Bee, Myself and I #5

It’s that time again.

Luckily these hatbox blocks are quite quick to make, nicely self-contained, and I’m in no hurry to finish the quilt. Very slow and steady is just about my pace at the moment; I’m sure the activity outlined in my last post explained why 🙂

Purple’s another colour I don’t keep a lot of, but I couldn’t resist this sweet violets print, so perfect for a hatbox. Note to self: go for one of your more modern prints for the next one, or you’ll be heartily sick of vintage and reproduction prints before the quilt’s done.

Hatbox 7

This is block No. 7. Only 29 more to go….

28 thoughts on “Bee, Myself and I #5

  1. M Dawn Lonnie says:

    I love purple…. especially the grapey shades which are a bit more modern.
    Violets seem appropriate for a hat box though.

  2. I’ve zoomed in on your image to try and work out what you’ve done with the red stitching – is that a handworked blanket stitch?

    • katechiconi says:

      There’s no way I could get it that even if it was done by hand! My machine has a blanket stitch with a nice double heading stitch, and I use that. Sadly, it only goes one way, so I always have to stitch the right hand edge!

  3. that fabric for the box is sweet !! modern or not !

  4. claire93 says:

    it all depends who you’re making this for really. I prefer modern myself, but some do like “vintage”

    • katechiconi says:

      All the fabrics were chosen for their suitability for featuring as a hatbox, which by its very nature tends to be of pre-1960s vintage. I have reproduction Victorian, Regency, 1930s and Art Deco fabric designs, but feel that anything too contemporary wouldn’t be right for the concept. Just for a change, this quilt isn’t ‘for’ anyone except me, as I’ve wanted to make it for at least 5 or 6 years 🙂

  5. tialys says:

    Lovely! The red goes surprising well with the lavender – who knew?

  6. Magpie Sue says:

    We just finished up a Downton Abbey marathon over the holiday weekend here in the States (at least on our local PBS station). I adore all those hats! This is another lovely box for your collection. 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Yes, as a hat fan myself I’m sad at their fall from popularity and the ensuing loss of the hatbox as an indispensable part of the lady’s wardrobe. Mine all live on flat wire racks at the very top of the wardrobe, not very convenient. I’m clearly trying to compensate…

  7. Debbierose says:

    I really like this Kate. Its going to be so lovely

  8. Debbierose says:

    I really like this pattern. Classic vintage is my thing, chintz rocks, well done

  9. I need to get back into a regular routine with this. I am so glad that someone (i.e. you) is staying on track!

  10. rutigt says:

    It´s lovely! Imaging having a beautiful summerhat to put in that box!

Leave a Reply

