Blogger’s Quilt Festival: entry 2

I hadn’t planned to show a second one, but after Ann reminded me about this quilt I changed my mind!

AmysCreativeSide

Another entry into the Blogger’s Quilt Festival for 2016, which you can check out by clicking on the link, or on the button to the left. This one is the Bookcase Quilt. Although it’s another original design, I already have one there, and this one is just small enough to fit into the Small Quilt category in the Festival.

bookcase quilt designThis quilt was made for a niece who’s living and working in Australia just now, having fallen in love with the place on a previous visit. She has a wonderful blog called The Unlikely Bookworm, and writing, books and reading form such a huge part of her life that the theme for a quilt for her was a total no-brainer. I’ve managed to incorporate a number of her own possessions into the finished quilt, as well as book titles she’d read as part of the BBC Big Read. If you zoom in a lot on the image, you’ll be able to read titles on the orange and white ‘Penguin paperback’ spines. Obviously, the design has evolved between the fairly dull paper original and the end result 🙂

This little 60 inch square quilt is intended to have an interesting life; on her bed, on her lap, on the beach, on picnics, and perhaps sometimes doing duty as a yoga mat. Already it has kept her cosy in her first chilly Sydney winter…

bookcase-quilt

37 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival: entry 2

  1. Sandy says:

    Your bookcase quilt is fabulous! I have been planning to make a bookcase quilt vaguely for awhile now and your quilt is slightly different from the others I have looked at. I like the dark background with the white case. I also love the coffee cup! You are obviously a great aunt!

  2. I didn’t see anywhere to vote for my favorite quilt but that will be harder now. You know how I feel about the bookcase quilt. I am hoping to have life settle down soon. Come on winter. 🙂 Being a book nerd, that one will be my favorite in the small category. I’m rooting for you.

    • katechiconi says:

      Voting doesn’t open for another 4 days, to give people a chance to get their posts together and linked. I’ll be sending out a reminder once voting’s open, so you don’t have to try and remember. And I think you’re allowed to vote for as many as you like 🙂

  3. Glad Ann reminded you, then. Isn’t it funny how quickly we forget what we’ve made once we move on? I went for dinner at a friend’s house recently and was struck by the mosaic mirror in her bathroom, which I thought was stunning. Then I realised I’d made it for her myself, about 6 years ago! heh

  4. tialys says:

    Both this one and your Cloths of Heaven are beautiful and worthy entries in the competition. I’m glad you’re going to remind us when the voting starts so I can get clicking.

    • katechiconi says:

      There are some amazing quilts up already, it’s just as well they have something that marks the ones you’ve read with a tick so you can tell, particularly as they keep moving around!

  5. Warm Quilts says:

    Love the theme of your quilt and those great owl bookends!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you! They’re from a photo of her actual bookends, which I printed onto transfer paper and applied. She’s very far from home, and loved the little bits and pieces to remind her of familiar things.

  6. Debbierose says:

    Great theme. Bookcase. Lends itself to so many options

  7. Lynda says:

    I have loved this one from beginning to end. It is so beautiful and clever for the personalized elements you put into it.

    • katechiconi says:

      The thing I like about the whole concept is that you could personalise it for anyone who loves books and reading. I’ve seen another kind which is also lovely, with shelves of blue and white pottery. Maybe one day…

  8. Little Black Cat Quilting says:

    I have developed a love for bookcase quilts and this one makes my heart smile. Wonderful work, I love all the little details! 🙂

  9. What a fabulous quilt! I love the way you’ve incorporated not only books, but the coffee mug and the family photo! Oh my gosh, this is so creative.

    • katechiconi says:

      There are also a big L for her initial, owl bookends like the ones she left in London, and a label with the name of her blog. She loves it!

      • Those owl bookends are fabulous. I suspect that this project took on a life of it’s own as you worked your magic. Adding the family photo is pure genius. I also clicked over to her blog. I’ll have to go back and look at your quilt one more time.

      • katechiconi says:

        Once I’d had the idea to personalise, I had to be really careful not to overdo it! All sorts of other bits were auditioned and rejected because they’d have made it too fussy.

  10. Bun Karyudo says:

    That’s actually a very cool quilt and perfect for a blogger. 🙂

  11. Danice says:

    Very pretty quilt. I love the design and those colors 🙂

  12. wendy says:

    I can’t imagine a winter in Sydney actually being cold! It’s a fab book, I love it. I have a bookcase quilt on my bucket list

  13. Teje says:

    Hi! I love your bookcase quilt! x Teje

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, Teje! I love your After the Storm quilt – I’ve always wanted to make a Storm at Sea, but as you can tell, my quilts are rarely made from all one block design! Hug for Nero x

      • Teje says:

        Thank you Kate! This was unusual project for me, too but I’m happy I did it. This pattern has lots of fun possibilities. Still I enjoy more ‘plan as I go’ projects. x Teje

  14. rutigt says:

    This quilt makes me wanna sit and read a bok instead of sitting here with my PC 🙂

  15. Very nice. I had to zoom in and read the names of the books. Well-done!

Leave a Reply

