photograph the contents… You can imagine my reluctance. Not.

So, having been inundated with all this fabulousness, I’ve created a bunch of collage shots.  Here we go.

lynn-f2f2-october

Lynn’s three F²F² blocks, which are already up in the gallery,

sandra-f2f2-october

As are Sandra’s lovely work,

moira-f2f2-october

And Moira’s pieces of gorgeousness!

carla-1-lynn-1-and-2-twx

Also in the parcel, centre and right, two Tealed with a Kiss blocks for a forthcoming Ovarian Cancer quilt from Lynn. At left is a block from Carla of Granny Maud’s Girl, who sent me this a while ago, but I hadn’t shown it, so a credit for this is well overdue.

lynn-1-and-2-sandra-and-moira-goodies

And finally, the LOOT! A really beautiful piece of fabric Lynn thought would work well for my Hatbox Quilt project. She’s right! A really useful and strangely appropriate tote, also from Lynn. A seriously cute peg bag from Sandra (check out that teeny weeny appliqué on the front!), and finally, a gorgeous 3D pansy postcard from Moira.

And now, I really must go and fold clean towels, sheets and quilts. Anything but more socks… 😦

27 thoughts on “An antidote to laundry

  1. tialys says:

    I’m pleased you like your squishie. I hope the middle ‘X’ is enough like an ‘X’ – I thought it did at the time, albeit a stylised and complicated one – but now I’m not so sure.
    I hope it’s not too humid and you can get all that washing dry.

    • katechiconi says:

      The X is perfectly X-like, never fear! And at present, the sun is paying for me to use the tumble dryer for towels, etc. One of the benefits of 20 solar panels on the roof! Also, the aircon compressor is in the long porch at the side of the house, and all the hot air that blows out dries anything I put on the wooden drying racks in there. I am a laundry MACHINE!

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    I love the fox block.

  3. gwenniesgardenworld says:

    wow all those colours !!!

  4. Oooh! What a lot if cheerfulness is zooming across the globe 😃

  5. claire93 says:

    gorgeous blocks ^^

  6. Debbierose says:

    That foxy block is stunning

  7. EllaDee says:

    Lovely gifts and a perfect distraction from post holiday domestic tasks. For me any travel is welcome but tiring, whether it’s me traveling or houseguests coming to us. These days I do what I have to and grant myself a long weekend to recover.

  8. manicmumdays says:

    Beautiful blocks!!
    And the real antidote to laundry = don’t wear clothes! haha

  9. How wonderful! The F2F2 blocks will be a lot of fun to play with when arranging. Opening the packages would have made a great day even out of laundry day, I’m sure.

    • katechiconi says:

      They will indeed! Two of the group are running late this month, both with very good reasons, but it means I’ll have to postpone the layout for a little longer… Never mind, they say anticipation increases the final pleasure 🙂

  10. magpiesue says:

    What a wonderful set of blocks – and other treasures!

  11. kathyreeves says:

    Those blocks are really quite spectacular, bother color combo and the actual piecing. 😍

    • katechiconi says:

      I know! The great thing about the F2F block swaps is that people who started out a bit hesitant and not sure of their skills found that they gained confidence and skill, and started to challenge themselves more. It’s been so good for all of us 🙂

  12. What lovely mail! I have that tote too.
    For me, it is anything but more ironing. I wash everything with enthusiasm, then it all grinds to a halt in the ironing basket.
    It is great to hear that you had a wonderful trip.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have to confess, I rarely iron anything! I dry shirts either on a hanger or in the tumble drier, the Husband wears jeans for work; about the only thing that I iron sometimes is handkerchiefs. Oh, and fabric for quilting, obviously!
      The squishie was magnificent, and was the perfect finale to a wonderful trip 🙂

Leave a Reply

