A quick pick

A quick sewing session was called for…

I had, after all, been occupied with distinctly blokey pastimes for the past week, and a little whine had set up in the back of my head, complaining about all the sewing I ‘needed’ to do. This nice top had been waiting for several months to have some attention paid to it, having been cut out and then neglected.

tiny-picks-topThe fabric is Michael Miller’s Tiny Guitar Picks in navy – you may recall I mentioned using scraps of it to line the scrappy sunglasses case I made a while ago. The white collar is just a generic white on white print. The pattern is New Look 6808, which gives you 6 tops in one pattern. I did fiddle around with it, making it shorter (I’m too short in the body for most commercial patterns), removing the cap sleeves and getting rid of the neck facing. I’m sure I’ve mentioned my hatred of unnecessary facings before… Anyway, if you’re prepared to do a little hand stitching, a facing for the neck is quite unnecessary for this pattern, as the collar is faced and can encase the raw edge of the neckline all by itself. There’s an underarm zip to help you get into the top, as it’s fitted, but putting that in was trouble free. I’ve found the easiest way of getting a perfect finish is to baste the side seam, press it open, pin the zip behind the basting, stitch it in and then remove the basting. No slipping, no gaping.

I still have to bind the armholes and take up the hem.  A couple of hours at most, assuming I can persuade Rosita to take it off – she feels it sets of her red plush self nicely. I think it would look a great deal better on me…

That’s one down on the pile of dressmaking projects, and one more cool, pretty cotton top for the steamy summer weather that’s just around the corner. Result!

36 thoughts on “A quick pick

  1. tialys says:

    If you can get Rosita to part with it at least she’s shown you how well this would go with a red skirt or just some red accessories.
    I’m just going upstairs to put a zip in a skirt – been putting it off all morning – hopefully it will go in as quick and easily as yours!

  2. EllaDee says:

    You’ve made me hopeful looking at your lovely top… we’ve hit cooler weather… that summer is just around the corner.

  3. claire93 says:

    lovely top, lovely fabric and I do like the detail with collar & bow

  4. The top is delightful. I’m surprised you find the time or energy to get it done. I love the sweet collar on it. Rosita is so lucky to get to borrow it for a bit. 🙂

  5. norma says:

    Pretty top – fabric and style are lovely.
    Our summer is at an end now – I hope you have a good one.

  6. I have no idea what you said after ‘blokey pastimes’. But I do rather like the idea of guitar pick fabric! Hubby would wear it. He’s rather metrosexual. And loves music…I’m being deafened by ‘Vienna Calling’ as I write this 🙂

  7. kathyreeves says:

    Love this top; it will be a great addition to your summer wardrobe. The collar really sets it apart!

  8. Really lovely, think it looks great with the red too!

  9. Magpie Sue says:

    Oh, that’s totally cute! Do a little hand sewing and finish it up! Facings was one of those elements of garment making I never did understand the need for (I have a better understanding now after some 40+ years) and that contributed to my distaste for the process. I will cheerfully egg others on to make clothing but I refuse to engage in the process myself. (And now having said that the type of dresses I prefer to wear will become unavailable or too expensive and I’ll have to make them for myself if I want any new ones.)

  10. Perfect! Just in time for the warmer weather. Although I guess it never gets that cold in your part of the world.

  11. Lynda says:

    Kate, I haven’t seen or heard of a fitted side zip anything since I was a child in the 50s/60s. This is so cute and very retro as the kids like to say.
    (Did I just say that? Way to make myself feel O.L.D.) 🙂

  12. I love sewing posts. I love that sweet little collar too. Summer here she comes.

  13. nettyg says:

    I know this is a late comment to your pretty top post, but I bought this pattern yesterday, after seeing your finish a few days ago. I like the pretty collar variations, although I think I’ll be passing on adding lace or frilly sleeves. I’d like to make it a bit looser I think, too fitted shows off my tummy rolls 😦 so like you, I’ll play with the pattern a bit. Thanks for posting the info about the pattern.

    • katechiconi says:

      I made mine a bit looser by not taking in the waist darts at the front, only at the back. I also made it a good bit shorter as I wanted it to hit at hip height, and I made the armholes larger to accommodate my wide shoulders and back. It’s really comfortable, and I’m considering making another with the same body and a different collar.

  14. nettyg says:

    I’ll be making mine shorter too, and that’s good to know about the darts, thanks, I’ll try that.

Leave a Reply

