Blogger’s Quilt Festival: my entry

The Blogger’s Quilt Festival starts today. This fun event allows quilters everywhere to showcase their work in a wide range of categories. Clicking on the button below will take you through to the website where all the entries will be showcased, and you can vote for your favourites, but voting doesn’t open for 4 days, so you’ll have to wait a little, to give people enough time to enter.

AmysCreativeSide

I’m entering The Cloths of Heaven as an Original Design Quilt. It’s not some-thing I’d normally do, but enough of you said I should that I’m going to do it! Entry requires an entire new post about the finished quilt, and as many of my more recent followers are not familiar with either the quilt or its story, here goes.


Construction pageA bit of background. My brother’s eldest daughter was getting married and was delighted to be offered a large quilt as a wedding gift. We created a Pinterest board together, using colour, imagery, texture and ideas for embellishment as inspiration for the finished thing. I had in mind a piece of poetry, one of my all-time favourites, and it seemed a perfect starting point. The poem is WB Yeats’ He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven, a tender offer of hopes and dreams to the beloved.

The Cloths of Heaven centre detailOver the course of many months, the idea evolved and gestated. I did a lot of experimentation, since this was to be a wedding gift and I was not prepared to let errors sneak through. Section by section it was assembled, embellished with hand-written calligraphy for the poem, 3D leaves, spangled star constellations, both hand and machine quilting and a purpose-made label to commemorate the happy event.The Cloths of Heaven label

And here it is, the finished thing. It now graces their bed in England, and she and her husband lie snug under a covering into which I have sewn hope, love, faith and my best wishes for their continued happiness, health and love for each other.

The Cloths of Heaven final, front

41 thoughts on “Blogger’s Quilt Festival: my entry

  1. There was so much love in that quilt the couple can’t help but have a happy life and wonderfilled marriage. I’m wishing you everything grand on this contest. I’ll vote for yours hands down.

  2. where’s that voting button?…

  3. notewords says:

    Absolutely gorgeous!

  4. Sandy says:

    It’s beautiful!!!

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to make a quilt for my niece which exactly matched and even exceeded her own vision. Pinterest and the world of blogging have made it all possible, which is why I think this festival is such a good idea.

  5. anne54 says:

    I think it is your best that I have seen, but then I remember your wonderful bookshelf one! The quilt exhibition is a great idea, and I will be voting ~ but please post a reminder when we can vote 🙂

  6. Kathy D says:

    I found your blog when you started the quilt and stayed just to see how it was going to turn out – I was mesmerized! Glad you entered it in the show and I will be sure to vote. Your work is always amazing!

    • katechiconi says:

      Thank you, that’s so kind! After some prompting I’ve decided to enter an earlier quilt too, the Bookcase Quilt I made for another niece in the Small Quilts category. Post coming soon.

  7. claire93 says:

    I really enjoyed seeing you work on this, and appreciate all the thought and love that went into it.

    • katechiconi says:

      I enjoyed myself a lot with this one, and particularly that my niece had contributed good information about what she liked and loved for it. The design process became really focussed.

  8. dayphoto says:

    VERY very beautiful! WOW was the first thought I had.

    Linda

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    It’s so nice to see this again. It’s more impressive than I remembered! Glad you’re participating in the festival; doubtful that I’ll take part this time around.

  10. Grannymar says:

    I may be late to reading this, Kate, but I will not be late to vote! It really is a fantastic quilt.

  11. Wendy says:

    It’s lovely kate, so personal

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m so glad you like it! I almost never make quilts without a recipient in mind, which means they tend to reflect the preferences of their new owners. My niece loves purple. I used not to like purple much, but after this quilt I have a new attitude. It’s never too late to learn new things…

  12. Joanne says:

    It’s beautiful! Thank you for sharing your quilt and its story.

  13. rutigt says:

    And i still love it! ❤

  14. […] remind you that all the entries are in and voting is now open, so if you’d like to vote for The Cloths of Heaven quilt I posted about 5 days ago, and the Bookcase Quilt 4 days ago, now’s your […]

Leave a Reply

