The Teal Deal: T4T finds a new home

I have good news to share πŸ™‚

Below is a copy of an email I received from Emma at Ovarian Cancer Australia about the Time For Teal quilt. I’ll let her tell the news:

screen-shot-2016-09-12-at-3-50-14-pm

I’m so pleased to have been able to help, and for such a respectable total. And to all of you who contributed and made it possible to create the quilt, a huge β™₯thank youβ™₯, a big hug, and congratulations, at helping to make a difference.

I’ll be making a start on Stay+ soon, which shouldn’t take long, as I have all the blocks ready and the layout sorted. And for anyone who’d like a chance to help out with the one after that, Tealed with a Kiss, what are needed are blocks featuring an X shape, in teal and cream, 12.5 inch square unfinished.

I’m so happy to think that this lovely quilt is now someone’s treasured possession πŸ™‚

 

40 thoughts on “The Teal Deal: T4T finds a new home

  1. anne54 says:

    Well done Kate!! And, of course, all those other wonderful women who contributed too. Research into ovarian cancer is so necessary and the $500 will be a good boost to their coffers.

    • katechiconi says:

      I’m hoping the next two quilts will also provide a boost – in fact, it’s a pleasure to be able to indulge my favourite pastime at the same time as doing some good πŸ™‚

  2. EllaDee says:

    Wonderful news, and a great effort β™‘

  3. katechiconi says:

    I’m so proud of the work everyone has put in, and this makes it seem worthwhile πŸ™‚

  4. It was well worth the $500. I’m happy it will serve 2 purposes.

  5. tialys says:

    That’s wonderful Kate! I like to think of people getting ‘competitive’ over our (but mostly your) work πŸ˜‰ When I was organising my workroom the other week I came across the box where I’d stashed any teal fabrics so I’m good to go with the kisses.

  6. Just used my foreign exchange calculator – respectable indeed! Well done πŸ™‚

  7. Sandy says:

    Well done! So glad the auction was so successful.

  8. claire93 says:

    that’s really great news!

  9. Robin Murphy says:

    Well done Kate, thank you for sharing the email with us all, it is great to be able to contribute to such a worthy cause. Viv would be thrilled that it did so well. I have my teal and creams together and will get started soon. I have been taking note of cross blocks that I have seen.

    • katechiconi says:

      Viv would be delighted, I’m sure. I need to replenish my teal stash soon… I’m hoping for a huge range of Xs to make Tealed with a Kiss as varied and interesting as possible, so I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with.

  10. Jule says:

    That’s great news πŸ™‚

  11. lucyannluna says:

    Congratulations, a nice sum raised

  12. dayphoto says:

    YAY! Wondrful!

    Linda

  13. norma says:

    Great that it raised so much money

  14. Thimberlina says:

    Wow! That’s amazing! Well done Kate and all your helps πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ‘πŸ»

  15. kathyreeves says:

    Well done, Kate! And I am so excited to work on a block for Teal with a Kiss! I’m getting closer every day, and I can hardly wait.

    • katechiconi says:

      We’re delighted to have you along! Can you let me have your email address to add to the rest of the Ovarian Cancer quilt group? Mine is on the Contact Me page of my blog. Tealed with a Kiss is going to be a fun and hopefully fast quilt to make πŸ™‚

  16. kymlucas says:

    What great news! The quilt was lovely and well worth every dollar, I know, but I am just so happy it raised so much for the Ovarian Cancer cause. Thank you, Kate, and everyone else who contributed.

    • katechiconi says:

      I hope the next two do well too. We’ve set the bar pretty high now! The second one is in progress, and the third is in planning already, so I’m trying to ensure we maintain momentum.

  17. rutigt says:

    ThatΒ΄s good news! And finally a quilt is sold for itΒ΄s right value! IΒ΄m glad you came up with the idea!

  18. Carole says:

    How brilliant that people loved it enough to pay a decent amount for it. You’ll know that it’s going to be treasured now, as it should be.

  19. Magpie Sue says:

    What good news indeed! Excellent! I’ll have to keep my eyes open for X blocks I could make for the next one…

  20. knitnkwilt says:

    Great news! I especially like that there was active bidding–lots wanting it.

  21. Everyone should be proud!

Leave a Reply

