The Gardens of Chiconia 43: volunteers

I haven’t been doing any work in the back yard this winter.

The reason isn’t difficult to guess; you can’t garden well (or at all) if your back won’t bend and you’re in constant pain. Since surgery, I’ve gradually improved enough to look at the chaos out there and wish I could do something about it, but had say “no, not quite strong enough for that yet…”. Today, however, was different.

To make things easier, Mr & Mrs Bush Stone-Curlew have moved up the back yard and over into the neighbour’s with Junior. We can still catch sight of them through the wire fence, but it’s given us carte blanche to get the mower out at last (some of the grass was knee high!). I ventured out too, picked up a rake and pair of secateurs and got cracking, while the Husband tootled up and down on his ride-on mower. We have a ‘hedge’ of golden cane palms (Dypsis lutescens), very thick and well established. In normal times, it’s possible to walk under their canopy. Since I’ve been out of action, they’ve taken all kinds of liberties, and were sprouting densely from the base. Hack! Slash!

Perennial capsicumsUnder heaps of this riotous vegetation, I discovered that my Perennial Capsicum (Capsicum annuum) has blithely continue to grow and flourish, despite outrageous neglect. It was covered in brilliantly red little capsicums. I picked the best, and left the rest to do their thing. I have no doubt I’ll be seeing not only heaps more fruit from this bush, but some new bushes, if the amount of fallen fruit around it is anything to go by!

I’ve also taken the seed heads off my 2.5 metre (8ft) lemongrass so it doesn’t seed any more of its giant self. I did give the heads a small shake over an empty garden bed, just in case it felt like volunteering, but the rest have gone on the ‘rotting down’ mulch bed surrounding the palms in the centre of the back lawn. If they choose to seed themselves there, that’ll be fine. I can’t stop the original plant growing in girth, but I can at least keep its spread to sites of my choosing.

The two mature mango trees are covered in blossom. The mandarins are in flower, as are my lime tree and the dwarf avocado. The lychee, which looked as if it was on its last legs three weeks ago, is back in full leaf. The banana tree I’ve grown from a sucker taken from the old Gardens of Chiconia is now over a metre (40 inches) high, with a thick truck and large leaves. It’ll need planting soon :-).

Looks like Nature can get along just fine without my help…

27 thoughts on “The Gardens of Chiconia 43: volunteers

  1. The peppers are gorgeous! Love the brilliant red color.

  2. EllaDee says:

    Lovely of Mother Nature to lend a hand while you were out of action. I’ve noted your Perennial Capsicum and will look for some for the TA garden when we get back, which will need re-starting I imagine.

  3. claire93 says:

    sometimes a bit of neglect does no harm ^^

  4. nanacathy2 says:

    Lovely signs of Spring down under! Just as we are turning towards Autumn. Seasons are wonderful.

    • katechiconi says:

      It’s been a fairly warm winter (days around 21 -27°C), and three days into Spring, we’re already well advanced. But in reality, we don’t have much by way of either Spring or Autumn, more just Wet and Dry.

  5. Hope you felt a bit like Mary Lennox in her secret garden.

    • katechiconi says:

      Not too many spring bulbs poking through, sadly, and no robins perching on spades, but it was delightful finding out just how much had survived a half year of involuntary neglect!

  6. The rake is always the hardest thing on my back. Or sweeping. Anything else I can do easily. I’m glad mother nature is happy to take over for us when we are out of commission. 🙂 Good to see you are getting better.

  7. dayphoto says:

    I would LOVE to see your yard! The riot of blooms and the lovely grasses! Also…I’m glad the family has moved on. It was time.

    Linda

  8. kathyreeves says:

    I want a mango tree!!! 🙂

  9. anne54 says:

    Isn’t it wonderful to get out in the garden again? Mine has been very neglected, and I don’t have a good excuse like you. However I finally managed to prune the rose bush today, job that should have been done at least a month ago. Lucky that roses are as tough as old boots 🙂

Leave a Reply

