No more excuses!

My best excuse for not completing my FootSquareFreestyle (F2F) 2015 quilt has just evaporated.

There was one outstanding set of three blocks, due from Emmely in the Netherlands. Now, Emmely got married recently, so has had a great deal on her plate. Then she went on honeymoon. And once she got back, she’d been feeling unwell for quite a while, so I was happy to wait patiently, and I think you’ll agree it’s worth it! For any new followers who haven’t seen the other blocks in the 2015 collection, hop over to the gallery page and take a look. Scroll down… and down…. and down…. My blocks are last of all 🙂

Emmely 1 Emmely 2 Emmely 3Of course, you know what this means…

Yup, it’s now officially a UFO, a quilt which will have to wait patiently for me to find the time to sandwich, quilt and then join everything together.

On the upside, because this quilt is staying at home with me instead of being given away, I’ll be able to improve my FMQ skills on it without fear of  giving away a quilt with slightly-less-than-perfect stitching.

You know me: Finished is Better than Perfect.

So I won’t be rushing, or guilting myself, or inflicting any (more) stupid deadlines on myself. It’ll just be slow, steady and as time allows.

And by the end of 36 blocks, I’m willing to bet I’m not so scared of FMQ any more…

19 thoughts on “No more excuses!

  1. knitnkwilt says:

    That’s what they say, the only way to learn FMQ is to do it! I agree about no deadlines. I’m also going to try not giving myself any anymore.

  2. very different from the colours you use in your own quilts, but very pretty none the less, I look forward to see the end product !

  3. tialys says:

    I enjoyed quilting my blocks because, as you say, when it’s for yourself you can play around with things a bit more and not get too stressed about perfection. Plus, with QAYG of course, it’s much easier to try out different things on different blocks. With my first one I didn’t do FMQ all over but I did choose the blocks I thought would be suited to it and gave it a go. With my next one – all cut into squares ready to be sandwiched – I have a spare machine set up with the free motion foot already in place so, once I’m back from my hols, I must get on with it.
    Your colours are really dramatic and I can’t wait to see what the resulting quilt will look like – no pressure 😉

    • katechiconi says:

      I think some of the blocks will required an all-over pattern and some a design that will emphasise parts of the block. If I had a spare sewing machine, I’d do what you’ve done… I think it’s going to be a smashing quilt – or possible two matching ones for Husband and self to snuggle under.

  4. knettycraft says:

    Emily made again lovely individual blocks… and you remind me of my UFO!!!

  5. nanacathy2 says:

    These are very dramatic. I especially like the last one.

  6. Bun Karyudo says:

    I also like the color combination. Green has always been my favorite color, though, so I guess I’m a little biased.

  7. claire93 says:

    no excuses indeed ^^

  8. rutigt says:

    I think you´ll do just fine quilting your blocks. I saw what you did to the Ovarian quilt and there was nothing wrong with that one 🙂 All the blocks you have got are wonderful. It will be a great quilt once it is finished!!

  9. Lynda says:

    I don’t usually go in for grey but that pop of lime is divine! Can’t wait to see the finish, Kate.

Leave a Reply

