Keeping my nose clean*

On long, quiet evenings when the Husband is on night shift, I often cast around for something to do, mostly to keep myself out of the biscuit tin (cookie jar).

In this situation, there’s a strong tendency on my part to get into mischief (snacking, rearranging furniture, ‘tidying’ things that I should have left well alone…) unless I keep busy with legitimate projects. So I’ve made myself some handkerchiefs. I showed you the fabrics a while ago, and expressed the intention of doing so, but like so many things, it fell by the wayside of more interesting or urgent projects. Last night, lacking the Husband’s company and any other undemanding sewing project, I got out the lawn fat quarters I’d acquired, cut 12 inch squares, and got cracking.

hankiesI do like a narrow hem and mitred corner on a hankie, and these lovelies have them, thanks to careful scoring/creasing and corner trimming. The creasing of the fold lines really is key to producing a nice tidy mitre. I’ve also found managing the narrow (¼ inch) hem and sewing line 1/16 of an inch from the fold is considerably easier if you use a walking foot. I could probably have bought hankies for a fraction of what I paid for the fabric, but it wouldn’t have been nearly as much fun, and I wouldn’t have ended up with the lovely scraps.

Now all I have to do is wait for an opportunity to give them a test drive. Shame nose-blowing season is over in the Southern Hemisphere… gloat, gloat 😉

*Slang for staying out of trouble, in case English isn’t your first language!

35 thoughts on “Keeping my nose clean*

  1. I wish I had your particular mischief tendencies. Not snacking necessarily, but rearranging and tidying sound like darn impressive slack time occupations. I’m most likely to pour a generous glass of wine and read. And read. And read. Good enough book and I’m oblivious to the time. Many a time I’ve looked up to find it’s 3 am.

  2. knitnkwilt says:

    Gloat away–I’ll remember next summer. 🙂 Making hankies sounds a little like making socks. For the fun of it, not any money savings. They look good. Any hints on mitering such narrow hems?

    • katechiconi says:

      I’d say that scoring the fold lines is key. I use a quilting ruler and the back edge of my stitch ripper, first at the quarter and then the half inch mark, all the way round. Then cut across the corners at the second creased square in, fold down 1/8 inch and turn down the hems. The mitres should be quite easy to form. Let me know if you want a tutorial.

  3. You don’t work on your quilts at night? How come?

  4. EllaDee says:

    You could give up your day job and take your funny puns on the road… 🤓

    • katechiconi says:

      Don’t tempt me… There are all sorts of puns available in quilting terms: travelling stitches, walking foot, etc. And what would a post from Chiconia be without a pun or two?

  5. susanpblog says:

    I love your hankies, they are much prettier than any you can buy

  6. craftycreeky says:

    I usually escape to my sewing room when my OH is working, though if he’s away for a few days I have been known to redecorate a room! Your hankies are so pretty.

    • katechiconi says:

      You DO understand! Sadly I’m no longer able to do the furniture moving that redecorating requires, but yes, I’ve been known to paint rooms on impulse. Perhaps it’s just as well….

  7. tialys says:

    I couldn’t possibly blow my nose on those beauties. Now it’s getting cooler my evening ‘habit’ of knitting will start again – I know it’s almost time as I’ve been looking at yarn online. Not only does it keep me busy but, if it’s not a complicated pattern, it stops me falling to sleep in front of the T.V. and then annoying everybody by asking ‘what happened?’
    Tidying up – necessary or otherwise – never occurs to me 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I had the pink spotty one in my pocket today when the Husband realised he’d come out without one of his own. I told him to hang onto it once it had done its duty… Tee hee, Husband has a pink hankie!

  8. claire93 says:

    very pretty, but I’ll stick to disposable tissues for my runny nose ^^

  9. Nose-blowing season isn’t over here. It is still stupidly cold for late September. Come visit. Bring your stylish hankies!

  10. nanacathy2 says:

    Too pretty for nose blowing. Perfect for gentle dabbing of the mouth after tea! Nose blowing season hit me with high velocity on Saturday. Full blown man flu!

  11. Grannymar says:

    Pretty colours for blow & show!

  12. Lynda says:

    These are lovely, Kate, but I would have a hard time using them just because they are so lovely. 😀

  13. magpiesue says:

    Sounds too fiddly to be fun to me but good for you! You’ll have the prettiest hankies in town. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      I have another couple of pieces of lawn, but the colours are brighter, which is why I didn’t make them up the first time. Now, I’m thinking they’d be nice to have as hankies too. It’s fiddly, you’re right, but also strangely satisfying…

  14. Kate, your first paragraph has me smiling: I used to do all of those things: furniture rearranging is my specialty! I’m off of sugar for now, so the cookies are out of the house so that I’m not even tempted. I have a cupboard of things for my son’s school lunches, and buy him cookies that I don’t like (chocolate chip.) Now if they were oatmeal raisin or peanut butter, I would be doomed.

    Those hankies are far to pretty for there intended use. I suppose that it good incentive to stay healthy. They’re lovely.

    I used a vintage hankie to wrap a gift once. I folded it into a small box and it was just the right size to act like a piece of tissue wrap.

    Fun post!

    • katechiconi says:

      We’re working hard to reduce our sugar intake, with the intention of getting rid of it altogether in the not too distant future. I have the additional disadvantage of being celiac and lactose intolerant as well, so I’m used to reading labels, but it does limit my dietary options even more 😦 . Still, it has to be done, we both have far too much belly fat!
      I’m glad you like the hankies. They’re in use already, and I find it a pleasure to fish something pretty out of my pocket or purse 🙂

      • I’m sorry to hear about the celiac and lactose problems. They seem to be on the rise for a lot of people. I’m senstive to most dairy myself. I can eat yogurt and cheese, but not milk or ice cream. I’ve been amazed at how quickly the sugar cravings went away once I stopped. The goal is to keep at it. I know we’ll all feel much better in the long run. I’ve been a vegetarian for nearly 40 years, so I read labels as well.

        I’m glad you’re enjoying the hankies.

Leave a Reply

