The other sort of travel kit

In just over 3 weeks, we’ll be hitting the road north.

The Husband and I, Miss Scarlett and her trailer are off on a camping trip. We’re heading first for Townsville for a couple of days and then for Atherton, up on the cool tablelands above Cairns, in Far North Queensland. Into our newly refurbished motorbike trailer will go tent, camp bed, chairs, lamps, basic cooking equipment and food, bedding, water, fuel and other bulky necessities. Clothes and personal kit will go in the bike panniers, top box and tank pack. It’ll be warm, so warm clothes aren’t needed, but we’ll definitely have the waterproofs along, given that it’s spring and we’re coming into the Wet.

Somewhere in that lot, I’m going to need some sewing. What – you thought I could go on holiday without sewing? Some mistake, surely…

Clearly, it will be hand sewing, and given that we’re camping I can’t pack my super-duper LED magnifying lamp, so the embroidery’s out. So yes, you guessed it, time for hexies once more. BIG hexies.

big-hexiekitI have a pack of large hexie papers, and a lot of lovely large pieces of scrap left over from the Hatbox Quilt blocks, and some of these will fit in with what I have in mind. I’ll need lots of 5 inch squares of my floral prints, mid to pale colour palette, and at various scales. The hexie flowers will have a dark centre, either navy or black. Some will have all the same petals, others will vary. At night, when accuracy will be hard, I can assemble hexies. During the day (assuming I get any down time off the bike!) I can stitch the hexies into flowers. I’ll stop short of trying to sew flowers together; I need to keep the kit small and manageable, given how much space is available.

I’ve no idea yet what these will be for, but I’m sure there’s a hexie quilt of some description in my future.

36 thoughts on “The other sort of travel kit

  1. Those prints look so lovely together. And I’m glad I’m not the only one who packs with handwork in mind!

    • katechiconi says:

      By no means! I never travel without something to do with my hands, whether it’s a long road trip or yet another visit to hospital. But I love this part: planning a new project.

  2. tialys says:

    I took my little box of hexies with me to Catalunya 😉 but they didn’t come out once. I didn’t want to get sun lotion on them during the day and, in the evening, I didn’t want to get wine on them.
    Even though the term ‘camping holiday’ is an oxymoron in my opinion – I hope you have a good one 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      The dictionary says a holiday is “an extended period of leisure or recreation, especially one spent away from home or in travelling”… it will be nice to get away, I love FNQ, and our camping set-up is virtually glamping: we have a large and comfortable bed with proper bedding, and a powered site so we can recharge phones, lappies and run a fan if we need to. There won’t be a lot to do in the evenings apart from having a snifter or two and talk, so I may as well keep my hands busy 🙂

  3. Grannymar says:

    Knowing you, Kate, I am sure you will return with a basket full of ‘hexie flowers! Enjoy the three weeks planning.

  4. Sounds like you Will have a lot of fun. Be safe

  5. rutigt says:

    Hexies are always useful! You can sew a whole quilt with them or use them as applique on a quilt. You can sew bags filled with hexies and so on. Good idea to bring the kit with you on your trip 🙂

  6. Debbierose says:

    Hexies are a gr8 holiday project. Compact yet rewarding

  7. dayphoto says:

    OH, how exciting! I hope you have a great time! Take lots of photos and share with us!!!

    Love you,
    Linda

  8. Kathy D says:

    Is the trailer done?? We need pics! You are so organized, have a safe and happy fun filled holiday.

  9. I’m imagining you trying to stitch when not driving the bike 🙂 Maybe a magnifying visor…

  10. I’m leaving on a road trip in 6 days and I was thinking of a project. Great Idea. Thanks

  11. EllaDee says:

    You are very organised… simply travelling takes up all my creativity 🙄

  12. kathyreeves says:

    I love your project for the road, and it’s so nice to know that I am not the only one. I have been known to knit my way through the conference I am currently at, just to stop the fidgets. This year, alas, I couldn’t…I had the quilt along to do the binding, didn’t think that would go over very well in the meetings. A camping vacation sounds divine!

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, conferences can definitely cause a bad case of hand-fidgets, and are about the only time I wish I could knit properly. If the light was good enough, I’d take embroidery or hand stitching, but too often it’s not.
      If the rain holds off, it should be a splendid trip. If it doesn’t, well, it’s a good shakedown for the new trailer and a break from routine. We have excellent waterproofs!

  13. craftycreeky says:

    I always pack a little something to do on holiday, usually embroidery, enjoy your trip 🙂

  14. Teeny hexies would fit the panniers better. Just saying! 🙂

Leave a Reply

