I’m slipping…

I’ve always prided myself on being fairly UFO-less.

ScrapHappy selectionUntil now, that is. I have too many balls in the air, and I’m finding it distracting and not conducive to finishing things. Something about my brain prefers sequential rather than parallel activity! Let’s review:

Positive signScrapHappy quilt: I’m actually making good progress on this one.
Stay+: blocks all made, waiting for me to buy backing and start QAYG.
F2F1 lime/grey/black quilt: blocks all in, waiting for me to buy backing and start QAYG.
Hatbox quilt: 4 or 5 blocks made, loads to go…
Emmely 3Cosmatesque: stalled; I’m feeling resistant to the hand stitching, but it needs to be moved along.
Steampunk: as for Cosmatesque. Too many tiny pieces… I need to get cracking again.

Unlike many people, I don’t have a pile of finished quilt tops in the cupboard waiting to be Hatbox 5quilted. Having got that far, I’ve always taken it all the way to the end, and actually, I love binding quilts, so nothing gets stalled at the final hurdle either. But I really do need to find a way to re-ignite my ‘finishing fire’ and square some of these jobs away.

I’ll be starting with ScrapHappy, it’s quick and easy up to the point where I start quilting, and I believe I’ll keep it quick and easy after that point too!  Lots of straightforward walking foot quilting. Look out for a progress report on 15th of September, ScrapHappy Day.

Stay+ needs me to do a little backing shopping. Good job a local craft shop has everything 50% off just now… After that, it’s a question of more straightforward walking foot quilting.

F2F1 quilt (any suggestion for names for this one, by the way?): Ah, here’s where it gets more complicated. I’m determined I’m going to get comfortable with FMQ on this quilt. So it could take a while…

And that’s enough for a few months. 

38 thoughts on “I’m slipping…

  1. Robin Murphy says:

    Kate, I love the fact you only have that few UFO’s, I unfortunately seem to see pretty things and think Ooh that would be lovely to make and then see something else as well. I have finished off a few things this year so am proud of that. The quilting is where I stall, getting the tops together with their backs is my problem, I can’t seem to get back to the floor to pin them as easily as I used to. I need to be more disciplined about it. I love your Hatbox fabrics, each block is stunning.

    • katechiconi says:

      Oh, I’m with you on that, but now that a lot of my projects are individual block-based, I’m discovering the advantages of QAYG – zero floor work! And because of my back, I’ve stopped doing anything much on the floor – I baste quilts on a table, so much kinder to the body!
      Generally, I don’t make a quilt ‘just because’ very much, they’re for a cause or a person, as I try and sew as much individual meaning into a quilt as I can. This gives me the incentive to actually finish :-). The Hatbox quilt is one exception. I’ve been in love with the design for years, and Carla’s Bee, Myself & I bee gave me the perfect excuse to actually start!

  2. judybushey43 says:

    I get completely overwhelmed if I have too many projects on the go at once. Good for you, prioritizing your projects! I’ve got to do that once I get my stuff out of storage after my move.

    • katechiconi says:

      Essentially, I’m getting the simpler stuff out of the way to clear the decks a bit. I’ll feel a lot better with the first two done and dusted and off to their new owners!

      • That’s always the best plan. You’ve had a lot going on lately so no wonder you are feeling a bit overwhelmed. You’ll get there quicker than most. Cut yourself some slack and enjoy. Everything you do is beautiful. 🙂

      • katechiconi says:

        Thank you, Marlene, I always appreciate your kind comments! It’s Sunday today, so no shopping for backing, but tomorrow I’ll whizz out and get what I need, and then I’ll be ready to hit the ground running 🙂

  3. I feel your UFO pain. I have many projects going. I wonder if it has to do with the time of year. Summer time and that extra daylight is rather distracting, am I right? Clink the glasses together and toast “here is to working and making progress on any project, Cheers!”

    • katechiconi says:

      Sadly, I can’t use that as an excuse! Down here in the Southern Hemisphere, it’s winter, and while I’m in the tropics and it doesn’t get as cold and dark as it does in temperate zones, the days are still shorter… No, I’m going to blame a protracted period of ill health and participation in too many projects for my current mini-muddle. I’m going to get it sorted, starting tomorrow.

  4. Sandy says:

    Your Scraphappy quilt is very pretty and appears to be all out of the same family of colours. Looks great, I am looking forward to seeing the finished quilt. Whenever I think about a scrap quilt it becomes obvious that my scraps don’t match (too many different tones, dusky, bright, pastel……) and the quilt is going to be ugly!

    I am also busy on my UFO’s in order to get some quick finishes for a local craft show that a friend coordinates. Participation appears to be down so she needs some spaces filled. Unfortunately I am doomed to a couple of afternoons crawling around on the floor this week. Hopefully my back won’t protest too much!

  5. Well, you do like to be busy, but it can indeed get overwhelming. When I’m at that stage, I have to stop and stand back and reassess priorities.Otherwise it all becomes burdensome instead of enjoyable 🙂

    • katechiconi says:

      Exactly! I’m at the point where it’s starting to be annoying, so I thought I’d stop and evaluate. The solution’s quite simple, but I just needed to stop and look again.

  6. Jule says:

    Your pile of UFOs seems moderate compared to mine 😉

  7. nanacathy2 says:

    So what will you do after lunch? It’s hard when you have so many projects on the go, especially if your brain is busy coming up with new more exciting ideas too. Good luck they are all going to be amazing.

    • katechiconi says:

      I have to hold back on the new ideas… I have two nieces who are agitating for quilts because their sisters have one, I have a few things I want to try for myself, I have a medallion quilt lurking in the back of my brain waiting to get out, I have another EPP queensize quilt I want to make for our bed for winter with wool batting… well, you get the idea! But first, Scraphappy and Stay+.

  8. claire93 says:

    a good idea to focus on just a couple of projects first

  9. Consider renaming them. They aren’t actually UFOs to me, as I consider those to be projects that are all but abandoned. To me, they are “projects in process!” You ARE still actively working on each of them, just some more actively than others, yes? 🙂 Also I find when I do have a number of projects in process, which doesn’t happen often, I also tend to finish a bunch of them within a short amount of time. Sort of clearing the decks all at once. Likely you will do the same.

    • katechiconi says:

      By your definition, I have only one true UFO, which I can’t throw away, but which needs dismantling, fixing and complicated reassembly. It’s not even on this list. To me, a UFO is a quilt that has been started and then stalled because too many other things are tugging at my attention. So then, how about Stalled Projects, instead of UFOs? I’ve already got cracking on the ScrapHappy job, I’ll buy backing tomorrow, and should be able to start quilting by the end of the week 🙂

  10. Every so often I have to just finish all the UFO’s then I can start on other things. Like cleaning the brain and a having a clean slate.

  11. Magpie Sue says:

    “my brain prefers sequential rather than parallel activity” Very well put. My brain -when it’s working at all – prefers that approach as well. Thank you for labeling it for me!

  12. kathyreeves says:

    Kate, your finish record is excellent, so I know you’ll get there! My possible hint on the FMQ, is to have another simpler project ready to work on. FMQ does not come easily for me, and sometimes I need a short rest break of straight sewing to help me regroup. Then I’m ready for another chunk.

  13. I wish I my brain preferred sequential rather than parallel activity. I always have four or five books going at once (plus an audiobook in the car), always have at least a dozen tabs open on the screen, and always flit around a number of projects at once. Which probably explains why I stopped what I was doing to read your newest post. It also explains how you get so much done whilst I dither….

  14. rutigt says:

    I have started on so many projects without finishing them. I now have a book where I write down every project and when they are finally finished I cross out the project and write down the date when it is finished. When I see how many UFO:s I have I try to finish the old one first, before starting a new. So nowadays I don´t start sewing so many new quilts cause I know how many unfinished I have 🙂 At least I try to hold that promise, but it is hard, LOL!

    • katechiconi says:

      I have a list for what I need to do each month, and like you, I cross things off once I finish them. Trouble is, I keep adding things at the bottom of the list! I’ve decided not to start anything new till I’ve crossed off at least two quilts off!

  15. How about lime and soda as a name. Soda ash can be grey, right? Well, black soda ash can …
    I wish my UFO and to-do list were this short.

Leave a Reply

