A bit of silliness…

I was making pumpkin soup this morning.

Bustin'Into my pot go onion, pumpkin, carrot, orange sweet potato and white potatoes. I buy ‘ugly’ carrots, those with bumpy, irregular shapes instead of the perfect smooth cylinders you see in the super-market. It reduces farm wastage, gives the farmer a second income stream and they taste exactly the same, or maybe better.

Into the bag went my hand, and out came this beauty.ย Well, you can see why I had to laugh. The Husband reckons you should never plant carrots when you need to use the bathroom.

I simply think this is a new variety, called Bustin’

What do you think? ย Got a better name for a carrot which is clearly trying to hold it all in? Or better still, have you got an even funnier vegetable photo?

37 thoughts on “A bit of silliness…

  1. Snicker! I have seen mating carrots, but alas only on the internet and not in my garden.

  2. manicmumdays says:

    She’s a girl! Chastity of course ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. lucyannluna says:

    A double helix carrot, must be DNA, sorry that’s the science teacher in me.

  4. Grannymar says:

    Kate, I do not have a name but am already imagining a ‘Bustin’ quilt filled with fruit and veggie goodness!!

  5. Debbierose says:

    Ha ha we get the ugly ones also, some of these are so funny looking

  6. EllaDee says:

    It’s a crazy world when fruit & vege are classified by ugly or not

    • katechiconi says:

      It is a bit. But I don’t mind taking advantage of other people’s preconception that perfect shape = better carrot! The bumpy, chubby, misshapen ones have real depth of flavour ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. What a perfect start to my day! A bit of silliness is indeed a good thing. I’ve never seen anything like it. Reminds me of a hug or an embrace. ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Haha! What a chuckle you gave me. I like “Chastity” from manicmumdays. But look how much fun this is….who could come up with names for “perfect” carrots? And now I want veggie soup!

  9. Carole says:

    Bustin’ LOL. I never worry about the shape of my veg, just the flavour. I really fancy something with pumpkin now though. Mmmmm, pumpkin pie ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. “How dry I am?” Let’s see if that old ditty is one you know! ๐Ÿ˜†

  11. Figure Eight. It reminded me of an eggplant from our garden that looked exactly like Richard Nixon. We took pictures of it, but I don’t know where they are now. We kept him sitting around for so long, we never ate it.

    • katechiconi says:

      This carrot is destined (doomed?) to be integrated into chicken soup, so the fact that I’ve let it sit around a while won’t matter โ€“ soup is uncritical of slightly wizened veg! I’m having trouble visualising an eggplant that looked like Tricky Dicky, though…

  12. rutigt says:

    A friend of mine had a pair of parsnips hugging each one!

Leave a Reply

